These are a few of my favourite things:

I thought I’d write a post about some of my favourite things and if that seems a little self-indulgent well why don’t you tell me some of your favourite things? And then we can realise that we’re meant to be BFFs and get bracelets. Sounds creepy good, right? Okay, let’s go!

My favourite…

DRINK– Although I know it’s toxic, there’s nothing like an ice cold Coke with a slice of lemon in the summer. I also love coffee. Basically, caffeine. All the caffeine.
Alcohol wise, it just has to have alcohol in it. Okay, my tastes are a little more discerning than that. I love a glass of wine and in the winter, a small glass of Bailey’s Irish Cream. Oh, all the noms!

FOOD– Nope, that’s like asking my mother who her favourite child is…although it’s probably my brother. Now I feel like a giant steak to wipe away my tears.

IMG_4889.JPG
Source

COLOUR– I like neutrals, like beiges, creams and golds.

TV SHOW– My favourite TV shows of all time are The Simpsons, The Sopranos and The Wire. I also loved an Irish drama called Love/Hate. Basically, the grittier and more violent, the better. I may be some kind of sociopath but…let’s move on.

IMG_4890.JPG
Source

WRITER– I have to be super-cliched here and say Shakespeare; I could immerse myself in Shakespeare for days and not look up. I also love JD Salinger, Sebastian Faulks and John Steinbeck. I’ll also never outgrow Roald Dahl. And let’s not forget, it’s a truth universally acknowledged that most people would put Jane Austen on this list, right?

IMG_4891.JPG
Source

POET– W.B. Yeats fo’ life!

SINGER– I love Jeff Buckley. I also could listen to Eva Cassidy sing all day. I have Frank Sinatra on repeat in my car.

SPORT– Rugby! It requires such skill and athleticism; I adore it. Ireland are pretty good at it too. We’re ranked third in the world at the moment. *insert smug face*

COMEDIAN– Bob Newhart. I feel like I am Bob Newhart. Trippy.

IMG_4894-0.JPG
Source

BEAUTY PRODUCT– I love wearing lipstick. It makes me feel all adulty. And then I go and ruin it by using words like “adulty”.

CITY– I can’t say enough nice things about London. When I visited the Tower of London, I may have cried with happiness…which is probably not what Anne Boleyn did when she was there. Awkward.

IMG_4893.JPG
Source

DISNEY FILM– It’s a toss up between Beauty and the Beast (there’s talking crockery for crying out loud) and The Lion King (because Zazu!). I can’t decide. Oh well, time to go and watch them both.

MEMORY– *SUPER CHEESE WARNING!* My first “date” with Jack. We went to a forest a few miles from home. My friends were supposed to drive us home but they left us there (thanks a lot, assfaces) and Jack and I had to walk four miles in the rain. We hadn’t really known each other that well but we talked and talked and of course, fell in love.

CELEBRITY THAT LOOKS LIKE AN ALPACA– Taylor Lautner. Just kidding, I have pretty ambivalent feelings towards him to be honest.

IMG_4895-0.JPG
Source

PLAYSTATION GAME– I’m not a gamer by any means, but I was addicted to Red Dead Redemption. The story was great, the music was so atmospheric and I actually got so involved in the story. Then I was shot by a load of Government Agents. #YOLO!

ARTIST– I am pretty obsessed with Vincent van Gogh. I have lots of prints and books about him. He was such a tortured soul that painted such beautiful images. Don McLean song Vincent is utterly heartbreaking.

IMG_4896.JPG
Source

HOBBY– Astronomy…someday I will be able to afford a proper telescope but for now my binoculars will have to do. There is something so scintillating about spotting a galaxy that is located 2.5 million light years away in the night sky.

IMG_4897-0.JPG
Source

Honourable mentions to:

Owls, candles, wine, teaching, learning, laughing, blogging, Tweeting, pets, kissing, dancing, sight seeing, history, archaeology, writing, cleaning and high-fiving strangers on my way to work.

Tell me about your favourite things!

