I’m engaged to be married :)

We’re engaged! I was trying to think of a funny/charming way to announce the news but I’m too excited to be clever right now. Jack proposed and I said yes (which is typically how engagements happen *cough*). I’m gonna be someone’s WIFE. Oh dear God. 

We’ve been together for twelve years, so it’s a very special monent for us two ๐Ÿ˜Š

Anyway, I wanted to share the news with all of you because you’re like my very large and very weird (no offence) Internet family. For now, I just have a token ring but my real ring will be ready in about a month. It’s being custom made, lah di dah. 

So now I’m off cry some more. I’m an emotional wreck. *eats more choclate and cries into champagne*

If anyone has any wedding/marriage advice, why not let me know in the comments so I can marvel at your collective wisdom. 

  

72 thoughts on “I’m engaged to be married :)

  1. cheergerm says:

    Super exciting news Cupid! Congratulations, your ring sounds exciting. Just tell Jack ‘happy wife, happy life’. I tell The Yak that all the time, doesn’t mean he listens. ๐Ÿ˜

  2. Melvin says:

    WOW.. Congrats! Wish u both blessings and the very best all the way from Sri Lanka!

    Enjoy it.. its a great ride! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. pensitivity101 says:

    I am so pleased for you, congratulations to you both. Looking forward to seeing picture of ring!
    As for advice, tips, etc, etc, everyone is different, so you will probably get a lot. Listen to all, but make up your own mind.
    Mine is tell each other you love each other every day, and never sleep on an argument. If you’re half as happy as Hubby and I, you got it made Kid!

    • janeybgood says:

      Aw that’s lovely! I’m so happy that you and your husband are happy, you sound awesome ๐Ÿ™‚
      We have come this far so I’m hopeful. That’s great advice that we will definitely follow!

  4. floridaborne says:

    Weird is a compliment. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Congrats!
    Being with someone that long is like a marriage. In fact, if a woman and man lived together for more than 7 years, it used to be called a common-law marriage. i.e., there’s no advice I can give that you haven’t learne over the past 12 years.

    Except for 1 thing: Of my 5 husbands, only 1 of them didn’t change after the “I do’s,” and that was husband #5. Men seem to settle into the domestic life, forgetting that “wife” is not spelled s-l-a-v-e. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • janeybgood says:

      Thank you! You’re right. I always did worry about complacency but we seem to be doing okay. I suppose I’ll have to wait till after the wedding to see if being a husband and wife will change us. But like you said, we already feel married. It’s just important that we don’t become too comfortable I suppose! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. dweezer19 says:

    (((((Janey and the guy))))))!!!!! Cos we hug in the South! ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ’ƒ๐Ÿ’‘๐Ÿ’๐Ÿ’˜๐Ÿ’๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘ฏ๐Ÿ‘ฐ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ’ซ๐Ÿ˜˜

  6. Chelly says:

    Awwwwwwwwwww that is so cute, I’m so happy for you! ๐Ÿ˜€ I’m literally hugging myself here! ๐Ÿ˜€ Sorry I don’t have any advice, I don’t even have a boyfriend, so I’m a loooong way off yet! Congratulations! I am actually so excited for you! ๐Ÿ˜€ xx

    • janeybgood says:

      Haha, thank you so much, that’s so sweet ๐Ÿ™‚ It just feels so strange, like I’m just not used to it yet ๐Ÿ™‚ I already have half the wedding planned in my mind haha!

  7. Spence's Girl says:

    Congrats!!! Spence and I lived together for 18+ years before impulsively eloping almost six years ago. Best decision we could’ve made. Wishing you only happiness and a lifetime of love!

  8. Wordifull Melanie says:

    Oh, congrats to you!!! As far as advice…. I’m sure you guys have figured out each other by now… so I will focus on two things..

    1- Never start taking each other for granted…it is easy to do.
    2-Communicate, communicate, communicate… big and small things. It is the key to any healthy relationship.

    Hugs and good wishes ๐Ÿ™‚

    • janeybgood says:

      Thank you! That is some very valuable advice ๐Ÿ™‚ You are so right. I think our main weakness is that we do take each other for granted sometimes. When you’ve been together so long, it just happens by accident. Every so often we’ll talk about it, and we’ll remember to make the effort.
      You’re so right about communication too. That’s where my parents’ marriage suffered. We talk about our relationship all the time and it really helps!
      Thanks for your advice ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. V says:

    Congratulations to you both! ๐Ÿ˜€ You’re clearly made for each other, what with you both being complete weirdos and all.

    Wonderful, wonderful weirdos. Kisses!

    • janeybgood says:

      Thanks so much V! Yeah, we are really, really weird but at least…nope, no…got nothin’! *raises pint of over-priced craft beer to you* Cheers!

  10. Shauna841505 says:

    Yay!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Congratulations!!!!! I’m so happy for you! My advice is to really enjoy the process before you’re married! Because it goes by so quickly, and it’s actually a very fun time. Enjoy being engaged! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

