Why so not serious?

When I was told I had epilepsy, one of my closest friends was quite upset.
“How do you think I feel?” I asked her one evening, “if I collapse at a strobe light party, people will just assume I’m pop and locking.”

20140805-190347-68627811.jpg
Source
An epileptic seizure is only about twenty percent as fun

She rolled her eyes. “Do you ever take anything seriously?”

I considered her question. I take some things seriously. Like choosing pizza toppings. (If you are one of those people who thinks pineapple is an acceptable choice for a pizza topping then I’m sorry, we can’t be friends anymore.) Or what kind of head dress my dogs should wear on Christmas Day (I usually go with reindeer antlers, but elf hat is always a contender).

Of course I am serious sometimes. It’s not like I show up to funerals dressed as a court jester…anymore. I even have a bonafide serious face. Sometimes I wear a monocle.

20140805-195224-71544503.jpg
Source
My serious face has slightly less feathers. And also, OWL!

The thing is, I have always turned to humour even in the most difficult of times. I don’t mean to be insensitive or inappropriate, but I find that having a sense of humour in difficult situations is one of my best coping mechanisms. I mean sure, I could cry my eyes out, eat my own weight in cookie dough and wallow in self pity and Blue Nun OR I could cry my eyes, eat my own weight in cookie dough, wallow in self pity and Blue Nun and laugh about it afterwards. I try not to take life too seriously because being Kim Jong Un does not look like much fun (except for the bouffant which he totally rocks).

I know some people could accuse me of being immature. I say, I know you are but what am I? And also, we get one shot at this whole life malarkey. Why not spend it laughing and making inappropriate poo jokes? Or getting drunk and riding roller coasters? (Aside: that’s probably not the best idea. You may end up getting vomit in your hair and crying on the shoulder of a stranger. Or something.)
There are so many fun things to do. There are so many silly things to say. There are so many ways to smile. And all of these are a lot more fun than stressing out. There’s nothing more attractive to me than a person who is self deprecating. I love someone who can make mistakes and then laugh at themselves, or someone who is okay with not being perfect.

So, you can either scoff at my post and resent my futile attempt at making you smile or you can come throw water balloons at my grumpy neighbours with me. Your call.

35 thoughts on “Why so not serious?

  1. motherhendiaries says:

    Aaah… Janey is Back! How we have missed you.I am also a big believer in laughter as the Best medicines though I have say, I could have used a dose or 2 of Janey-branded self-deprecation Last week. Last week pretty much rotted and I am surprised you didn’t smell it all the way in Cork. Left with no real options for happiness, I was forced to take a beach holiday to Devon. It was either that or cookie dough.

    • janeybgood says:

      Mother Heeen! *bounds towards you like a labrador*
      Aw no😦 I don’t like to hear that. I hope all is okay? I must catch up with so much!
      Your holiday looked beautiful🙂 I was in London last week, it was fab. Like you, I needed the break. It’s good that we both share a similar positive outlook.

      • motherhendiaries says:

        All is okay now, darling girl… It will all come out in a blog post soon, once I can see the funny side of it all… Or once I’ve had enough Blue Nun. Whichever comes first. In banking on the nun, frankly. It will be a slurry post involving our new electric car. I told hubby we should have just settled for that steam mop… Bwahaha!

      • janeybgood says:

        It sounds…intriguing🙂 It does take time to see the funny side, but I’m a form believer that there is always some tiny bit of humour to be derived from almost any situation. After a respectable amount of time, of course.
        Blue nun should be a great cure. And chocolate. Lots of chocolate. I have not been able to stop eating Mars ice creams, they are too amazing.

  2. deepbluesandseafoamgreens says:

    MISSED YOU!❤ How's one of the best teachers in the world been doing🙂
    I think you're brill just the way you are – and it's admirable to be able to approach things in such a…now what's the word? In a manner whereby YOU always end up on top.
    Proud of you. You are AMAZINGERBURGER!

    • janeybgood says:

      Aw what a lovely comment Z, thank you! *does happy dance*
      I’ve really missed blogging and of course the lovely community that comes with it🙂 I must catch up with you all. I hope you’re enjoying the holidays and being as lazy as I am😀

  3. eileen049 says:

    Thanks for the laugh …needed it today (work was crap). And pineapple on pizza? Yuck – my husband always wants to get pineapple and well I’m usually pretty laid back, but I have to put my foot down on that. No pineapple on pizza ever!!

    • janeybgood says:

      Sorry about work but glad I helped🙂 I can’t abide by it! It has no place, NO PLACE, on a pizza. I dislike it in general anyway. It horrifies me.

      Hope all is good Eileen🙂

  4. Running Betty says:

    I love your awesome Janey attitude!!!! I agree with you 100%, especially when dealing with situations you have no control over, humor is the best option! All though a monocle is very serious business! (I would love to see a picture of you wearing one! Haha) I’ll be right there to help throw water balloons at your grumpy neighbors!😉

    • janeybgood says:

      Thank you Betty! (I do love your name, there is something so elegantly vintage about it. I’m obsessed with the 40s).
      I really must acquire a monocle, and if I do I will post pics🙂
      My neighbours are so grumpy that they completely ignore me so I have a lot of fun with it. I usually greet them in the morning:
      “Good morning! Lovely day, isn’t it?”
      *no reply*
      “Great chat. Same time tomorrow?”
      Haha, seriously, I get nothing!

  5. LAMarcom says:

    I have gotten myself into trouble so many, many, many times for ‘never being serious’.
    Ya know what? I really don’t even try to be serious anymore. Just not my nature. There is no such thing in my world as ‘inappropriate’–in any situation.

    I was vindicated in this one day, wayyyy back in 1971 when my step sister was getting married to the Mormon Church (and I suppose to a Mormon as well).

    Anyway, Her big brother was in from The Nam for the wedding (I guess he was on leave from the USMC).

    The church was stifling hot and everyone was miserable. My step mother (who used to work for Jack Ruby–‘nother story), remarked, “Why don’t they open the Goddamn windows?”

    Tommy (my USMC step – brother) said without missing cadence and probably a little too loudly,

    “They’re afraid God will get out.”

    • janeybgood says:

      Hahaha, great story! Tommy sounds like my kinda guy🙂
      It is very important to me that my friends have a sense of humour. I find it really hard to get along with someone who is very serious. I know most people have some sense of humour, but it’s at least 76% of my personality (the rest is a mix of animal lover and wine drinker).

      Thanks for sharing that awesome tale!

  6. designandrea says:

    let them complain. and keep living your life you deem best. Honestly, do they expect you to live in fear of “the next episode”? I love your outlook on this. Keep being awesome🙂

  7. weight2lose2013 says:

    I have similar coping mechanisms, which sometimes have me saying silly things at the most inappropriate times. My wife cringes. If you don’t mind, stay as you are and I prefer to throw water balloons at your grumpy neighbors. 🙂

Leave a Reply

