Working Nine to Never

‘ello everyone! (I do a great Cockney accent, right?)

I wish I could say that it’s been forever because I’ve been super busy but that would be a lie. And I don’t like lies. Or raisins. But mostly lies.

Some of you may know that I’m a teacher. The problem is, in Ireland, there is a huge over-supply of teachers, particularly for the subjects I teach. So despite applying for virtually every job I could, attending interviews for miles around and dazzling everyone with my impressive blazer collection, I failed to secure a job. I know right? This bastion of maturity and dependability failed to prove as much at interview…okay, you can stop laughing now. At least I didn’t do this: I don’t wear velour to all my interviews.

So now I’m unemployed…and I have to say:
aeriel
Source

Don’t worry, I’m not going to write a self-pitying post about how bored and disillusioned I am with life. Nope. Not me. I am totally and most definitely not crying into a bott- er, glass of wine right now which I could totally be drinking because I have no job to get up for. See, I told you guys..
giphy
Source

Right now, I’m weighing up my options. I could have pizza, but…OH RIGHT, I was talking about my current (un)employment status. I do have a few options, but I’m kinda in a bit of an inbetween place. You may assume that with all the free time I have, that I would be spending it in the most productive way possible. And you’d be right, I am. Here’s what I did this week:

-I beat my high score in Candy Crush Saga. #winning
-I trimmed my guinea pigs’ nails.
-I invented a drink called wineka. It’s one part wine, one part vodka, and three parts bad decisions.
-I learned to tell the difference between navy and very very very very dark blue.

So, you know, I….OKAY. OKAY, I have been so unproductive that my picture is probably hanging in a North Korean factory to warn workers about what happens when you slack off. I imagine it looks something like this:

You know...if I were a cat.

You know…if I were a cat.

Source

I have learned that I become seriously unmotivated when I’m not working. It’s probably just a confidence thing. This may sound a little arrogant, but I had fully expected that I would have a permanent job by now. I have worked non-stop as a teacher since I qualified and I have built up great experience. I went to university for five years to get as many relevant qualifications as I could. I began my career five years ago and still…nothing. Yes, I remember that I said I wouldn’t start to feel sorry for myself, so I’ll just say this: when you know you’re good enough but no one will give you the opportunity to show it, it sucks. It really, REALLY does. Gah, I’ll shut up now.

I guess what I need to do is just (as us Irish would say) cop onto myself, which basically means buck up, get back on the horse, stop whinging. I know that nothing good can come from wallowing in self pity, except for me getting to type the word ‘wallowing’, which is always fun. I am still applying for work and considering going back to do some further study to sex up my CV a little. If none of that pans out, then there’s always the circus. *awkward, nervous laugh*

Anyway, it’s been a while guys! Come and tell me how all of you are doing, and if any of you need a court jester or professional cat dance trainer, call me. *Kidding….kinda*

52 thoughts on “Working Nine to Never

  1. insight07 says:

    As your notification has already told you, I am a new follower. But anyway, I’ll acquaint you with me. I am Devika. A 17 year old girl. I know, I know. I lead a typical teenage life. College and all. A few troubles on the side. Let me begin.
    1) my sister passed away a few months ago. I am still recovering from that.
    2) college is giving me mixed feelings and I don’t know whom to turn to for advice.
    3) I love to drown in self pity
    4) my dad is suffering from depression and he says we may soon face serious financial problems

    Other shit is just yik yak.
    You say you have nothing to do. The situation is the same with me. I spend my entire day on Facebook. Not productive, at all. I would play candy crush. But I suck at that game.

    Anyway, so all that I wanted to say is.. Lets form a pity party. It’ll be cool.

    • janeybgood says:

      Hi Devika! Woah, I’m sorry for all the miserable things that have happened to you lately. You seem incredibly mature for a 17 year old, no offence intended. I was incredibly foolish at that age and made a lot of mistakes. My life was a mess. Even though I complained a little in this post, things aren’t so bad now.
      Ah, Facebook. It usually makes me feel worse. I like the sound of pity party, particularly if there is nachos. Also, your blog looks great!

