The Perfect Response to Hatred

The following has been written by Antoine Leiris, a man whose wife died during the Paris attacks. I have taken the text from here. It is an incredibly moving and brave piece, and well worth a read.

On Friday night you stole away the life of an exceptional being, the love of my life, the mother of my son, but you will not have my hatred. I do not know who you are and I don’t want to know, you are dead souls.

If the God for whom you kill so blindly made us in His image, each bullet in my wife’s body would have been a wound in His heart.

We are only two, my son and I, but we are more powerful than all the world’s armies… every day of his life this little boy will insult you with his happiness and freedom.

Therefore I will not give you the gift of hating you. You have obviously sought it but responding to hatred with anger would be to give in to the same ignorance that that has made you what you are. You want me to be afraid, to cast a mistrustful eye on my fellow citizens, to sacrifice my freedom for security. Lost. Same player, same game.

I saw her this morning. Finally, after nights and days of waiting. She was just as beautiful as she was when she left on Friday evening, as beautiful as when I fell madly in love with her more than 12 years ago.

Of course I’m devasted with grief, I will give you that tiny victory, but this will be a short-term grief. I know that she will join us every day and that we will find each other again in a paradise of free souls which you will never have access to.

We are only two, my son and I, but we are more powerful than all the world’s armies. In any case, I have no more time to waste on you, I need to get back to Melvil who is waking up from his afternoon nap. He’s just 17 months old; he’ll eat his snack like every day, and then we’re going to play like we do every day; and every day of his life this little boy will insult you with his happiness and freedom. Because you don’t have his hatred either.

– ANTOINE LEIRIS

26 thoughts on “The Perfect Response to Hatred

  1. Ashley says:

    What wonderful words. Very well spoken, and very true. Sometimes it’s hard to take the high road, but consuming yourself with hatred, what good does that do for you?

    • janeybgood says:

      Exactly. I have seen people become consumed by hatred and bitterness and it just ruins you. He has a long road ahead of him, but killing hatred with positivity and love seems like the best way to heal.
      Thanks for your comment🙂

  2. rosie says:

    Oh my goodness! Thank you so much! This touched me to my heart and then to my bones. What an amazing response. It was exactly what needs to be said.

  3. Spence's Girl says:

    Reblogged this on spencesgirl and commented:
    This was posted by one of my favorite bloggers, cupidorcats.wordpress.com and it may be one of the most achingly beautiful letters I’ve read. I feel compelled to share it with all of you.

Leave a Reply

