Bad Blogging Tips

Say you want to boost your blog stats, inject your site with a bit of razzle-dazzle, wow every visitor with your gorgeous graphics and perfectly crafted posts… Well, there’s an abundance of blogging advice and tips out there for you to reach for those blogging stars. So hit up Google and say hi to all the cat memes you’ll inevitably meet for me.

But say you want your blog to be rubbish? Not just rubbish, the biggest pile of reconstituted horse faecal matter this side of the Seine. Well friends, as the author of a blog that is so spectacularly disorganised that it makes a person on an episode of Hoarders look like Sheldon Cooper, I feel it would be prudent to dispense the bad blogging tips. Because it’s boring being perfect all the time.

So here it is guys, my top tips to achieve blogging mediocrity:

1. Have no schedule, whatsoever

Sure, you could have a blogging routine and schedule posts for say, once or twice a week…or you could just post whenever you damn well please. *picture me slugging beer and smoking cigars…and coughing because cigars are awful.*
Seriously, why make blogging a chore? Just write whenever the mood (or owl meme) strikes. It’s what I do and we all know I’ve made a huge success of my life. *awkward silence*

IMG_4572.JPG
Source

2. Get lazy and just post pictures of hungover owls

People like owls.

IMG_4573.JPG
Source

See?

3. Don’t bother editing your posts

Peple wil stll kno wht u meen.

IMG_4574.PNG
Source

4. Forget what you were talking about halfway through a post so just post a picture of a cat…

IMG_4576.JPG
Source

5. Post while highly intoxicated*

LET’S GO STREEEEEEAKING!!

IMG_4577.GIF
Source

6. Have absolutely no blog niche

Honestly, I still have no idea what category my blog fits into. I haven’t made a concerted effort to attain a defined niche. Instead, I post whatever my brain decides is a good idea. You may have noticed my brain likes owls, cats, weirdness, awkwardness, memes and my boyfriend.

IMG_4578.JPG
Source

Do you have any bad blogging tips?

*I’m not intoxicated right now. It’s a school night and my cat needs a responsible role model.

48 thoughts on “Bad Blogging Tips

  1. alfredsalmanac says:

    Who needs a niche ?? Boring. I like your style and my blog is totally full of rubbish. Keep up the good work โ˜บ๏ธ

    • janeybgood says:

      I’ve been running on empty for some time now so yeah, my blog is like a dedication to cats. Your life is a lot more interesting than mine though Evie, I don’t think you’ve to resort to cats just yet๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿ˜€

  2. cheergerm says:

    Awkward silence. I LOVED this post. I think I can have a recipe blog and blend it with my half-crazed ramblings and segues that don’t often segue except anywhere in the deep, dark recesses of my brain. I am there with that puppy in the last photo. Who needs a niche anyhoo!!

  3. Running Betty says:

    I love your “bad” and totally random blog! My bad blogging tip, one I use quite often, is writing about a bunch of unrelated topics all within ONE post, while making no attempt to tie everything together. I have a 9-5, no way I want blogging to feel like work too!!

  4. The Hashtag Generation says:

    I think I have a niche, but I have trouble sticking to it. ugh. I also have trouble sticking to a schedule. double ugh.

    Also, I beg to differ regarding pictures of owls. Those can only make a blog better. As can the Aristocat meme.

  5. Julie the Workaholic says:

    Niche? Schedule? WTH, woman? I don’t know what those things are!๐Ÿ˜‰

    Seriously, I think my niche is randomness…There is so much fun stuff to blog about 9 months out of the year, who really WANTS to limit themselves to one subject? I want ALL the subjects! And the other three months? Well, let’s just say, “Wow…I was out by the pool and in the garden” can only be reworked a couple of time over the course of a summer, before it gets old, ha ha. Oh…yeah…because the title of my blog actually starts with the word Random…I think it’s working, LOL…

    So, yeah….probably need to get back to work before they catch me…๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. motherhendiaries says:

    … Change themes and then have to edit 126 posts because new theme does not include feature photos… Yes. I have done it, and am pleased to say my 236 views last Wednesday have dwindled to a mere 35 today. Way to suck at blogging, I say. I hope you’re taking notes… ๐Ÿ˜•

Leave a Reply

