10 Things I’ve Noticed About Blogging

There is no way I am in a position to give blogging tips (I use my phone to blog and have often written posts upside down for the love of Pete!) but there are certain things I have noticed about blogging and WordPress since I began nearly a year ago. Things that have made me happy, sad, irritated, confused, amused, emotional…basically, all the feelings a woman experiences in a ten minute time frame.

I decided to compile a list of the most obvious things I’ve noticed about this wonderful blogging world of ours:

1. WordPress is a really nice place

I have never met anyone here who has been unkind to me. I have never received a nasty comment either…which is a shame in a way because I have some killer comebacks.

“I’m sorry, I can’t hear you over all my awesomeness.”

“You’re pretty arrogant for someone whose wearing a tutu. At least, in my imagination you’re wearing one.”

20140618-200656-72416761.jpg
Source

2. Some of you guys are reeeeally talented

Did I say some? Because I meant all. *Backs slowly out of room*

But really, some of you guys are so talented that I get really intimidated, panic and then post pictures of owls.

20140618-200940-72580146.jpg
Source
Luckily, this owl thinks I’m *hilaaarious*

3. Sometimes people magically like my posts without actually reading them

Because my posts are JUST THAT AMAZING! You don’t even have to read them. You just know.
I could actually write the word “badger” over and over here and I bet I would still get likes.
I know most of you do read my posts (right, RIGHT?) so I’ll continue.

20140618-201535-72935985.jpg
Source
Hey, ever notice badgers look like a mixture of a dog and a pig? I’m cool, I swear.

4. It gets hard to keep up with everyone’s blogs…

…but you guys are worth it. Especially you. And on a completely unrelated side note, here’s a picture of Kurt Cobain dressed as a cheerleader because…why not?

20140618-201959-73199476.jpg
Source

5. You can get alone just fine with someone whose opinions you don’t entirely agree with

Firstly, I’m not going to tell you how long it took me to spell opinions correctly there. Let’s just say, I was so
off that even autocorrect didn’t know what the heck I was saying….

Anyway, I have a lot of followers/people I follow whose opinions on certain topics don’t necessarily correlate with my own (oh sure brain, you can spell correlate but not opinion?) and I still get on fine and dandy with them. Why? Because if you’re fundamentally a good person, with an open mind, I will be your friend. Especially if you like owls (this is getting owl of hand…har har har).
On a completely unrelated note, this:

20140618-202934-73774796.jpg
Source

6. It’s probably not advisable to get hammered and get post happy

…not that I’d know *awkward face*

20140618-203411-74051194.jpg
Source

7. Accidentally deleting a draft is the most infuriating thing ever

I can’t even talk about this, let’s just say:

20140618-203809-74289828.jpg
Source

8. Getting a new follower feels like:

20140618-204049-74449472.jpg
Source

Er, I mean (be cool Jane…) it’s more like…

20140618-204350-74630936.jpg
Source
Who am I kidding? It’s the first one. I love you guys.

9. Sometimes comments go to spam which means I don’t reply

This makes me sad.

20140618-204750-74870109.jpg
Source
Okay, so this picture is totally not appropriate for what I’m trying to say but…Ryan Gosling

10. Your comments are my favourite thing in the world and make me feel like…

20140618-205119-75079295.jpg
Source

Wait, your comments make me feel like I’ve just participated in a laborious yet ingenious prison break after I’ve been falsely accused of my wife and her lover’s murder and I’m standing topless in the rain?
Makes sense.

What have you noticed about blogging since you began?

74 thoughts on “10 Things I’ve Noticed About Blogging

  1. Chatter Master says:

    I was going to write a post a couple of weeks ago about how I had seven “views” but somehow I managed to have 13 “likes”. Curses of the Reader thingy. I read the whole thing because I liked it. You gave me laugh. I like laugh. Thank you. 🙂

  2. LAMarcom says:

    I completely agree with you about WP having nice folks. I have strong opinions about many things and I never hesitate to express them. Even though lots of my readers disagree, I have never had even one ‘flame’ comment. (But then I have only been blogging since late January)
    * wink *
    I wrote a similar post about folks instantly ‘liking’ a post. And I do mean ‘instantly’. Like within seconds. And I am talking about posts that would take a bona-fide speed reader no less than five or ten minutes to read.
    * heavy sigh *

    But I do appreciate the ‘likes’ and of course the followers. But what I appreciate the most are the readers, and the commenters have a special place reserved in my heart.

