The past three months…

Hello everyone! So I said that I would eventually get around to filling you all in on the craziness that has been my life for the last few months, and as we all know, if there’s one thing I’m good at, it’s fulfilling vague committments to people over the internet….right? RIGHT?? 
Okay, so I have a tendency to disappear into the mist (both figuratively and literally, damn poor eyesight). Basically, stuff happened. We cool? Okay, thanks, bye.

Oh, you want more detail? Well, first things first: I got a job. Remember way back when I was unemployed and perfecting my impression of a duck using a mixture pringles and low self-esteem? Well, I finally got myself out of that rut.

   
                                                   
My reaction was quite bittersweet. Yes, I finally had secured employment after almost six months of what I can only describe as the worst period of my life thus far. I had been filled with self-loathing and despair and I genuinely feared that I would never teach again. To return to a school that I had already taught in (and adored) was the proverbial cherry on top…or, you know, in my case literal, as I celebrated with much cake. Much cake. 

So that was the sweet, why the bitter? Well, I’ve had to move almost four hours away from my fiancรฉ and my pets, a.k.a. my reasons for living.
 
                                                                    

The job is only temporary, but it has been really difficult for us both. I try to focus on the positives though; I absolutely love the school I am in and I get to do what I love every single day…(in this instance, I mean teach, although I may also mean robot dancing…)I also get to see much more of my friends and family (the job is back home where I grew up) which is always a bonus.

The last few months have been difficult in many ways, however. My general health hasn’t been great, though I attribute that mainly to stress. I also found out in December that a past pupil of mine, whom I was very fond of, passed away in a tragic car accident. I suppose sometimes, all these challenges and unfortunate incidents come at once and they really are a test of character for us, aren’t they? I have been feeling much better lately though. Teaching really does help me, it’s what I feel I am meant to be doing and that gives me great comfort. My relationship with Jack has also strengthened because of our time apart, because let’s face it, I am a gigantic pain in the ass who enjoys yodelling and eating tuna melts. SOMETIMES AT THE SAME TIME.
Anyway, me me me right?! Bleurgh! Tell me about YOU! How have you been? Where have you been? What have you been up to? Come say hello!

Oh quick p.s. also…can anyone tell me where Rob from the v-Pub went? I’ve noticed his site is gone?? Thanks:)
 

                                                                           
 

 

40 thoughts on “The past three months…

  1. dweezer19 says:

    Congrats on the new(old) job and being in familiar places. Sorry about your having to be away from your sweetie and furry friends. Life is the queen of bitches when it comes to challeneging our tenacity. Seriously though I know you are a strong, resilient woman and I hope very soon things are evened out again. Meanwhile, reunuons are are so awesome. Happy weekend and so happy to see you again!

    • janeybgood says:

      Thank you for your kind words of encouragement! It will get easier for us I’m sure and I have to appreciate that I get to do something that I truly love. You are always a ray of positivity!

  2. Trent Lewin says:

    Janey! You’re back! Glad to see it. And glad to see you’ve got a gig again, at the same school no less. I’m pretty sure this calls for an internet cake party – I know this doesn’t exist, but I think your robot dancing can create the vibe. Get on it!

  3. Amanda Lyle says:

    Welcome back, my friend! It’s so great see you back.

    ps; I’m not sure where our friend from the V-pub is? I was discussing mojito’s with him a few days ago and now “poof”. I’ve sent him a message to see where he’s at. I’ll let you know.

    Again, great to see you back! *big hugs*

  4. Gary Lum says:

    I’m really sorry to hear about the death of a former student. That is awful.
    Well done on getting the position and being able to see family and friends more. I hope your health picks up and you can have more regular time with your fiancรฉ and animals friends too.

    • janeybgood says:

      Thanks Gary. It was just so sad to hear of her passing. She was a lovely girl and a very memorable student.
      It’s only three weeks till I am holidays again because Easter is early this year๐Ÿ˜€ Thanks for your kind comments

  5. Spence's Girl says:

    I’m so glad you’re back and have been doing what you love. So sorry about your student, that had to be heartbreaking. I know that Jack must miss you as well as your pets. Hang in there and don’t forget to breathe!

  6. Chelly says:

    congratulations on getting your job back, and also well done for getting through those months of unemployment hell โ™ฅ you might have struggled but you made it! xx Sorry to hear about your past pupil, she sounded like a lovely person. . these things always seem to happen at the worst time, but then I suppose there’s never a good time.. at least you have lots of people in your hometown to support you, family always hold things together don’t they? ^_^ and easter is longer than other years too i think so you’ll have a fab time soon๐Ÿ˜€ so glad to have you back, I missed your posts๐Ÿ™‚

    • janeybgood says:

      Aw thank you! You’re always so kind๐Ÿ™‚ things are looking up for us at the moment but yeah, it has been difficult. There’s always difficult patches in life to contend with and I suppose you just have to muddle through as best you can.
      How are you doing? Are you busy at the moment? I always think this is a crazy time of year for everyone!
      Thanks as always for your comment โค๏ธ

      • Chelly says:

        It’s great when things start working out for you, I think it kinda makes the struggle worth it๐Ÿ™‚ I’m good thanks ๐Ÿ˜Š struggling through college and I’ll more than likely fail everything at this stage because I have a new migraine symptom where I just cannot read. Kind of a problem when doing research for assignments ๐Ÿ˜‚ If I fail this year, I more than likely won’t come back, but I’ll still apply for a leave of absence to keep my options open. But I’ve decided not to dwell on it too much and just enjoy myself for the rest of the semester and make a proper effort to make some good friends๐Ÿ˜€ It’s so long since I had to make new friends, I don’t really know how to be a friend, or keep friendships going! ๐Ÿ˜Š I’m in a happy place though, my migraines are so much better pain wise and I’m healthier in general, and that’s really all that matters to me anymore. I also have the best friend in the world back home and I now know what it’s like to have a real friend. ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š So ya I’m pretty good๐Ÿ˜€

  7. Julie the Workaholic says:

    Hi, Janey!

    I’ve been a contender in the rat-race that is my job, and so I have been fairly AWOL…

    ‘Gratz on job, and sympathy on the loss of of your past pupil.

    I’m going to catch up on the rest…

    • janeybgood says:

      JULLLLLIIIIIEEEE!
      Sorry for the lateness of my reply. Things have been a bit crazy. We are like ships passing in the night eh?
      How the hell have you been? Must catch up with your blog! Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

