Merry Christmas Everyone <3

‘Tis the season to be jolly. And jolly I am. I have just returned from my nephew’s christening and I’m getting my home ready for Christmas. My mother gave me a gigantic bag of presents. Jack and I had to lug it out to our car much like I imagine the Mafia lug bodies to their trunks…not that I’d know. My mother just adores spoiling us at Christmas; so much so that I often feel very guilty because I know there are people out there with very little. When I was a child, she was often working on Christmas Day and I think she still harbours some guilt over that. Seriously, look at it:

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1d0/54930239/files/2014/12/img_4991.jpg
This picture doesn’t do the size of the bag justice. I’m just going to roll around and do snow angels in my gifts.
I’ve scattered them all out under my tree, along with my other gifts, just to be smug.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1d0/54930239/files/2014/12/img_4995-1.jpg
She also gave me a card which is possibly the sweetest one I’ve ever received:

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1d0/54930239/files/2014/12/img_4996.jpg

This is one of Jack’s gifts from me; try and guess what it is:

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1d0/54930239/files/2014/12/img_4994.jpg
Clue: it is not a giraffe or a grand piano.
These are a few of his gifts for me:

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1d0/54930239/files/2014/12/img_5004.jpg

He picked out the bag himself. The perfume, Modern Muse by Estée Lauder, is AMAZING!

I decorated our table today. I still have a few touches to add, but I like it overall:

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1d0/54930239/files/2014/12/img_5001.jpg

Even though it’s just Jack and I for Christmas dinner, I like to go a bit food crazy. Since my parents split up, my family don’t really spend as much time together and we don’t spend any Christmases as a family so I like making a big deal of the dinner with Jack.
Here are just some of the supplies I picked up today:

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1d0/54930239/files/2014/12/img_4999.jpg

For dinner, I’m going to cook a ham in cola and cider, with cloves and glaze and all the trimmings. I’ll also roast a chicken (turkey is too much for us) and make a homemade sherry trifle. I’m going to start drooling now, so I’ll stop.

I want to wish you all a very Merry Christmas and I hope that your holiday season is filled with joy, love and terrible, terrible singing. I bought myself the singalong version of Frozen and I’ve already shrieked along to Let it Go a dozen times. If you are genuinely looking for some lovely holiday music, then it doesn’t come much better than King’s Choir Cambridge singing traditional carols:
Kings College Choir- Christmas Carols

I’d love to hear what your holiday plans are so I can steal them get some inspiration. You may be surprised that I don’t celebrate Christmas with some kind of neighbourhood ninja dance-fight…that’s how I celebrate New Year. Anyhoot, Happy Holidays!

And I’m also just going to leave this here:

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1d0/54930239/files/2014/12/img_4992.jpg
Source

18 thoughts on “Merry Christmas Everyone <3

    • janeybgood says:

      I sure am. I can send you some virtual trifle, it’s almost as good as the real thing! I’m going to have to spend a long time on the crosstrainer after Xmas. Merry Christmas to you!

  1. Julie the Workaholic says:

    You got 50% extra free birds? Ok…I have NO idea what birds are, aside from the feathered friends that gather at the feeder every day, but it sounds good!😉

    This year we are low key. I didn’t put the tree up this year because something about trying to assemble and decorate a tree on one foot with the aid of crutches just wasn’t doing it for me. We are, however, going to my mom’s for dinner (also ham, although I am betting she doesn’t have 50% more free birds OR goose fat).😉

    I hope you and Jack have a lovely holiday!❤ Merry Christmas!

    • janeybgood says:

      Hi Julie!🙂

      Birds is a custard brand but I’m being very lazy, that’s instant custard cause making custard? Aint nobody got time fo’ dat! Haha!

      Aw I hope you’re okay Julie. Ham and mom’s sounds lovely. I hope you enjoy it! I must come visit your blog.

      • Julie the Workaholic says:

        Girl, I’m right as rain.🙂 With all the colder weather and my injured ankle, it’s given me a LOT of time to catch up some on my blogging and crafting. Hope you have a wonderful Christmas!

  2. girlseule says:

    I love this time of year! Your tree looks beautiful and enjoy that bag of presents.
    We mostly do Christmas on Christmas Eve, a dinner with our family and another family who aren’t technically family but close enough! This year there are 18 of us.
    Christmas Day we have a big breakfast then go eat left-overs down at the beach, but this year it looks like it might rain but I have my fingers crossed for sun.
    Merry Christmas Janey, I hope you and Jack have a beautiful day together.

    • janeybgood says:

      That sounds like heaven Evie. It’s so strange for me to imagine a summery Christmas but it sounds amazing. It is almost freezing here!
      I would love a big group but we live so far from everyone that it’s not possible. We had our Xmas dinner at the weekend.
      I hope you have a great Christmas! And hope it doesn’t rain🙂

  3. Michelle R. Eastman says:

    My 9 year-old son and I always make edible Christmas ornaments for the wildlife. We spread peanut butter or lard on giant pretzels and press them into bird seed I’ve spread onto a cookie sheet. We tie a loop of twine through the top. We hang them on the pine trees in our yard. Birds, squirrels and deer are welcome to enjoy. The twine is enviro-friendly, so the birds can use it to build their nests in the spring. It’s a fun and easy way to give back to the creatures who bring us joy as we watch and listen to them throughout the seasons.

    Michelle

Leave a Reply