    I have made this pledge on one of my posts, and I repeat it here:

    If I ‘like’ your post, know darn well I read that sucker.
    That is just how I roll.

    Cheers,
    -Lance

  3. tisfortea says:

    So true! I always think to myself that I’m so lucky that everyone on here is so lovely and supportive of everyone else – it makes posting a pleasure! Including yourself of course🙂

  4. motherhendiaries says:

    Pass the teapot! Love this post – classic Janey!!! Yes – the ‘instant’ like 1.3 seconds after _posting a 4 minute read…hmmmmm…. Something smells like a fishing expedition. Still, it comes with the territory and I always try to revisit. It is usually newbies ( like I’m not – ha!). They’ll learn. The reader skews stats big time. The point is, don’t worry about starts to much! Write what we love, and if by some chance ANYONE like what we do, that’s fantabulous!!! I feel of I’m patient, an audience will follow… But Janey, you the bomberoo, kid! WE LOVE YOU! Plus OWLS! And Ryan Gosling…. And Elf. Just saying. Oh, and karaoke… We’ll always have that, even after you get Freshly Pressed….

    • janeybgood says:

      You’re right, I try not to care about stats but I guess deep down, all of us are glad to have a following. Or not so deep down😀
      The important thing is to stay true to what we are, and yes, the followers will come because people appreciate honesty and authenticity.

      Ryan Gosling, dressed as an elf, holding an owl…nope, does nothing for me haha! Man, we are random and I love it.

      Hahaha, I will NEVER get Freshly Pressed. I was actually drafting a post on the reasons why I won’t but did this instead. My blog is far too silly and I don’t mind🙂 I’m not changing it! But thank you, and yours is brilliant. I love it.

      We’ll always have karaoke.

  5. dweezer19 says:

    Okay Janey, you had me at owl and my mind and body went numb with a shirtless (no less) Ryan Gosling. Clever girl. 😉you are amazing, talented, funny, charming and a complete wreck at times which is why I love you so! Never change. Unless you need to. Then you will just be a morphed, improved version of amazing. And I always tell the truth.

  6. morgantheperson says:

    Ermagherd those pictures describing the comments and followers feels = SO. ACCURATE. Today, I was in a bad mood, and then saw that I had 2 comments and new followers and then boom, I was happy. Blogging: like drugs, but slightly less debilitating. Okay, equally as debilitating…

    • janeybgood says:

      Ah, congrats! It is a wonderful feeling🙂 when someone takes the time out of their day to comment, I just wanna hug them but societal norms and or distance means I can’t and that would be creepy.

  7. TheShitShowThatIsMyLife says:

    1. Sometimes I just like posts for their titles, it’s like… Liking a status on Facebook without actually clicking on the link about human rights, I’m just happy someone is writing about it.

    2. You stole my (the internets) photo from my post this is me winning. You stupid bitch.

    3. Now you have a mean comment and I await your comeback.

  8. lifeofmissb says:

    Love this post. Love your blog. As someone who frequently jumps up onto the soapbox to give my opinion (mentally high-fiving myself for getting opinion right first go) I love that everyone is super nice🙂

      • lexborgia says:

        As long as you saved it at least once, it will be in the thrash until finally deleted.
        Lesley doesn’t know if your posts are bad or good, that’s the point – she’ll be back. At least she’s become a legend on WP, that’s some accomplishment.

      • janeybgood says:

        I was so naive when I began blogging because I genuinely got excited when I saw the likes of Lesley liking my posts but yeah, now I know that I’m nothing special *sobs into cornflakes*

  9. weight2lose2013 says:

    I’ve always wondered about getting likes without page views! lol I’ve also received positive feedback on some of my songs without any clicks on my blog. Oh well, the mystery of WordPress. BTW, the owl looks like a feathered version of Jaba the Hutt. 🙂

  10. V says:

    Earlier on in the week I had a person whose blog I’ve been following since my birth on WP come over and like three of my posts, one after another, in the space of less than one minute. In that moment I cried but I also suddenly and fervently hated this individual. Seriously, whatever about speed-reading through a post and giving it a little like, but do you have to make it so frickin’ obvious? Funny thing is, I’ve encountered plenty of people on WP who do this and believe it’s just good networking.

