My face gets me into trouble

I attract weirdos. It’s true. If you happen to like me, it doesn’t mean you’re weird, just that…er, okay…you’re weird. Sorry.

Maybe it’s some kind of radar I give off, like “hey weirdos, come talk to me about owls and taxidermy because I’m weird tooooo!”. And usually, it’s okay and I don’t mind. I like people and I like having random chats with strangers. There are times, however, when I just do not want to make idle small talk, know peoples’ most intimate secrets or be hit on by guys who get sick on my shoes (yes, that happened).

Jack says that people radiate towards me because of my face. He says I have a kind of wide-eyed innocence and friendliness that people probably find approachable. I’m not bragging about that, I actually didn’t want to hear that. It makes me sound gullible; the kind of schmuck that lights up the eyes of charity muggers on the street. I knew that there had to be something though. A few years ago, a perfect stranger walked down to length of a bus to ask me to reassure her mother, who was on the phone, that she was okay and the bus had not swerved off a cliff (long story). I asked my sister, who was sitting on the outside seat and looks far more responsible than I do, why on earth the girl chose me.
“It’s probably your face,” she murmured, in an annoying nonchalant manner. WHY DO PEOPLE KEEP SAYING THIS?!

20140707-214850-78530099.jpg
Source
I’m pretty sure this is what people see when they look at my face

My sister wouldn’t explain what she meant by that, but it wasn’t the first or the last time that I have heard that. Would you like to hear about the other times my face got me into trouble? Of course you would.

The time I attracted a for realsies stalker

So I’m out at a pub about five years ago, doing my thing (you know, dancing awkwardly and making bad life decisions) when this girl just came up and started enthusiastically dancing with me. Normally, I love this kind of thing. Come, grind with me, let’s make bad life decisions togethaaaar! But there was something about this chick. Firstly, I’m pretty sure she had vomit in her hair. Secondly, she was wearing what appeared to be two different shoes. She also appeared to be alone and was laughing at her own reflection in a mirror behind the bar. After we finished dancing, I tipped my invisible hat to her and went outside for a cigarette (I’ve since quit).
As I was lighting up, BAM, there she was. She just appeared out of nowhere, or a cloud of smoke or something. She just stood about a foot from my face, just smiling. Before I could say “Okay, take my kidney, just take iiittt!” she was blubbering. She screeched something along the lines of:
“myboyfriendjustleftmeandmygoldfishdiedandIkilledmyfavoutitehouseplantandDonnyWalhbergwon’treplytomyfanmail…”

Then she just (and I promise this is true) fell into my arms. While I awkwardly patted her back,
I felt compelled to ask her one kinda important question.
“Erm, I don’t want to appear insensitive here, but….do I know you?”
She looked up at me with a mascara stained face while I looked around waiting for Ashton Kutcher and his stupid hat to jump out from behind a beer keg. Didn’t happen.
“No…I just…you seem…nice…”
Please don’t wipe your nose on my dress and get your face outta my breasts…
“Do I?”
“I think it’s-”
“My face? It’s my face, isn’t it?”
“Yes.”
“Damn it.”

And as I sat avoiding eye contact and trying to dodge physical contact with, er,…Alison? Jenny? Christina?…I shook my fist in anger at whoever is responsible for my overly-approachable face. Curse you, genetics.

I’m going to end the story there, partially because I want to and partially on the advice of my solicitor but let’s just say, she found me on Facebook and tried to steal my life. DAMMIT, FACE.

20140707-215354-78834397.jpg
Source

The time I made a guy cry

Guys, I’m going to tell you a little secret. ACTUALLY IT’S A FRIGGIN’ HUGE SECRET. Sorry, I got a little excited there. You’ve probably wondered why girls go to the bathroom in groups, and if you haven’t then great for you with your relevant musings *rolls eyes*
Girls go to the bathroom together for many reasons: to talk about you, to whore up their faces some more, to actually go to the bathroom (rarely) and to take bathroom selfies (standard). But we also go together because the alternative is being left alone in a bar where guys pretty much lock onto you the instant your friends disappear. I learned this the hard way.

This encounter starts off pretty standard. Guy comes over and engages in pretty awkward small talk. I remain polite and wonder when I should mention that I have a boyfriend without coming across like a total cow. I hate the idea of embarrassing anyone, or leading some poor guy on, but this guy is a trier.

