Awards post where I break the rules #23

Hello there my lovely virtual friends! Two of my wonderful WordPress amigos nominated me for awards. Erika Kind nominated me for the Sunshine Award. Here is her original post, which will show you what an inspiring and amazing person she is. I really can’t say enough Kind (see what I did there, eh? EH?) things about her.

sunshine

I was also nominated for the Infinity Dreams Award by Spence’s Girl. Her post is here and I got insanely excited reading it because we have so much in common. So if you even kind of like me (and you do, right? *nervous laugh*) then you will love her!

infinity

Thank you both so much ladies, not just for the awards but for being really amazing women!

Anyway, as much as I love awards, the posts always take forever to write, and then I inevitably forget to nominate someone and my pizza goes cold. And that is just THE WORST. So instead of following the rules….I’m gonna rebel…again.

I have wanted to use that video for so long…..

Both Erika and Spence’s Girl left great questions to answer as part of their posts, so I will answer those and that’s doing half of it right at least….*clutches at straws*

So without further ado, here are the questions from Erika’s post:

1)    Which decade do you miss the most?

Like most ’80’s babies, I can’t say enough amazing things about the ’90s. Life was much simpler back then, before smartphones and social media. And let’s not even talk about the cartoons, the Nickelodeon shows, the amazing fashion, girl power and hair mascara. HAIR MASCARA. I’ll stop now, because I might genuinely cry. *Sobs through Kenan and Kel theme tune*

2)    To which poet do you feel most connected to?

This is a difficult question for me to answer since I taught students about poetry for so long, and I really connected with so many poets. I have loved Shakespeare’s sonnets, T.S. Eliot, W.B. Yeats, Elizabeth Bishop, Adrienne Rich, Emily Dickinson, Robert Frost, Patrick Kavanagh and Seamus Heaney…I could go on all day. If I absolutely had to pick, I would choose Sylvia Plath. Her poetry is so raw, honest, intense and personal that it just evokes something so strong in me every time I read it. One of my favourite poems of hers is the poem Elm, which is actually so intense and emotional that it is difficult to read.

3)    Your spirit cartoon character/TV show artist?

gar

Garfield. He hates Mondays and he loves lasagne. If he wasn’t a cat….I’d marry him.

4)    Your favourite indulgence when in stress?

Chocolate, specifically Kinder Buenos or Galaxies. Or a fancy coffee…or both.

5)    How has your blog helped you the most?

I don’t even know where to start. I was going through a pretty difficult part of my life and I felt kind of….lost. I started my blog to serve as a place that I could come and just be silly and forget about the stresses of the real world. I never, ever thought that anyone would actually read anything I wrote, not to mind actually be so kind to me. I have met so many people here who have helped me, sometimes without even realising it. So to answer this question, my blog has helped me by connecting me with such a wonderful, supportive community. I never feel lonely.

And now…….*drumroll*…….Spence’s Girl’s questions:

1.What is your favorite comfort food?

I make a lovely shepherd’s pie. It is so lovely on a cold evening.

2.Do you have siblings?

Yep! I have an older sister and an older brother. They are amazing.

3.Live to eat or eat to live?

Live to eat, totally…I adore food. I once fell asleep on a pizza. I may have been slightly intoxicated.

food

4. Swim in a lake, ocean or a pool?

I’m actually not a great swimmer. I really need my feet to be able to touch the bottom. I’d feel safest in a pool…in an inflatable ring.

5. Coffee or tea?

I actually adore both. Coffee in the morning, tea in the evening.

6. What is your favorite time of day to blog?

Usually the evening, when I’m not distracted….by…all the….shiny…..things…..

7. Name something from your “bucket list”

This is going to sound crazy…but I would really (times a million) LOVE to find a meteorite. I love astronomy and space, so finding something that is billions of years old and has fallen from space would be so amazing. I’m actually buying one next week. But finding my own one will always be the dream.

meteorite

8.What scares you?

I struggle to even type this without shuddering….*whispers* spiders. I really am terrified of them. I’m also terrified of tidal waves (random, I know). That scene in Interstellar caused me to actually struggle to breathe.

Just a whole bag of nope

Just a whole bag of nope

9.Cats or dogs?

Both! I have two dogs, Molly and Oscar and a cat called Kit. I also have guinea pigs…so a zoo, basically, I have a zoo.

10. Best childhood memory?

I have a few. They are really simple, but I think its their simplicity that has made them so appealing. I loved playing outdoors in the summer nights with my friends. We lived in a beautiful yet tiny village in the south of Ireland. I also loved visiting my grandparents, which I wrote about here.

11. What or who makes you laugh?

Everything. Literally….everything. I am one of those people who laughs all the time. I just can’t help it. I actually spent a long time today conversing with an African Grey Parrot called George, who was HILARIOUS. He wolf-whistled at me, which meant I was totally working my sensible fleece jumper.