      • insight07 says:

        Trust me, I may seem mature, but I’m not. Nachoes, and cakes too. Pineapple and chocolate flavoured. πŸ˜›
        My life sounds much worse in that comment than it actually is.
        I am sure you’ll find something productive to do with your time! Hopefully get the job of your dreams. πŸ™‚

      • janeybgood says:

        Thank you! I’ll have to at least try, although some chocolate and pineapple cake along the way won’t hurt πŸ™‚ I hope things work out for you too πŸ™‚

  2. Trent Lewin says:

    You know dude, I would totally hire you to teach my kids… I hope you get something soon Janey! But in the meantime, I do need a professional sous-chef, if you’re interested. Canadian cuisine only (whatever that is). So yeah, buck up and don’t feel sorry for yourself! You’re quality, and quality things happen to quality people.

  3. Gary Lum says:

    Really sorry to read of your current work status. I’d love to say come to Australia and have a go but I’m not sure it’s any better here. Jobs are tight. I hope you find something soon. Hang in there. It is good to see you blogging again πŸ˜€

    • janeybgood says:

      Hi Gary! Thank you! So kind, as always πŸ™‚ I’m sure the Australians are tired of all us Irish by this stage lol. I was thinking of a move to the UK, but we’ll see.
      Thanks for stopping by πŸ˜€

  4. Erika Kind says:

    Janey, I wish every unemployed would still have your humor. I am sorry, but I was laughing from the blazer collection on constantly… You should become a comedian. We need more laughters in this world anyway! Or right about daily things in your special style for newspapers. You know what? I am searching for a new publisher for my next book and … niente by now. Not reall comparable. But a little nerve wrecking as well. Ok, I am not playing candy crush and I differ between color and white (for my laundry) but just to show you, it is not running circle here either πŸ˜€

    • janeybgood says:

      Hi Erika! Great to hear from you! I figure if I don’t laugh about it, then I would just be sad and angry, and that’s definitely not a good idea.
      I have tried to write, as I find it so therapeutic but I have terrible concentration! I don’t know how you do it, but I’m certainly impressed. Humour writing is definitely something I would like to do.
      Ooh, I’m looking forward to seeing what’s next for you πŸ™‚ You’re always full of positive vibes, send some my way lol!

      • Erika Kind says:

        I always say, when you feel the least like it, then laugh the most. As you said in our post it is not making anything better. But with a good laughter we are able to distance from the situation, find liberation and probably solutions or at least options. Writing truly is therapeutic… as you are a proof. You would make a good writer. If it was your job, I am sure you had the concentration and would care fore the necessary environment. Some good vibs? Here Got them? Some smileys just for sure 😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊

      • janeybgood says:

        I was very good at my job, which is the frustrating thing. I chose to leave it because I just wasn’t in the right environment, but I do miss it.
        I’ve learned to laugh at myself and especially during the difficult times. We seem very alike Erika! I love coming on here and chatting with you all, you all have such a knack for cheering me up and making me smile…not that I ever expect you too haha! Thanks for the smileys πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  5. cheergerm says:

    I think a wee bit of wallowing (now I got to type that word as well) is cathartic. (Note unintentional cat pun.) As Monty Python sang ‘always look on the bright side of….’ Well, let’s forget that song for now, may I suggest taking the advice of that adorable Annie who sang ‘the sun comes out tomorrow’.'(Errr, sorry, you live in Ireland, can’t promise you that either.) Maybe Babs Streisand’s ‘Send in the clowns’? Oops, I guess that wasn’t a great suggestion. Well now, I am sure you feel much better after my helpful words. Don’t you? (Life is a freakin rollercoaster, full of ups and downs, keep hanging on tight and it will work out. Hopefully. One way or t’other. There, I did it.) 😁

    • janeybgood says:

      HA! Your musical themed comment made me laugh out loud…as well as hum a little. I once got my brother a mug that sang that Monty Python song, except it malfunctioned and wouldn’t stop playing it…he hated me for a while.
      I am pretty confident things will work out. I mean, I have my….something to fall back on…whatever my something is. I just have to figure that out. Your quirky brand of commentary always cheers me up…I guess the hint is in your name. THANK YOU!!

