The Hot Seat: Meet Amanda

Hello again m’dears. I am so excited to announce that this week, I shall be interviewing a lady that needs no introduction (except this one), the fabulous Amanda Lyle from Inside the Life of Moi, a fantastic blog that demonstrates Amanda’s considerable writing talents. Don’t just take my word for it; have a read of her brilliantly entertaining interview below and then check out her insanely addictive blog!

Over to you, Amanda!

                                     interview

 *Pours glass of wine and slips into the hot seat, surprised that it isn’t as hot as it suggests, and she didn’t need that ice pack, after all*

 

Hi Amanda! Why don’t you tell my readers a little about yourself…without using the letter ‘e’. I’m kidding, go e-nuts!

Alrighteeeeeeeeeeeeeeee! (<- enough e for you?) Where do I start? I am a 21-year-old (one can wish) 28-year-old with a fondness for happy dancing, biscuit dunking, photography and all things 90’s (Lycra included!). I am also a mother of three sometimes-adorable-but-mostly-quite-annoying children (ages 2, 5 & 10) I have been married to my partner in crime for almost 5 years and I live in the Southwest of England: land of cider, farms and not much else. I would love nothing more than to become a writer, but unfortunately I am yet to start that book I have been harping on about for the past TWO YEARS <- And the Queen of procrastination award goes to…. Oh yes, that would be MOI!

 

Why did you decide to start blogging?

Okay, so this might sound morbid, but 18 months ago I was, to put it bluntly, in a bit of a crappy place. I was lost, misguided and falling apart (it didn’t help that I was living in the dreaded Coventry at the time *shudder*) One day, I decided to write. I hadn’t written anything for so long, but I had this overwhelming desire to write and write until I could write no more! Writing not only helped to heal many of my wounds, but it also gave me clarity. Over time, it occurred to me, I wasn’t lost anymore. I was free …and I had a pretty awesome blog to show for it! (<- Not to blow my own trumpet or anything!) If it wasn’t for my blog and the huge amount of support I have received over the past 18 months or so, I wouldn’t be the person I am today. Cheesy, I know….but so very true! THANK YOU, GUYS! *wipes tear*

 

Your blog has become very successful. Has this changed your day to day life in any way?

 

I mean, I would like to say I get hounded with fan mail and stopped in the street, but I would be lying. Nothing much has changed really…boring, I know! However, I do get the odd person come over to me and tell me they read my blog. I then glow a bright shade of cherry tomato and scurry off embarrassed.

Random Fact: Only a few close friends know about my blog.

 

What one piece of advice would you give to other bloggers?

As Dory once said in Finding Nemo “Just keep swimming!” Oh no, that’s not right, I meant… Just keep writing! You’re bound to come up with something publishable at some point!

Also, never be too critical with yourself. Some of the pieces I assumed would go down like a lead balloon, actually floated higher than I could ever imagine. My most popular post to date (Dear Husband: An Unconventional Love Letter) I was close to not publishing at all because I felt it wasn’t well-written.

So, just go for it – what’s the worst that can happen?

 

You have written some very honest and personal posts. Did you find this difficult?

Naturally, I am a very open person. I don’t feel like I have anything to hide. However, there have been a few posts in which I found myself hovering over the ‘publish’ button for a good half an hour before mustering up the courage to press. One of those posts was:I love you, but I don’t like you: A story of fractured bonds and motherly guilt. This was my most personal post to date. I really opened up and allowed my thoughts to run free. I couldn’t have received a better response from my readers. It was the first time I had been left both speechless and overwhelmed by everyone’s understanding and generosity. The positive response from my post has opened doors for me to continue to write more open and honest posts in future. It feels so liberating to be able to share myself so openly with everyone and not be judged. I have so much respect for all of my readers. Not to sound too hippy, but they have touched my heart in so many ways. I couldn’t be more blessed. I’m a very lucky girl!

 

Okay. That was too serious a question. Let’s lighten things up: are you a girly-girl or the more outdoorsy type?