So there you go guys. I’m sure you learned absolutely nothing but…we all survived, which is the main thing.

26 thoughts on “Awards post where I break the rules #23

  1. Spence's Girl says:

    As always, I love everything you write and learned some new things about you as well with your acceptance post. I do think we are soul sisters or twins born years (a few) apart. You deserve this award 100% and I’m always inspired by you! So thank you!!!!

    • janeybgood says:

      So so sorry for the lateness of my reply- our 2 laptops broke and my crappy phone has no WordPress app 😦
      Thank you for such a lovely comment! We are definitely very similar 😀

  2. Erika Kind says:

    Hey, Janey, congratulations to two awards!!! Thanks for taking the time and doing the award post! That is amazing. Know that I really appreciate it! Great answers and…. hahaha….yes, I love Garfield too…. haha!!! I feel the same about this blog. So much loving attantion! You laugh easily? So do I!!! Would be fun to meet… haha!!!

  3. cheergerm says:

    You are such a rebel…Anyone who falls asleep in a pizza is my kind of person. And tidal waves scare the tuna salad out of me!!! Seriously, I have nightmares about them.

    • janeybgood says:

      So glad I’m not the only one! They are just so frightening. I had a nightmare about one recently and woke up crying, which is just a useless reaction. I should have woken up running haha.

  4. The V-Pub says:

    I must say that I’ve never tried to sleep on a pizza. Is that cheese only? Sounds like it would mitigate any late night hunger cravings. Finding a meteorite would be the coolest! Like finding a dinosaur fossil. Or maybe a dinosaur fossil ON a meteorite. THAT would be the coolest. Loved your responses, Janey! One thing that I miss about the 80’s and early 90’s is Bill the Cat from Bloom County. Loved that strip!

    • janeybgood says:

      I think it was a margherita pizza 😂 finding a dinosaur fossil will always be the dream but for now ill have to just settle for a plain ol meteorite.
      Ha, that strip is hilarious! I love cats and love comics so that just makes me happy 🙂 sorry for my late reply, I couldn’t get to my WordPress account! Hope all is good 😀

  5. Chelly says:

    My favourite childhood memories are from when we used to go exploring fields around and near our house, & round the house of our babysitter. If we did that now, it would be trespassing! but we seemed to get away with a lot when we were young 😀 we also used to chase sheep (I know, the poor sheep, I feel bad for them now), which was probably pretty dangerous but we never got hurt or anything 😀 and we used to climb trees all the time! Now if I saw a child climbing a tree I’d probably have heart failure ! And we used to be gone from the house for hours on end and nobody would be worried about us! there’s no way kids could do that now 🙂 I’ve so many memories of fun things we did that could have ended really badly and we are so lucky no one got hurt! Such as putting someone in a barrel and letting it roll off down a very steep hill! Or cycling down that massive hill with no brakes…imagine if there had been a car coming! But it was so much fun at the time 😀

    • janeybgood says:

      This is so funny because I can relate to literally everything you wrote haha! We had fields behind and surrounding our housing estate (when I say estate I mean 16 houses in the countryside lol) and we spent most of our time running around in them. The farmers said nothing. I’m not sure it would be tolerated nowadays.
      We used to play in someone’s trailer as well, just jumping up and down in it, which is quite dangerous. We also had a barrel that we rolled down a hill in. It was one of those blue industrial barrels with God-knows-what inside it haha! A friend and I actually had the best laugh the other day because we remembered that we played in the playground (literally a public field) that was attached to our estate and in the middle of it was a septic tank. it was just concrete slabs but one of them was wobbly and we used to rock back and forth on it….a septic tank hahaha! That’s both dangerous and disgusting!
      It was just a different time, wasn’t it?No worries about lawsuits or insurance. A more dangerous, but definitely fun time!

  6. Chelly says:

    Oh a septic tank, that IS disgusting 😀 😀 it’s crazy the things we got away with! We used to also build huts and stuff with rotten timber and rusty nails! Like the amount of ways that could have gone wrong! 😀 And our dog came everywhere with us too, even in the fields!
    Haha we used to play in these massive trailers, you know for trucks, that were parked down the bog road near our granny’s, and we weren’t even that young then cos I was at least 10 or 11! And you’d think it’d be enough to have a look inside but no we had to climb on top of it and jump up and down too! Jeez we were so dangerous 😀

    • janeybgood says:

      It’s just so funny because you just never see that these days! I’m not sure whether that’s a good thing or not 😀 I do remember there were a lot of injuries among my friends; we used to play a little rough! And we were about 10 or 11 as well haha! We used to climb a lot of things. Our poor mothers were stuck with all the washing, our clothes used to be destroyed!

Leave a Reply

