Not the post I had intended, but…

So I had this post all written up and ready to go. And it disappeared.
It was about independence, there was pictures of Beyoncé and sea otters and me singing (with words…trust me, you would have sung along). AND IT’S GONE.

Needless to say, I was pissed. While my posts aren’t exactly top quality (you know I write them on my phone, while intermittently playing Candy Crush, drinking coffee/wine and throwing papers at my cat) and I won’t exactly be winning Pulitzer Prizes anytime soon (but wouldn’t that be SO COOL?!), I still love this blog and I love writing up my weird and random posts. Perhaps it’s revenge for being so blasé about it all. Boo, WordPress, boo.

So instead, I’ve just decided to throw together some of the thoughts that have run through my head today and maybe you can tell me what you’ve been thinking about and then we can have internet cake? Got it? Good.

1. I did a Luis Suarez impression for Jack but he thought I was impersonating Bette Midler. Typical.

20140628-183454-66894838.jpg
Source

2. Jack handed me a giant bread roll filled with chicken while I was watching TV and I was holding it like I imagine Hamlet held Yorick’s skull, wondering whether the 45 minutes on the cross trainer would be worth it, because carbs.
One of my former students happened to walk past my window, with a look of “why the hell is she staring at her food like that…oh yeah, because she’s weird.”

20140628-184003-67203349.jpg
Source

3. Girls really can be crazy. I met a guy in a bar about a month ago who was also a teacher. He happens to be a friend of a friend. We talked about our jobs, and I talked to him about my boyfriend. Literally, all we did was talk about our work (he’s also an English and history teacher).
Our mutual friend called me today to tell me that his girlfriend had been watching us and went insane and they had a massive fight that lasted weeks. I felt bad for about ten seconds, and then realised that it was completely innocent and she’s just cray cray. Maybe I should stop wearing hoochie lipstick?

20140628-185944-68384201.jpg
Apparently these are the lips that will ruin your life…

4. I am one step closer to becoming BFFs with Chris O’ Dowd because my boyfriend and his Dad are friendly (they’re even Facebook friends). I keep asking when it will become acceptable to show up at their house with a six pack and apple pie.

20140628-190247-68567841.jpg
Source
SOOOOONNNN

5. I love my nieces. I spent a RIDICULOUS amount of money on them today and now I’m poor, but hey, who needs clothes? AMIRIGHT?

6. Jack thought “polo necks” were actually called “polar necks” and I realised that kinda makes sense.

20140628-190830-68910238.jpg
Source

7. We have a drink in Ireland called Cidona and it’s amazing.

20140628-191543-69343865.jpg
Source
I want it on me.

8. My other friend rang me wanting to know if she could put up pictures from a few years back of me on Facebook. I’m pole dancing upside down.
So no.
She did send me this picture, taken when I was 18 on her brick phone (it was huuuuge). Don’t I look like a moody cow? And I really miss that Rolling Stones top.

20140628-192418-69858582.jpg

9. Squirrels are basically land beavers. Swans are basically posh ducks.

20140628-191941-69581083.jpg
Source
Look at him there, the snob.

10. I had to get my driving licence renewed and the guy processing my application thought I was crazy. After I got my picture taken (it was the WORST picture of me taken EVER. In fact, it might just be the worst picture taken EVER) all I could think of was this pic:

20140628-192713-70033048.jpg
Source
I literally burst out laughing in the guy’s face. And I couldn’t stop. I just couldn’t. He looked really confused.

So that was my day today.
Tell me about yours!

P.S. Here’s the picture of the sea otters because I love you guys.

20140628-193021-70221945.jpg
Source

57 thoughts on “Not the post I had intended, but…

  1. dweezer19 says:

    Okay Janey, firsta nd foremost, when you become BFF’s with Chris O’Dowd, I am SO moving in with you cuz I nearly afint every time he opens his mouth to speak. I have watched Bridesmaids too many times just to hear him. Okay, slaps herslef back into reality.
    2) that last photos is SO my hubby and me. Who’d have guessed we were really otters? Sometimes we behave like angry beavers. Lol.
    3) did your post disappear AFTER you published it? If son, mine does that a LOT. I can be heard cursing way down in Panama when it happens, about every third posting. Then I have to go abck to drafts, pull it up and mend the missing parts to repost. It should be in your drafts.
    Anyway, I think all things happen for some reason and I just live what you did anyway! Nice 18 year old you BTW. Great pouty face. :))

    • janeybgood says:

      He’s from the town I live in.
      It’s funny, because most of the teachers that I worked with has taught him in school and they just didn’t seem too fazed by the whole Hollywood thing.

      Ha, I love the otter photo. It is adorable! Yay for otters!

      The post disappeared before I published it. I saved it, came back and it was gone 😦 I don’t know how. It’s the most annoying thing though.

      Thanks for your comment. I think 18 year old me looks like a right moody thing! Haha!

  2. motherhendiaries says:

    Oh, Janey! Do funny that I was looking at the SAME Bette
    Midler pic only today! *cue Twilight Zone theme* plus I HAVE THAT LIP COLOUR! Not even kidding. It is dangerous. I have men carrying my groceries to the car and pumping my petrol when I wear it. No wonder she went ballistic. The power is in the colour. Don’t try to fight it. Embrace your Inner femme fatale… FAB post!