37 thoughts on “These are a few of my favourite things:

  1. Charlene Spillane says:

    My favourite things…
    Drink – Sparkling Water. I’m so boring. Alcohol wise it would be a nice G&T or glass of red!
    Food – Aubergines. Again, very boring – but soooo delicious.
    Colour – Purple🙂
    TV Show – Currently loving Once Upon A Time! Also, I am probably the only Irish person who has not seen any of Love/Hate!
    Writer – Jane Austen (duh..!) I also love John Steinbeck and Roald Dahl – we could totes be BFFs.
    Poet – Sylvia Plath. Loved her for Leaving Cert, still love her now.
    Singer – I actually prefer music with no words – give me Tchaikovsky over Ed Sheeran any day.
    Sport – Rugby!!!!!
    Beauty Product – Mascara
    City – Utrecht, the Netherlands – my spiritual home!
    Disney Film – The Little Mermaid🙂

    ….. And then I got distracted by something sparkly…

    Alright, where’s my bracelet?🙂

    • janeybgood says:

      I was going to say purple, I love purple nail varnish. And I also love Sylvia Plath, I love teaching her more than any other poet cause the students love her. I was also going to say that I love classical music, I listen to Brahms at night. We do have a lot in common. I’ve just dispatched a messenger pigeon with your bracelet😀

  2. floridaborne says:

    Food and drink: Chocolate
    Color: Green
    TV show: Babylon 5
    Write: Asimov
    Poet: Helen Steiner Rice (Windows of Gold)
    Singer: Barbra Streisand
    Soprt: Figure skating
    Comedian: That’s a hard one. Jeff Foxworth and the Blue collar comedy team.
    Beauty Product: None
    City: I don’t like big cities.
    Disney Film: THe little Mermaid
    Memory: 2 weeks in France and Switzerland with my sister.
    Celebrity: Yuck. A few of them probably SMELL like an alpaca.
    PLAYSTATION? Not.
    ARTIST: Georgia O’Keefe
    HOBBY: Writing a blog

  3. eileen049 says:

    I’m a little brain fuzzy after my day at work today but here goes: chocolate…did I mention chocolate ?? The glass of Merlot I’m drinking right now rocks! Earnest Hemingway. Robert Frost. Maya Angelou.

  4. cheergerm says:

    A lovely photo into your wee cupdity cat soul. Just a few of mine in no particular order. Champagne or sparkling wine and tea, ALL food (except offal, sorry to offend you offal), purple and green, collecting vintage (old) China and kitchenware, Sting, Cinderella, Robin Williams, Dahl and Tolkien and C.S. Lewis, W.H. Auden, Mad Men and Girls and Downton Abbey and True Blood. 😁

    • janeybgood says:

      How could I have forgotton Robin Williams? His death was such a tragedy. I also love Sting! And I was actually reading Funeral Blues by Auden today, it’s so beautiful. I’m drinking tea right now🙂 Your list is lovely but I know from your blog that you have great taste!

  5. Michelle R. Eastman says:

    Okay, I may not be ready for matching bracelets, but we seem to have the same off-kilter sense of taste. I sometimes think I was born in the wrong country; I often relate better to people outside of the US. Perhaps raising myself on PBS gems like the Goddie Goodie Yum Yums and Monte Python contributed to my oddball-ness.
    Your Taylor Lautner observation is spot-on. I love Vincent Van Gogh, and I always cry when listening to Don McClean’s, Vincent. I’d like to make the Ann Boleyn poster into a t-shirt. Lipstick is also on my list of favorites.
    I’ll add bald cats to my list. I’m also fond of bald dogs and hairless rats (Yes, I just said that out loud).
    Thanks again for the laughs on your blog.

    Michelle

    • janeybgood says:

      I do love Monty Python. The Holy Grail is one of my favourite films.
      I cry listening to Vincent too. It’s beautiful.
      I love all animals but I can’t say I’ve ever been drawn to bald ones haha. I do see a certain appeal in the unusual though🙂 All dogs/cats/rats deserve love!
      Thanks for commenting Michelle!