  6. dweezer19 says:

    Oh Janey I am really sorry to hear about your job struggle but only because I hate to see you in discomfort. Now that I am in the ranks of the old and experienced (grrrr….) I can use phrases like, “I have been in your shoes” or “There is something better around the corner”. But since my heart and mine remain forever young, I won’t do that. What I do know, my friend, is that everything that happens has a purpose. This time for you can be seen as a gift-like a frozen moment in time. You can now decide exactly what you want or don’t for your life at this point. Did you love every single thing about your job as a teacher? Is there anything you ever dreamed of doing? (Writing content for Saturday Night Live, Stand up Comedy, Wine taster at a vineyard!) i do understand how frightening it is as I have been where you are in the very recent past. Through my time away from work, forced retirement when my husband decided to move out of country then being tossed back in(again agaisnt my will) and having to return to the same field only now on the brink of being a dinosaur, I have grown and changed in so many ways. I still am not doing what my heart desires most but I no longer am ruled by the job I know how to do best. I wish you so well in finding that next place where you will shine. Go get em tiger!

    • janeybgood says:

      I read your reply last night, but I was on my new awful phone and couldn’t reply properly, so I wanted to sit down and thank you properly for such a kind and helpful comment.
      I feel like you have so much more courage than I could ever have. You have been through a lot, and still face these challenges with a positive attitude, even if some of the decisions were out of your hands. I have a tendency to procrastinate or to shy away from the big decisions in life. It really isn’t doing me any good.
      While I do love teaching, I think I’d prefer a more mature environment. I’m looking to get into adult education because, as much as I enjoyed the teenagers, I grew a little weary by the end. It was tough. I really like what you said- ‘..I no longer am ruled by the job I know how to do best.’ This really makes so much sense to me. Teaching is all I’ve ever known career-wise, but maybe it is time to branch out a little. I should at least look at the upside of not being bound by a contract.
      I know it might seem easy of me to say, but your comment really, really helped. Thank you, very sincerely, thank you!

      • dweezer19 says:

        Adult education will be a whole lot different I’m sure. And not being under contract will hopefully allow you more of a sense of freedom for following any new opportunity that might present itself. I doubt I could work with teens very long. I mean I love them but not so wild about ALL of them. πŸ˜‰ I hope you will let us know where you land. Hugs!

    • janeybgood says:

      EEEEEK! I have no way to blog now, other than bribing that fiancΓ© of mine to step away from his laptop for five minutes so that I can write a half-assed post haha. WE’RE BOTH BACK-YAY!!

  7. tomorrowdefinitely says:

    maybe see this free time as an opportunity to do things you haven’t done before, or just things you enjoy. Or use it to have a good think, what do I really want? Do I want to be a teacher? Maybe you could teach abroad? I heard beautiful stories about doing that. The world is wide and open, conquer it!

  8. Jessie Reyna says:

    I’m on the same boat man! I was laid off a couple of months ago and I am the same way — zero motivation when not working. I need to be busy. Come to America. We apparently have a shortage of teachers, but then again, you need to give up your first born and juggle lit torches in order to be one. Which is probably why we have a shortage…

    • janeybgood says:

      It’s tough, isn’t it? I just feel so directionless right now. I’ve heard that about the States, although apparently my qualification isn’t recognised over there, or so I’ve heard. My fiancΓ© does think that his career might take him to the U.S. at some stage, so you’d never know. Hey, if it ever happens, we’ll all hit up Vegas and eat Cheetos!

  9. NotAPunkRocker says:

    Ugh, sorry to hear that on the job front. Fingers crossed that something changes for the better soon!

    How are things with me? Well, It think the cat picture sums it up, at home and work.

    • janeybgood says:

      Hi Shauna, sorry for the lateness of my reply! Well, a true Candy Crusher would never reveal such sensitive information…or I
      deleted the app by accident and had to start again haha. Hope all is good with you πŸ™‚