The outdoorsy type?!  *cackles uncontrollably*

I couldn’t be further from the outdoorsy type. My husband would describe me as ‘high maintenance’ but I would say I’m more of a girly-girl. I love make up to the point that if my husband ever left me, I’d probably marry it (Okay that sounded a bit extreme….but I do adore it!) …and the thought of dating again *shudder* sends me into hot sweat!

I also have a slightly unhealthy obsession with nail varnish and pretty much own every colour of the rainbow! So, I’d have to marry my nail varnish collection too!

…Is that even legit?

Apart from one pretty traumatic experience at Glastonbury festival involving over-flowing porter-loos, hippy tea and enough mud to build a mud city…

glasto
(Source: www.dumb.com)

…you wouldn’t catch me camping EVER! I mean, where would I plug my hair straighteners? A tree? And how am I supposed to climb mountains in heels? Nah. It just isn’t me! I’d choose makeup, heels and bags over hiking boots, oversized backpacks and….eeerrr….mosquito bites, any day!

You’re a mother. What’s the best piece of parenting advice you’ve ever received?

When parenthood becomes overwhelming, lock yourself in a cupboard with a strong drink and pretend everything is AAAAAAAAA-Okay! I’m kidding, of course. The most important thing is to love your children unconditionally, no matter how much they make you want to rock back and forth in an under-stair cupboard. Never underestimated love.

 

Do you ever suffer from writer’s block? If so, what do you do to overcome it?

Now and then my brain will shoot blanks. Rather than panic, I take some much-needed time off from writing and allow my ideas to reform. After a few weeks, I find that my head is so cram-packed with ideas it is ready to POP! That wasn’t meant to sound sexual at all. Honest!

 

Curveball: Are Jaffa Cakes biscuits or cakes?

I would say…. They are biscakes! (<- see what I did there!)

 

What do you do to unwind after a long day?

I usually run a bubble bath, pour myself a glass of wine, put my headphones in and fantasise about being anywhere but dreary old England. Other times, I’ll light some joss-sticks and meditate to the sound of panpipes and whales singing. Okay…one of the previous statements was, in fact, a lie… I’ll leave you guys to figure that out.

 

And now for some weird questions…

Who would you rather go clubbing with: Hillary Clinton or Michelle Obama?

I reckon Michelle Obama would be a complete party animal after a few sparkling wines…therefore, I’d have to choose her to go clubbing with her.

Hillary Clinton, I have her down as a more hot cocoa-drinking, sheepskin slipper-wearing and bed at an appropriate hour, kind of girl.

OH MY GOSH! I’m turning into Hillary Clinton, aren’t I? *shudder*

 

If you could have be any kind of shark, which would you choose?

Umm, there’s different breeds of sharks? I thought a shark was a shark… *Googles* Okay, according to Wikipedia there are 509 species of shark… waaaaay too many to choose from! Can I just say Sharky from Sharky and George? (Remember that awesome TV show?) I mean, what other shark wears a Panama hat?

shark
(Source: www.youtube.com)

If you had the power of invisibility, would you rob a bank?

Of course not, I would never do such a thing! I’d be too busy doing other awesome things like hanging out in the male changing rooms *Coughs* Nah, I probably would rob the bank … I could do with a nice new handbag and wardrobe to match! I meant… I would give it to charity, obviously!

 

You get the chance to appear on a tacky reality TV show for a lot of money…do you take it?

It depends how much I would get paid and which reality TV show it was. I can’t sing to save my life, so X-Factor would be out of the question….*thinks about past contestants* ..or maybe not? I haven’t got any outstanding talents… I mean, I can’t spin plates with my eyes closed whilst doing the splits and yodelling, nor can I eat one hundred pork pies in one sitting…so, Britain’s Got Talent isalso out of the question. And given my dislike for the wilderness, you wouldn’t catch me eating bugs in the jungle…forget that! I’m not remotely a celebrity…but get me freaken out of here! So…. Big Brother it is!

