HELP ME!

Hello! How is everyone today? It’s been a while since I’ve sat down to post something proper, but I’ve been struggling. I’ve got nothing. Nada. Diddly-squat. 

There have been times where ideas rain down on me like dollar bills on a Vegas stripper, but for the last month I’ve been really stuck for inspiration. The thing is, I love blogging. I love having a little internet space where I keep my virtual pet owl (say hi to Derek) and discuss my love of pizza and stalking strangers in the park (I’m kidding. I only like pizza). I love chatting to you guys. But is it worth filling up my blog with utter crap (even more crap…ahem) just to have something to post? Aye, there’s the rub. 

 

I think Shakespeare may have been more of a Blogspot guy…

Source 
Since I can’t really discuss my job (for legal reasons, which makes me sound all kinds of Batman), it means that’s a huge aspect of my life that I can’t blog about. And my relationship is wonderful and all, but Jack has been working so much that we haven’t spent much time together since we got engaged. *cries into your shoulder* 

I guess I could go around and interview people…although when Humans of New York do it, it’s considered cool. When I do it, it’s all “hey, get out of my garden” or “are you wearing night vision goggles?” Pfft. So, maybe not. 

Do you guys have any ideas for me? Yes, I’m actually so stuck that I am now expecting you all to do the work for me.  

Fly my pretties, flyyyyy

 Source

I could interview one of you? Or someone could guest post? Or we could all go to Mexico and drink tequila? Either way, I’m up for anything. Except having pineapple on my pizza, because that is evil and twisted. 

109 thoughts on “HELP ME!

  1. icedteapurplegem says:

    I have this a lot, too! Especially when 50% of the ideas I come up with sharing have some aspect or other I’m keeping from the internet. Another 25% I think are just too insignificant to weigh down the world with (they probably aren’t – there is a fine line between fun-to-read and too trivial – a line I wish not to cross.) I hope you get some great ideas from other people!! I’m sorry that I don’t have any.

    • janeybgood says:

      The thing is, sometimes I read posts by people in other countries that they may think are trivial but they fascinate me. I suppose there will always be interested readers out there somewhere but a post about my brother’s stamp collection is hardly going to attract hundreds of readers haha. I don’t even mind if no one reads my posts; I just don’t want people reading them and thinking “that was pointless.”

      Thanks for your comment! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • benjii1993 says:

        I think you should do it! If you need a person to interview I would happily do it! I think its really funny! And maybe I can get some inspiration from you too mine interviews aswell ๐Ÿ™‚

      • janeybgood says:

        I actually kind of love Kaney. It makes me sound like some kind of Bond super-villain. “What’s to be done about this Kaney, M?” Okay, I haven’t had any vodka but I’m tired.
        Enjoy your Friday night vodka. It sounds amazing!

      • dweezer19 says:

        Thanks Janey, and if my vote counts at all, you have done a great job blogging. I understand about “running dry” but I just switch to photos and a word or two. I have never found any of your posts to be anything other than enchanting, amusing and heart warming. Hang in there. We will always be out here, waiting….

      • janeybgood says:

        Oh thank you so much ๐Ÿ˜Šโ˜บ๏ธ that’s so lovely! I love going to your page to escape my mundane life! You create such beautiful worlds with words and capture such beautiful scenery with your photographs. So thank you! A wonderful compliment coming from you ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. NotQuiteLondon says:

    I’d b up for an interview๐Ÿ˜Š. I also struggle to find inspiration sometimes and it drives me insane,so totally understand where you coming from.
    I got a book by Dana Fox called 365 Blog Topic Ideas……you need to own this,seriously it had completely cured my bloggers block x

    • janeybgood says:

      Good woman yourself! Woah, I just got super-Irish there haha. I would love you to do an interview ๐Ÿ™‚ oh, brilliant. I definitely must look up that book ๐Ÿ˜€ after almost two years of blogging, it’s time I sought help x

      • NotQuiteLondon says:

        Lol it would be my pleasure hunny. You definitely need that book,as a new blogger it has helped me immensely but it will also help those that have been blooging for a long time. She’s also a blogger ๐Ÿ˜Š x

      • janeybgood says:

        I love the idea of actually reading a book about blogging. I have read tonnes of posts but I never seem to retain any of the information lol! Okay, so I’m going to get around to writing up some questions in the next few days and I’ll email you ๐Ÿ™‚

      • NotQuiteLondon says:

        This one is not ur standard book it’s literally just page after page of titles for posts. If u Google it ul know what I mean lol.
        Awesome! I can’t wait to see them,very excited๐Ÿ˜„ xx