  3. tvkapherr (Cats at the Bar) says:

    Geez, my day sounds boring compared to yours. Drank coffee, went to the hardware store to buy a new cotter pin for my tractor. Did a couple of posts and now of to mow the lawn. But I have oodles of CATS! They’ll come up with something. 🙂

  4. The Hashtag Generation says:

    Noooo, don’t get rid of that lipstick! The color looks marvelous on you. #becauseyoureworthit

    I’ve always imagined that swans are quite snooty since they are indeed posh ducks. The black markings around their eyes makes them look like they applied too much eyeliner and are headed to a high-fashion photo shoot – but they are really hungry, so they might steal your sandwich from your hand while they hurry past you.

    • janeybgood says:

      Aw thank you 🙂 I think it’s Kate Moss lipstick but I can’t remember.

      Okay, that was just great. Now whenever I see a swan, I will remember that. And I’ll imagine them strutting their stuff on a catwalk. Or swanwalk.

  5. weight2lose2013 says:

    Does your cat hate paper now? I love that brick photo of you. 🙂 Ah, the joy of candid photography. 😉 For the record, Janey, your posts are always top quality. Don’t change what you’re doing, it’s working. 🙂

    • janeybgood says:

      My cat hates everything haha!

      I know, it actually wasn’t a posed photo. I was that moody.

      And thank you Rob, I really enjoy your blog and you’re a great guy!

      • weight2lose2013 says:

        I love to see old photos of people that I know. It adds a bit of evolutionary perspective into their persona. 😉 I feel the same about you and your blog, Janey. Thanks for your support!

  6. Lisa Macy Coaching says:

    I’m with Rob, don’t change a thing! I always love your posts! And otters are precious! That was my “awwww” moment of the day, so now I’m smiling, which is not something I do a lot right now. 🙂

    • janeybgood says:

      Aw thank you! 🙂 and now I’m smiling- infectious!

      I hope you’re doing ok 😦 I know you’re going through a tough time, but I know your strength with pull you through it.

      • Lisa Macy Coaching says:

        Thank you, I’m doing ok. Just taking it one day at a time, trying to come to terms with everything….I’ve had a lot to keep my mind busy this last week, so that’s a good thing. We moved to my hubby’s next job, so it takes me a while to get reorganized and such.

      • janeybgood says:

        That’s the best you can do.
        That sounds stressful. I moved this year too and it was tough, but it’ll just take a little readjustment.

      • Lisa Macy Coaching says:

        We sometimes move multiple times a year, so it can be a bit crazy sometimes. It’s a really neat way to see the country though. We usually like it best when we’re in an area long term. At least this time we’re within a few hours of our families so we’re happy about that.

      • Lisa Macy Coaching says:

        We’ve been doing this since 2006. We are starting to have a love/hate relationship with it. ha If we could make a living in one place, we’d settle again, but we’ve not found a job that we can be in one place and do that yet. I guess it’ll happen when it’s supposed to. 🙂

      • janeybgood says:

        It will. We are the same. We have moved several times in the last few years and it has been very stressful. But I have the same mindset, we will settle at some stage.

  7. Niall McArdle says:

    Cidona! Jesus. Having a serious flashback to all kinds of bizarre drinks from my youth – I no longer refer to them as ‘minerals’. I’d been living in Canada for years before I finally had a Dr Pepper, which for some reason you hear a lot about. i finally had one and thought ‘oh, what’s the big deal? It’s TK Raspberry.’ 🙂 Keep up the great blogging; jeepers, woman, you have a lot of awards.

    • janeybgood says:

      I adore Cidona. Although I had a fear of it for years because Dad told me that it was whiskey and I didn’t want to get drunk. TK is amazing. I know I’m being quite hyperbolic about minerals here, but I love them 🙂
      You’re lucky to be in such a beautiful country. I haven’t been to Canada but I have relative in Edmonton and their photos are always gorgeous. You’d probably miss the odd bag of tayto though.
      And thanks! I must go through your blog in more detail tomorrow. I’m bed bound so I’ll look forward to it.

      • Niall McArdle says:

        funny; i used to live in south korea too. it’s weird the things you crave when you’re there. there was no western food of any description where we were. I lived 2 hours from the nearest mcdonalds; whenever anyone was going there we’d put an order in: cold big mac and fries, disgusting as it was, was food of the gods.

      • janeybgood says:

        I’ve heard that. She used to love breakfast rolls when she came home. The first thing she’d do at the airport would be buy dairy milks and minerals. It’s gas what you’d miss!
        Although I’d say South Korean cuisine is pretty nice too.

  8. Julie the Workaholic says:

    Ok, so this was a June 28 post, and ordinarily I wouldn’t be able to rewind my brain to go back that far, but hey…sand back and be amazed! What was on my mind?

    It was two days prior to my birthday, and I had planned a 4 day weekend, because I am special like that, LOL…But as my (dental) luck would have it, I was having horrible problems with a temp crown and figured I could save a vacation day and be miserable at work and get paid for it, so it was a three day weekend, because I opted out of the office for my birthday. I digress. That day, the 28th, my husband’s nephew was in town so he and his girlfriend came for a swim and a visit and I pretty much spent all day in our room, watching movies and cursing my tooth. I finally came out for the last hour or so of their visit, poured a tall vodka tonic and apologized in advance if I said anything stupid or said nothing at all. I figured the VT would help with the pain in my mouth, as opposed to the narcotics that make me violently ill (because nothing is as fun as vomiting when your lower jaw feels like it’s been smacked with a shovel). I tried to stay caught up with the conversation, but my mind was all over the place, thinking about what soft food was I going to eat that evening, as soup had pretty much been played out, wondering if I could hit the pool and not offend them, and then wool-gathering about my upcoming birthday dinner that most assuredly wasn’t going to be grilled porterhouse steak and corn on the cob.

    Not bad for an old lady, huh? LMAO!

Leave a Reply