Perhaps I’ll audition for next year?

pig fly

(source: http://paulstudentstories.blogspot.co.uk/)

Janey, it has been a pleasure! Thank you so much for inviting me to sit on the Hot Seat… I can officially say… This seat is HOT…or perhaps it’s just me, having a hot flush?! Or maybe it’s these glaring studio lights? (We’re in a studio, right?) Either way, I’m glad I brought that ice pack!

*Stumbles off stage tipsily holding an icepack to her backside*

Thank you so much Amanda! What a fun interview this was. I’m off to listen to panpipes and whales because, frankly, that sounds amazing. 

121 thoughts on “The Hot Seat: Meet Amanda

  1. amandalyle1986 says:

    Reblogged this on Insidethelifeofmoi and commented:
    When Janey invited me to be interviewed on her blog (…oh, wait a minute…or did I invite myself?) I said HEEEEEEECK YEAH, shortly followed by a happy dance and some champagne guzzling.

    So, without further ado, I give you…My not-so-conventional interview with Janey over at CUPID OR CATS.

    I’ll be over shortly to respond to comments and share this big bottle of champagne!

  2. The V-Pub says:

    Epic! Two of my favorite bloggers on one post. Kind of like Jananda! Or Amaney. The Hot Seat looks like a wonderful feature to continue here, especially if there is free wine at the end of the interview. 😀

  3. Erika Kind says:

    Wow!!!! Janey that was an awesome interview. I can only agree with Rob without exception: You two in one post is mind-blowing!!! It is not only asking and answering questions. The two of you are dancing around each other in that interview! I am stunning. My compliment to your Interview, Janey!
    And yes: Jananda is perfect!
    Amanda I head over to your blog for the comment!

  4. Erika Kind says:

    OK, I am back. Sorry, I just saw I cannot commend on your post, Amanda! My biggest compliment to your typical Amanda-way of answering. You are great, funny, honest, authentic, lovable, thought-provoking… and sometimes everything in on paragraph. Iove all your answers but most of all the one regarding your honesty. I know what it means to write for liberating yourself. I wrote book for that and I thought exactly the same: If no one wants ever know about it, then at least it was for me! There is so much more to say… I am kind of overwhelmed!!!!

  5. brittabottle says:

    The American over here just let out a sigh as she exclaimed, “Dreary old England??!?!? Bbbut it’s been at the top of my travel bucket list for AGES…I highly doubt it’s THAAT dreary! ”

    Great interview, though. Amanda always gets a laugh or two out of me.🙂

    • amandalyle1986 says:

      Thank you so much.🙂

      Oh man. I feel bad now… I haven’t sold beautiful England very well, have I? Don’t erase it from your bucket list just yet….the tea and biscuits are to die for…totally worth the thousands of miles trip!😀

      • brittabottle says:

        Don’t worry, you still haven’t deterred me. England is still at the top of my list. After all, its easy to not appreciate the place we live in as much as the next person.🙂

      • Cat Forsley says:

        it’s just me being honest honey xxxx i did an audio book a little while ago -which doesn’t mean i’m a terrific writer🙂 LOL xxx just means that when i read someone that has that total RAW gift – = You – !!!!!!!!!! I get very happy …… Important Voices like YOURS – need to be heard xxx C

      • amandalyle1986 says:

        Wow! That’s quite an achievement! I’m honoured you think my writing is publish-worthy. It’s certainly something I will think about in the future – when life isn’t quite so busy! Thanks again for the compliments. You have made my day!🙂 xxxx

      • Cat Forsley says:

        awwwwwwwww🙂 xxxxxxxxxx we have to keep speaking our hearts right ? xxx i certainly think so xxxxx I dunno who said that the more you create – the more you want to – BUT xxxx I do have a lovely quote that reminds me of You – “I was born to Live out loud “- Zola ….. Very very You – I am not very attached to my audiobook anymore – it’s about a relationship i had that was basically 100 days – !!!!!!!!! but – Looking back – I am proud to keep on creating – sending u a free piece you can stream on soundcloud ……. https://soundcloud.com/catforsley/18-why-i-love-cat-forsley-100-days-of-love …………….. MEGA hugs and Mega inspired by You xo

      • amandalyle1986 says:

        A 100 day relationship. I have to hear about this! I’m curious!😀

        Thanks again for being so lovely and showering me in compliments. Eeeeek! Love the Zola quote too!