  3. motherhendiaries says:

    Ahhh… My sweet Janie! I hang on the very possibility of your posts! You are literally the only Irish, owl-loving, tequila-sipping, Whitney-wailing, rock star hottie I know. Please. Whatever you do – DON’T STOP BLOGGING!!! We have a duet in our future. Plus, where will I get owl memes without you? (As for teauila… it’s best I don’t discuss my own ancient r adventures in Tequilaville… )*ahem*… Moving on…

    • janeybgood says:

      I feel like the world may not be ready for us yet, MH. I can imagine the end of our duet. It will be met with a stunned, awed silence. You’ll be standing with your arms in the air after reaching notes only birds and Mariah Carey can and I’ll just drop my mic because no one will ever perform after us. Ever.

      I’m now thinking that we may both be a little bit odd? No? No. It’s everyone else that is weird. We’re totally cool and awesome.

      I’m the mayor of Tequilaville so I’m right there with you ๐Ÿ˜€

      • motherhendiaries says:

        Oh, Janey… BEST. RESPONSE. EVER. You are right… The world isn’t ready for us. Still, THEY’RE the weird ones. Let’s face it. Everyone else WISHES they could sing a WH duet like us. And nobody could possibly love feathered cuteness like you and me. We fly above the mediocrity. Ok. So I’m mediocre. Let me fasten my manicured talons to your meteor, then. You are a STAR!

      • janeybgood says:

        The only thing that could improve that comment is a WH song. I’m thinking “One Moment in Time.” Maybe I’ll play a WH song every time you comment now. Because your comments deserve their own theme music; they are that awesome.

        You are not mediocre! You are ocre! Super-ocre. I’m sure that’s a thing and you are it!

      • janeybgood says:

        If we lived near each other we could wear matching jackets and sing karaoke all the time ๐Ÿ™‚ ha, again, I don’t think the world is ready. There would probably be come cataclysmic explosion or something ๐Ÿ˜€

      • motherhendiaries says:

        Well, ocrity suction calls for a classy, ladylike snort, my dear! *cluck* (I’ll let you know when next I’m in Cork… if only to give the universe a heads up!)

  4. amandalyle1986 says:

    Can we all go to Mexico and drink tequila, please? ๐Ÿ˜€

    I am up for an interview, btw… (If you get really desperate! hehe)

    Anyway, I hope you have a great weekend!

  5. cordeliasmom2012 says:

    Heck, when I run out of ideas, I just walk around my house and find some boring, everyday object to write about. I did a post on cotton balls, and about a year later I did one on toilet paper. People actually seemed to enjoy those posts! Go figure.

  6. pensitivity101 says:

    We all get blog blocks so don’t worry about it. Sometimes it’s good to have a break.
    I guess I cheat a lot by writing about the dog (a lot), the marina and our boat (also a lot), nature (loads of posts on ducks and swans) etc, but I get inspiration from blogs I follow or simply clicking on one (or six) of the many buttons ‘you may like’ ‘followed by people you follow’ etc which can strike a memory/idea.
    Have fun…… and write about that too!! We all like to read it!

    • janeybgood says:

      I probably should write about my pets more. I have seven after all ha! If only I had a boat, eh? I would actually love that. My fiancรฉ and I have often thought of someday living on a boat. We live beside a very popular boating spot.
      I read lots of posts and am often in awe of how people are able to structure their posts so well. Mine are always a mess because my concentration is so poor.
      Ha, yes I do like to write about my fun times! Not much has been going on lately so I’m hoping my life will get a little more interesting ๐Ÿ™‚
      Thanks for your comment!

  7. Shauna841505 says:

    OMG I am in for Mexico and tequila! I mean…it could be a “work trip” as we would inevitably come up with plenty of blog post ideas while we are there. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Gary Lum says:

    I empathise completely. I can’t blog about my job either and family and friends are off limits (my rules) so I’m left with food and a little photography. I’m not suggesting you take up food (unless you really want to) but I hope you find a few topics to think about and turn them into a story of thoughts, ideas and inspiration.