  6. Rachel says:

    Drink- coke is definitely my favourite and because I’m very picky about alcohol I’d choose coke instead any day..vodka just ruins it😀 I do LOVE Malibu and white lemonade though!
    Food-maltesers. Mmmmm…
    Colour: I love bright yellow bc its warm and happy but all my clothes tend to be different shades of blue and green or what I like to call blueish/greenish!😛
    TV- I don’t watch love/hate bc i prefer stuff where they catch the criminals and everyone sorta lives happily ever after😀 so that’d be criminal minds, csi(though lately they’ve been doing stuff that annoys me), the mentalist(my favourite), homeland(my second favourite :-D)
    Writer- just recently, i realised how many of my favourite books from childhood were written by roald Dahl…i still sometimes wish i could have matilda’s eyes if only for one day😉 Currently I’m reading a Kelley Armstrong Otherworld series which I love, but I’ll basically read anything. Even if i don’t like it, i just have this thing where i HAVE to finish it😀
    Poetry- I dont really read poetry but i remember really admiring eavan boland when i did the leaving cert. Sorry, i can’t remember why😛
    Music- I don’t know what I’d do without music!! I can listten to almost anything except Irish folk or American country music. They make me want to bash my head against a wall or something. Dido, Coldplay, Kodaline & radiohead are the ones i never get sick of. I also love love love the piano🙂
    Ok I’ll stop there. Next topic Rachel!
    Sport- not really that interested but if I’m watching rugby i can’t help but get excited when Ireland are winning!
    Comedian: don’t know if this counts but I love damo & Ivor and stewie&Brian from family guy
    Beauty product-normally too lazy to wear any makeup but i do love my dark blue eyeshadow🙂
    City; i love London. All those underground Trains intrigue and scare and I’m not sure why🙂 I’ve been to Paris but the people there aren’t as nice and that’s a big part of it
    Disney film: Cinderella and The lion king..i used to know all the words to the lion king bc I watched it so often. I still watch Cinderella😀
    Memory- when I was younger we used to climb trees and run through fields that we weren’t supposed to be in and then hide so we wouldn’t have to go to bed, only to give up anyway when we got hungry. Those were the days😀
    Playstation game: i love multiplayer games, they’re so much fun. Street fighter is hilarious!
    Artist: I’m gonna say my sister’s best friend. She makes an amazing job of dogs and people, especially those she’s known for a long time.
    Hobby: piano,guitar(kinda shit at that one), and books. Did i say piano?❤
    I'm currently trying to learn a piece by liebestraume❤

    • janeybgood says:

      I am actually amazed at how much we have in common! As in, almost every answer you gave is similar to my own tastes! I don’t like vodka and Coke and I love Malibu and white. I just ate a bag of maltesters. I love Brian from Family Guy. It’s cool that you can play piano, I would love to be able!

      Also, your favourite memory is lovely. I was actually going to write the same. In the summer, my friends and I would be out till dark,running around the field behind our houses and having the best craic. Those were such simple times!

      Thanks so much for commenting🙂

  7. lexborgia says:

    CocaCola(0.5L a month),Yoghurt, carrot cake, olives, women over 5,9, Matrix, crackers, evening wear, dogs that aren’t mine, Bounty, Scottish women over 5,9, The Ginger Man(Donleavey, Charles Daudet, Hitchens, London, Picasso, Football, Doctor Who, Agents of Shield, Black, Oil of Olaz, Irish women over 5,9,

    • janeybgood says:

      I go onto YouTube and spend hours watching Hitchens.
      And I also like tall women, probably not in the same way you do. I fall three inches short of your requirement.
      Also, I can’t abide olives. I want to like them, but I can’t. Although I do like me some carrot cake. Great list.