    I’ve decided that I will have my revenge by not liking any of this individual’s future posts. I’ll still read them though, because they’re usually really good posts. I am bad at revenge.

    This is why I love comments. If someone takes the time to read and post their thoughts on what you’ve written, it’s an amazingly satisfying feeling.

    WP is, on the whole, a very kind and generous community. We’re in a bubble here; a very supportive, protective bubble. I never want to leave the bubble. Let’s stay in the bubble…



    *whispers* foreeeeever.

    • janeybgood says:

      The exact same thing happened to me. I really admired this blogger, whose posts are quite popular and funny. We may even be talking about the same person. Most posts I had until that point in time (maybe twenty) were likes in a two minute period. While I understand that very popular bloggers are very busy and have a lot of followers to keep happy, it’s just disingenuous. Also, pretty proud of myself for using that word in a sentence haha.

      Like, look at you now. You get lots of comments yet you find the time to do this. It’s brilliant and it means a lot. *fist bumps you*

      The bubble is good. Does the bubble have wine? Then I’m never leaving.

      *whispers* neveeeeeeeerr

      • V says:

        Disingenuous. I got so much love for that word. High-five for usage!

        Also, *fist-bump*, you have great interaction too. And in so little time, too. You’ve created a great blog with great followers. Be proud of yourself young lady.

        I get to call you young lady because I’m older than you! But you can call me young lady, too, if you like. When I hit 30 I all of a sudden stopped minding that phrase.

        Bubble has wine. And cheese and crackers and pringles with lots of yummy dips.

      • janeybgood says:

        I’m so happy that people actually read my stuff (and with excellent English like that, is it really a surprise?).

        Thank you ma’am. I get to call you that. Okay, not really. You can be something cool like “night hawk” if you like.

        Now I just want Pringles. Is it acceptable to get Pringles for a match that I don’t really care about? Meh, I’m getting Pringles.

      • V says:

        NIGHT HAWK! Do you want to be Rock Lobster?

        It’s always a good and acceptable time for Pringles. I had them for dinner one day last week! I regret nothing!

      • janeybgood says:

        Rock lobster rules…it could be because I like rocks, or my rock star lifestyle (I am not currently wearing a onesie and eating hula hoops).

        I actually love Pringles with sour cream dip but I have all the chest pains even thinking about it.

  11. reocochran says:

    I don’t mind people liking my post, it makes me feel good and to be perfectly honest, then I can like them back, enjoy their thoughts but not need to reply. Isn’t that lazy of me? Smiles, Robin

    • janeybgood says:

      Ha, not really🙂 I do it too. But I always make sure to read the post. Sometimes I can’t think of anything necessarily clever to say, or I may have nothing to add, so I don’t comment. I always appreciate likes though🙂 And comments. You guys are the best!

  12. Mrs. Ipockolypse says:

    I cam across your blog via weight2lose2013. I think I am going to like you. I just started blogging in the last couple months and I can relate to a lot of what you said. I love how friendly wordpress is🙂

  13. Wordifull Melanie says:

    Wait, you mean…I’m expected to actually READ all this? LOL

    I hate that too…i get lots of followers who have never commented or even liked and then i get the likes from people that obviously don’t read… oh well the stats to me because of that are irrelevant.

    The ones that matter…are those few special souls who read and comment. And for those, (like you) I have nothing but love🙂 oh and assorted snacks and beverages. LOL gotta stock the bubble!

  14. fkorb says:

    I have noticed some bloggers get thousands of followers and hundreds of likes, but say nothing worthwhile. While I try to reach out (to artists asks educators) and get a little bit of “likes” and follows. Better a little worthwhile than a lot of worthless.

    • janeybgood says:

      Very very true. I love the people who engage with me on my blog, and I always reply to comments. If I had thousands of them, that would be impossible. I prefer that my followers are engaged, and that I’m giving them quality content.

Leave a Reply