    • janeybgood says:

      I love food blogs. I wish I was more of a foodie myself. I have been spending more time cooking from scratch and experimenting with ingredients so I’m on the right track. Certainly not a bad idea Gary! Thanks so much for the advice ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Wordifull Melanie says:

    Just saw this and immediately thought of you so i popped over to give you the link:
    http://www.boredpanda.com/owls-by-sasi-smith/

    and then i see this plaintive cry for help ๐Ÿ˜‰
    I know too well the plight of writer’s block and or a finicky muse. But then again my blog is poetrycentric ๐Ÿ˜‰ so I think you have more leeway! Which is very good news for you. The interview things seems to have taken off for you so I’m looking forward to reading those ๐Ÿ™‚

    But here are a couple other thoughts…

    1- Write a post responding to a post you read on someone else’s blog (linking to them of course)

    2- Write an open letter to someone you will probably never meet but have lots to “say” to…could be an actor, musician, political figure… I’m sure you could come up with some very funny scenarios with this one

    3- Create a funny english to irish dictionary/thesaurus will sample sentences ๐Ÿ˜‰

    4- Write a post listing three things…three weird or slightly embarrassing things about you or experiences you have had …The twist is 2 are true and 1 is false…then ask your readers to guess which one is false!

    • janeybgood says:

      First off, the owls are amazing. Man, I love owls haha.
      Wow. See, this is why you’re a poet. This comment in itself is better than my whole blog lol! You have given me so much inspiration. You need to be writing political speeches, Melanie!
      I actually love all of these ideas and I am definitely going to get around to trying them all, crediting you because of course. I am back in the zone!

  10. Prakash Hegade says:

    I guess you should make a post on “Top 10 things to Blog about” in your perspective.
    It would help a many. Many! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Then blog about each of the ten! ๐Ÿ™‚ one by one.

  11. Betty says:

    I go through long periods of writers block too and struggle with consistency. You posts are always entertaining and brighten my days! I love the idea of tequila in Mexico and agree with you that ANY fruit on pizza is just wrong! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • janeybgood says:

      Thank you so much Betty. I actually recommended your blog to a colleague of mine recently, although they don’t have their own blog, they wanted to read more about fitness and running.
      Now I reeeeally want to go to Mexico. If wordpress could organise some blogger’s conference there, that would be great haha. And yes, any fruit on pizza is insanity.

  12. Blue290 says:

    I like writing about people from my past, or about a photo, whether new or from the past…sometimes I write about something I witnessed during the day.

    • janeybgood says:

      I actually was thinking about digging out some old photos to post about! Great minds, eh? It’s good to be observant in your day to day life because everyday events often make great posts. Thanks for your comment!

  13. belicovaa says:

    Hi, Janey. Just nominated you for TWO awards! Not because you don’t have enough already, cuz you’re awesome, but because I’m really interested in your answers on the questions I asked ๐Ÿ™‚ should you consider to accept, check out my two latest posts. https://belicovaa.wordpress.com/. Have a great evening!

  14. floridaborne says:

    A lot of my ideas come when I’m replying to someone else’s post. I often wonder if it’s due to being in a more relaxed state when I’m responding instead of trying to generate. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • janeybgood says:

      Yay! This is brilliant. I have so many of you to interview that I’m going to make it a feature now. Whatever you are comfortable with. Let’s be honest, I will be asking some weird questions. Like, would you prefer a cockatoo or a macaw? Of course, I’ll also ask some thought-provoking and poignant questions…ahem.

  15. ifollowislands says:

    I love pineapple on pizza and actually just ate one! There, it’s out now. Can we still be friends, pretty please? ๐Ÿ™‚ I like the idea of guest posts and/or interviews. I have been thinking of starting a blog series called “My neighbourhood” where people write about where they live, what’s happening there and why they love it. I’ve seen it ages ago on another blog and really enjoyed it but the author seems to have stopped. Would love to create something similar and might reach out to other bloggers soon (like you, hehe!) ๐Ÿ™‚ Good luck with the inspiration and don’t you ever stop blogging, we enjoy your posts too much!!

    • janeybgood says:

      *tries not to gag* it’s not that bad…ok, I hate it with the fire of a thousand suns but we can still be friends ๐Ÿ˜€
      That’s a brilliant idea! We’re all from such different areas that it would be very interesting. I would love to do it ๐Ÿ˜€
      Thanks! I don’t think I could ever stop. I love it too much. And I’ve met such lovely people and we’ve all had interesting conversations. It’s a great place to connect. Okay, I’m writing this while drinking a latte so it is not very coherent because I’m in caffeine heaven haha ๐Ÿ˜€

  16. The V-Pub says:

    Me! Me! Me! Ahem. Sorry for the outburst. Well, all ideas are lovely and I gladly volunteer for all. There is a prize, right? No, no, not pineapples on pizza, and not dreadful anchioves either. But a prize nonetheless. If there are no prizes, the my second vote would be for you to guest blog for me. i would love that. I would also love a new boat, but I don’t really see that happening. So, it’s guest blogging then. ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