  8. drowninmelancholy says:

    Drink – A lot. Mostly, I prefer to drink Tea. Almost any kind, especially green and white tea, jasmine and chamomille tea, and herbals like sage and hibiscus, also peppermint❤ When it comes to alcohol, I love Gin Tonic and Cuba Libre, but also just a normal beer🙂
    Food – Lasagne is probably my most favorite dish. In general, I love Italian Food, but also fish and of course Sushi❤
    Colour – I love Red, and at the moment, I have an obsession for black. Purple is also a great color
    TV Show – My most favorite TV Show of all time is probably South Park, together with O.C. California🙂
    Writer – Definitely J.K. Rowling!
    Poet – I am not really that much into poems, so I will name a rapper: Kendrick Lamar!❤
    Singer – Hmmm, quite hard, but I have to opt for Jack White. He is a genius. Atm I also love Jhene Aiko's voice a lot
    Sport – For watching: Football (Soccer), and for doing it myself, probably swimming or dancing🙂
    Beauty Product – Lipstick! I am addicted to it! I feel more conscious with it.
    City – I loved London and I also fell in love with Hamburg
    Disney Film – I can't decide between Poccahontas and Beauty and the Beast
    😀 I love questions like these😀

  9. The Indecisive Eejit says:

    Good list and answers! The thing I loved about Red Dead Redemption was you could ride around (on a horse ya dirty buggers) for hours and you didn’t walk like John Wayne when you got off. There is a silver lining to every cloud I tell ya!

  10. Wordifull Melanie says:

    Hi lady! long time no “see”…sorry. i been mia. I just saw an amazing set of owl pictures that made me think of you…so here is the link http://www.boredpanda.com/owl-photography/

    Now as far as favorite things… forgive me for answering in no particular order…

    Coffee, cats, scrabble, Nightmare before Christmas
    Comedy: Monty Python, Mitch Hedberg, George Carlin
    authors: Dahl, Seuss, Hemingay, Steinbeck, Rand, Poe, Wilde…..
    christmas, rain, animals, babies, the sound of children laughing (i know…cheesy but true), smells: the smell right as it starts raining, freshly cut grass, bread baking, coffee brewing.
    food: chocolate, cheese, cheesecake, hell chocolate cheescake!
    pasta, broccoli, asparagus…+++
    music just about everything (excluding most country and rap though their are exceptions…love some) Simon and Garfunkle, Danzig, Tori Amos, Dio are some of my all time favorites
    Disney: Little Mermaid, Mary Poppins

    I probably skipped a few categories..

    • janeybgood says:

      The owl pictures are fantastic! They are such wonderful creatures, thank you🙂

      What a brilliant list! I also love Poe. I was reading “The Raven” to my students for Halloween.
      Chocolate cheesecake, yum!
      Would you believe I only properly tried asparagus on its own lately (I’d had it in other things) and I loved it.
      I also love the smells you described, maybe bar the rain because it almost never stops here in Ireland🙂
      Thanks for commenting Melanie🙂

  11. ellakw says:

    Loved this post! My favourite things are..

    Drink: Coffee or Orange Juice
    Food: Lasagne
    Colour: Purple
    T.V Show: Sherlock
    Writer: Too many to decide but Charles Dickens, Philip Pullman and Iain Banks
    Poet: John Keats
    Singer: Peter Gabriel
    Sport: To watch, Rugby. To play, Badminton
    Beauty Product: Mascara
    City: London
    Disney Film: Beauty and the Beast or Pocahontas

    • janeybgood says:

      Lasagne seems to be a winner! I also love Peter Gabriel. He has such a soothing voice. I probably should have picked mascara, especially Benefit, because I never go without. We seem to have a lot in common! Thank you for commenting🙂

  12. Writer X says:

    My favourite things;

    Drink – Hot apple basically half a cup of fresh apple juice and half a cup of boiling water.

    Food – Ben and Jerrys. Dont care which flavour, they all taste divine.

    Colour – I dont really have one but bright red, baby blue, navy and black are my usual go-to colours.

    TV Show – Sherlock, Orange is the new black and so many more

    Writer – F.Scott Fitzgerald, Steinbeck is also amazing, John Green, Sylvia Plath

    Poet – Robert Frost

    Singer – Everyone ever

    • janeybgood says:

      Ah yes, F. Scott Fitzgerald is also one of my favourites. You have great taste! And now
      I’m craving Ben and Jerry’s…I love them all too but I could live in Phish Food.

Leave a Reply