        I hope you have a wonderful weekend🙂 xoxoxox

  6. jaque says:

    Hmmm.. I see a Marilyn Monroe being interviewed with a Rebecca Bloomwood ( confessions of a shopaholic) career path. All I could say is that Amanda is obviously a writer but the problem lies on not being the next JK Rowling nor Elizabeth Gilbert, to simply say you can’t finish a book. However, by all means, have the luxury to assume the Girl in the green scarf role and you will succeed. I don’t know why you’re still behind your laptop at home when you could be a columnist on someone else’s magazine.

    • amandalyle1986 says:

      Marilyn Monroe…wow! I’ll take that. Thank you. And thank you so much for your heartfelt compliments. That fact you think I could be a columnist for a magazine …well…makes me very excited! How amazing that would be! Hopefully one day this will happen… *fingers crossed*

      • jaque says:

        I hope too, one day🙂 and I’ll be searching for that column. Don’t wonder why Marilyn above all others, she’s a great icon though Margaret Tatcher would sound nice but she doesn’t fit you- sorry🙂 . Made me wonder, why won’t the two of you team up and have your own talk show?, wouldn’t it be nicer? Hhmmmm… Yeah I do get that you’re both busy and it might be the last thing you’ll ever do anyway.

      • janeybgood says:

        That’s not a bad idea! I wonder is the world ready for us…it would certainly be a lot of fun. One of us can be the Oprah and one could be the Ellen😀

      • jaque says:

        I know who’d be oprah but a team would work better .. Shhh don’t tell amanda but I think she looks a lot like katy perry and you could be her manager except that i guess she can’t sing?.. Hahaha. But you could make up a good duo.:-)

      • janeybgood says:

        She does look like Katy Perry! And I could go mad with power and have her selling out venues all over the world. Even if she can’t sing (and maybe she’s just being modest), Katy Perry isn’t exactly Whitney Houston, so I can make this work haha!
        You’re just full of ideas😀

      • jaque says:

        Why, it’s true except for the hair haha. Don’t know about Janey but I’m a selective listener so I can tolerate it🙂 . Maybe you’re a better dancer then.

    • amandalyle1986 says:

      Thank you so much, Amelia. My husband has actually booked a family camping holiday…in a TENT! My face dropped when he told me, as did my phone…onto the floor…and all I could hear was, “Amanda, are you still there? Helloooooo?”

      Camping…I can’t think of anything worse! *Shudder*

  7. herheadache says:

    Wow. What a fun interview, conversation between two friends really.🙂
    I can really relate to all the writing stuff. I wanted to write a memoir for a long time, but then I discovered blogging and a whole new world opened up. If this is all the writing I ever do, I will be happy.
    Nice job, both you ladies. Definitely sharing this one. Have a wonderful weekend.

    • janeybgood says:

      Thank you very much🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed it and thanks for sharing!
      Blogging certainly is very therapeutic and enjoyable. I don’t know what I’d do without it now. Happy blogging!

  8. maxwell ivey says:

    hi kerry and amanda; you had me laughing out loud. great interview and some unique questions which is next to impossible to do with interviews these days. people are going to line up to sit in the hot seat. also amanda your answers were so honest. as to what you said about not knowing which posts will get the most responses and often being fooled by which ones do well and which don’t do as well. i do lots of radio shows and i don’t even listen to myself because I’m afraid that if i do i may decide not to share the links some of the times. you are right you can’t be too critical. good today is better than perfect tomorrow or that’s how i do it most of the time.😉 thanks to both you wonderful ladies. take care, max

    • janeybgood says:

      Thank you so much for your comments Max! Amanda was brilliant to interview, as she is fun and full of interesting stories.
      I can’t even imagine how difficult going on the radio must be, wow!
      Thanks for reading and I hope you are having a good day🙂

Leave a Reply

