10 Things You Learn During Your Twenties

Your twenties are a time of great transition and growth. LOL, not really, they’re a time for doubts, uncertainty and bad decisions. And wine, lots of wine. When I was a teenager, I envisioned myself living in a swanky apartment with my best friend, drinking copious amounts of posh coffee and getting involved in all kinds of hilarious hijinks. Okay, I watched a lot of Friends.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1d0/54930239/files/2014/12/img_4962.png
Source
Been there, Joey.

My twenties haven’t exactly turned out the way I imagined they would, but I have learned a lot. And because I’m so generous and learned and stuff, I will share my observations with you:

1. Supporting yourself is not as liberating as it sounds

Moving out of your childhood home and into the big bad world is one of the most daunting, yet exhilarating experiences you can have. While you get used to being able to drink milk out of the carton naked (I mean, nothing), there are lots of grownup problems that get in the way. You know electricity? It’s not free. And food? Yeah, it doesn’t magically appear in the fridge. And don’t even get me started on the intricacies of a washing machine.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1d0/54930239/files/2014/12/img_4963.jpg
Source

2. You will probably not marry Johnny Depp

Or, you know, anyone. But you might get lots of cats and everyone loves cats, right?

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1d0/54930239/files/2014/12/img_4964.jpg
Source
For every year Jack doesn’t propose, I get a cat. Clock’s ticking Jack.

3. You also won’t work for NASA

Unless you actually work for NASA. In which case, go you! (she said, begrudgingly.)
When we’re young, we imagine ourselves having the most amazing job: Gibbon-handler,
Squirrel nut-cracker, poet laureate… And then we end up with the most tedious nine to five job imaginable. At least Dolly Parton gets us.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1d0/54930239/files/2014/12/img_4965.gif
Source
Preach sister!

4. You won’t sit around in a cafe all day drinking coffee with your friends

Because your job thingy kinda gets in the way of that. Darn.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1d0/54930239/files/2014/12/img_4966.jpg
Source

5. You will still laugh at immature jokes

I still write ‘BOOBS’ anytime I get near a calculator. And don’t get me started on the word ‘titillating’. *giggle*

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1d0/54930239/files/2014/12/img_4967.jpg
Source

6. It’s still okay to have no idea what you’re doing

Like this guy:

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1d0/54930239/files/2014/12/img_4968.jpg
Source

7. Your parents will still see you as a child

My mother rang me from three hundred kilometres away today to ask me if I had my “good anorak” because the temperature dropped below ten degrees Celsius. She was afraid I would get “the pneumonia”. Bless.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1d0/54930239/files/2014/12/img_4969.jpg
Source

8. Even though you may have attended years of college, no one is going to just hand you a job

I learned this the hard way. Eventually, I just wore a sandwich board saying “will drop pants for job” and hey presto, I’m a teacher.*

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1d0/54930239/files/2014/12/img_4970.jpg
Source

9. You may feel like an adult imposter

I don’t know how the rest of you who are in your twenties feel, but I’m often struck by feelings of inadequacy, doubt and self-consciousness. I assumed by now I would have a lot more confidence in myself, but I still harbour all those fears and apprehensions that I had when I was a teenager. I’m just waiting for some kind of police force to burst through my door and shout “she’s an imposter! She’s not a real adult” and throw me in some kind of hole.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1d0/54930239/files/2014/12/img_4972-0.jpg

10. Even nearing the age of thirty, you won’t have it all figured out

I’m still waiting to feel grown up and settled. I wonder when I’ll get married and have kids.
I wonder when I’ll stop laughing at people falling over. I wonder when I’ll stop getting scared after watching The Shining or when a spider decides to take up residence under my bed. At the moment though, I’m happy that I’ve managed to retain at least some of my childlike innocence. I’m also glad that thinking about the future still excites and terrifies me. And someday, somehow, I will figure out how to use my washing machine properly.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1d0/54930239/files/2014/12/img_4973.jpg
Source

This post was partly inspired by the wonderful Amanda Lyle over at Inside the Life of Moi. Her hilarious and perceptive post about ageing had me literally laughing out loud as I read it. Check it/her out.

Why not tell me about what you learned in your twenties?

*This happened in imagination land, just so we’re clear.

15 thoughts on “10 Things You Learn During Your Twenties

  1. Ruth Chadwick says:

    Strangely, feeling like an imposter continues on periodically, as you age. Having children is a classic imposter moment: there’s an astounding sense of ‘what do we do now? We’re not at all qualified!’ when you take a baby home from hospital. On the flip side, spending time with a 15 year old makes you realise just how much you *do* know as an adult. Try it. It’s fun. : )

    • janeybgood says:

      I am so afraid to have kids! I love my nieces and nephews but I get nervous when I’m on my own with them for too long!
      I teach 13-17 year old and often think that I’m just as immature as they are haha! Thanks for commenting Ruth🙂

  2. amandalyle1986 says:

    Aww! You are too sweet. Thank you for the mention, my dear! I’m glad it inspired you to write such an amazing peice! I totally thought being an adult would be so much different to the reality I have been faced with. And yes! Sitting in a coffee shop, chatting with friends was mostly the image I had in my head. A coffee with friend is a luxury! I’m lucky if I get a luke warm cup of tea! And drinking wine with friends…well, only ever ends with a week long hangover! Cheers to the twenties! *clinks cup* …cup of Hollicks that is! Now wheres my log fire and sheepskin slippers?!

    • janeybgood says:

      Sounds like heaven🙂 I really can’t imagine a time when I feel “grown up” but I’m sure there’s never a moment when you just magically feel lile that.
      I definitely can’t drink like I used to! I get the worst hangovers now😦 first world problems eh?!
      Thanks for commenting Amanda and Merry Christmas!🙂

      • amandalyle1986 says:

        I think the defining moment was when I became a mum…then it was like BAM! You are now an adult! It’s not much fun being an adult, but having children means I can actually act like a big kid again🙂

        Have a very Merry Crimbo🙂 x

    • janeybgood says:

      Geeze, that’s actually quite profound Rob! I never thought of it that way. I did buy the singalong version of Frozen despite not having kids😀 Hope you and family are enjoying the festive season and are feeling better🙂

      • weight2lose2013 says:

        I was going more for pith than profound. Yeth, I said pith. 😀 Thanks, Janey, we’re doing much better now. I hope that you’re feeling better and getting ready to celebrate! ❤

Leave a Reply