“Your dress is nice.”
“Oh, thank you. It’s actually my friend’s. She’ll be out in a minute.”
“You have nice eyes.”
“Oh, my boyfriend says that too. Thanks.”
There you go, I managed to drop it into conversation. Man, I’m subtle as hell. I nod back at myself, smiling smugly.
“I bet I could write a song about your eyes.”
WHAT?
“What?” Wait, dude, I just mentioned my boyfriend. Give it up, man.“Er, yeah…my boyfriend is a singer.” No, he’s not.
“How could anyone leave you sitting here alone?”
“My boyfriend’s favourite film is “Home Alone”.” Janey, can you even hear yourself?!
“Some girls look so bitchy when they’re sitting alone. It’s like they’re holding up a sign reading ‘do not approach’.” Darn, I should’ve thought of that.
“And you just don’t look like that…”
DAMN IT, FACE! Next thing I know, he’s leaning in with his lips puckered.
“Oh no, no. Er, sorry. I…I have a boyfriend. Sorry.”
“But…you said..-”
“-that I have a boyfriend. About three times. Hey, I’m sorry. Look, there’s plenty of single girls around. I could be like your wingman. Goose. Whatever.”
“Cougar was the wingman.”
“Oh.”
There’s an awkward silence.
“I’m sorry for trying to kiss you.”
Oh no. No, no NOOO. He’s crying. He’s actually crying. I can’t deal with men crying. I can’t deal with *anyone* crying..
“Hey. Woah. Erm….it’s okay…”
“You just seemed friendly. You were smiling…”
Was I?
“You just have a friendly-”
“-face.”
“Right.”

Dammit face.

20140707-215804-79084257.jpg
Source
Where’s Oprah with ice cream when you need her?!

The time(s) Jack doesn’t take me seriously.

“Jack, I’m so mad at you.”
“No, you’re not.”
“Yes, I am.”
“But look at your face. That’s not the face of someone who is mad.”
“This is my mad face.”
“No, that’s your happy face.”
“YOU LOST MY USB!”
“Then why aren’t you mad at me?”
“I AM MAD AT YOU!”

DAMMIT FAAAAACE!

Tell me about your face.

30 thoughts on “My face gets me into trouble

    • janeybgood says:

      Did you write it on tear-stained paper?
      Let me guess: there’s a deep well in the house and skin suits? And you have a dog called precious?

      I’m just kidding, we know I’m the weirdo here.

  1. Cheryl says:

    Another great post Janey. Sorry I have been out a lot lately but we have company down for a visit and well, after two 2 1/2 hour trips to the San Jose airport and another coming up in a few days when it is bye bye time, I have been SO out of reading and writing mode. Try to stay out of trouble now, ok? And, hey…could you do something about that FACE? I mean it’s just so…so…approachable. lol It’s a great face kiddo!

    • janeybgood says:

      Aw, you sound crazy busy! I have missed you! I thought about you the other day when poor ole Costa Rica were defeated😦
      Ha, I must work on my mean face. >:-/ there we go haha!

  2. eileen049 says:

    Oh noooo!! I’m drawn to your blog. I’m weird!!! (There is no doubt in my mind that I am🙂 I loved this – too funny.

  3. TvKapherr, CatsattheBar & BackHomeinBromont says:

    I’ll tell you about my face. My ears stick out, i have one eyebrow, I have unmanageable facial hair…and well, my tongue is too big. All you have to do is look at my picture!

  4. weight2lose2013 says:

    My wife thinks I have a big nose, but my dog makes fun of me because he thinks my nose is small. Family life is hard. I’ve never made a woman cry at a bar, but I did get one very upset with me. I wouldn’t dance with her and she had taken my keys and dropped them down her shirt. I wasn’t about to retrieve them and she finally relented while I was hailing a cab.

  5. motherhendiaries says:

    Really made me laugh!! I feel your pain – I have “the face” too. A magnet for salesmen, stalkers and weirdos of all varieties. My husband is the ultimate closed book. How I envy him. I guess my face says – “Hi there! That’s awesome – I’m weird too! Let’s talk about weird things together! Need a ride? SURE! To temporarily take custody of your screaming and vomiting infant? WHY NOT? Me to cosign a loan? ABSOLUTELY! You can trust me… I judge no one!” Just take that scenario and exchange the responses for the diametric opposites and you have my other half. He is awesome. Weirdos approach, up go the shields, they back slowly away, turn and run in a zigzag motion… He’s a proper Obi Wan and The Force is With Him. Me? I’m Jar Jar Binks all over the place. “Me-saa soooo friendly!” Grrrrr. Evil friendly face….

    • janeybgood says:

      Haha, MH, you never fail to make me laugh. Is it your face? I think it’s your smile. You just look so darn friendly, like we could just go skipping in the countryside.
      I get people over trusting me too! To the point that I’ve actively tried to make my face look more aggressive, but I just look like some kind of chipmunk.
      My other half manages to ward off weirdos too. It’s definitely his eyebrows, they make him look owl-like (which is probably why I like him so much).
      Hahahaha at the Jar Jar Binks reference. Laughed out loud!

  6. Helen says:

    I have one of those faces. Old people especially seem to love me. Apparently I look “nice”. My boyfriend manages to radiate “leave me alone” vibes to everyone, except when I’m with him, then we’re like magnets for all sorts of weirdos!

    • janeybgood says:

      Old people also love me. It’s great in one way, but not so great in doctor’s waiting rooms.
      It should be more fun being a weirdo magnet, shouldn’t it? But it’s not.
      It’s really not.

    • janeybgood says:

      I was just thinking that! I remember that post. We would make the happiest looking duo ever; like Bert and Ernie. Actually, the skinnier one (Bert?) didn’t look very happy come to think of it.

Leave a Reply