  10. Chelly says:

    Welcome Back πŸ˜€ I haven’t worked in ages either and I’ve never had a proper job, only stuff like childminding and the odd two weeks at a supermarket so I know how shitty it is, and then while I was off completely for two years, I picked up guitar! I’m still really bad at it but I actually enjoy just getting it perfectly in tune and then playing random chords and trying to hear if it sounds like a song I know πŸ˜€ I also play piano (which I can actually play!) and I just learned new pieces that I really loved but I had to really love it to be bothered :D.. overall they probably took up an hour of my day or maybe 2 if I was in the mood πŸ™‚ I’m still unemployed but I’ve gone back to college cos I’m not as sick any more which is great! so what i’m saying is you could totes learn to play an instrument if there was ever anything you wanted to play πŸ˜€ And I hope you get work soon! would your qualifications help you in any other job? Like you love English and stuff so maybe you could write for a newspaper or something? That would be fun and you’d have an odd deadline. I like deadlines because they make me more productive πŸ˜€ Or you could get paid to review movies or something. I would love to do that πŸ˜€ Good Luck with everything and I fully believe it’s ok to wallow as long as you do something productive afterwards…like start a new tv series πŸ˜‰ My current favourite is Orphan Black. It’s seriously weird and scary but not like a horror cos I hate horror stuff πŸ˜€ And my all time favourite is The Mentalist ❀ Ok I'm gonna shut up now because I'm just getting carried away πŸ˜€ x

    • janeybgood says:

      Hey! How are you? Sorry my reply is crazy late, there isn’t a proper app on the windows phone so I don’t get notifications 😦 ha, I actually bought a guitar years ago but I just couldn’t play it. I really tried, but I just seem to have no aptitude for music
      good on you though, it sounds like you do! I would love to play the piano. It’s such a lovely instrument.
      I actually think I will go back to study, I always loved college. Do you mind me asking what you’re doing in college? I think I’m going to get a Celta cert to teach English to foreign students; its not too far from what I’m doing now.
      Anyway, thanks so much for all the advice! I always appreciate how much time you put into commenting and you always offer valuable advice πŸ˜€

      • Chelly says:

        That’s no bother at all! it’s really good of you to reply to everyone! πŸ™‚ ya I know a good bit about music already so that’s probably why it was easier for me to learn guitar, and I just love the sound of the guitar so much it doesn’t really matter that I’m not much good at it πŸ˜€ I just make up my own little melodies that probably annoys everyone else in the house but it makes me happy πŸ˜€ I’m doing a BA in Music (big surprise there πŸ˜‰ ) and Sociology. Sociology was just a random one that I picked because I didn’t think I was smart enough for English, even though I do love reading but I didn’t think that would really be enough πŸ˜€ but I love it now, even though it’s pretty hard to get good grades, but it’s actually really interesting!
        Teaching English to Foreign students would be so cool! AND you’d get to see lots of new places if you went abroad πŸ™‚ Where would you like to go? and you’re so Welcome! πŸ˜€ I feel like you’re always there for us so we’re there for you too! even if most of my advice isn’t actually very helpful πŸ˜€ You should definitely go back to college! it’s a bit strange going back if you haven’t been in a while, because I think it feels like everything has changed but it’s nice too because you really are there because you want to be, not because you think it’s where you should be. Does that make sense? πŸ˜€

      • janeybgood says:

        Music and sociology sounds lovely. I did a BA too, and I really enjoyed it. I only really studied sociology as part of my teacher training but I really loved it. My sister did it for her BA and really liked it too. I wish I was more musical, as I absolutely love music, but I just can’t sing a note or play anything haha. I hope you’re enjoying it!
        I think I’d actually try and get a job in Ireland and teach TEFL (or TESL) here. Or I was thinking of adding another subject to my BA. The problem is money really 😦 How are you finding the study? Is it heavy?

      • Rachel says:

        I know and prices have gone up everywhere! I definitely have enough for this year but I don’t know how I’ll manage next year or even after that! But I try not to think that far ahead, and just try to take it one week at a time πŸ˜€ I really do love my course especially music, I just love the real technicalities that go into making melodies and harmonies! and I’m really loving an anthropology module that I’m doing for sociology, it focuses on humans behaviour which is really cool! The study isn’t too bad, and I’m not very good at it so that’s saying something πŸ™‚ & I only have end of year exams for a few of my modules which really lowers my stress levels πŸ˜€ I don’t really work as well in exam situations so I prefer assignments! TESL sounds good (of course I had to look it up :D), is asking your parents for a loan out of the question? πŸ˜‰ I already owe my dad about €5,000 and I still have at least two years left to do, so he’ll be waiting a while for that! maybe your wonderful amazing fiancΓ© could help you out too? πŸ˜‰ and also isn’t there a back to education allowance or something? If you go into your local welfare office they’ll give you forms & it can’t hurt to apply for everything going! you can do it, I’m already getting excited for you! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

