I’m Just Not That Into This Film

So, I’m sitting watching He’s Just Not That Into You and my blood is probably approaching a temperature that would melt titanium. The thing about me is I don’t really get offended by things easily. This, however (insert manic laugh) this film is a whole clusterf**k of offensive. Unless of course, you agree that virtually ALL women are insanely insecure, desperate, obsessed with marriage and commitment or they are trashy home wrecking slappers and deluded when it comes to reading “the signs”.

Take the character played by Ginnifer Goodwin. She’s the hopelessly pathetic and desperate first dater, oblivious to the signs that a never ending stream of guys are just not that into her. And why wouldn’t they be? It’s not like the stench of stalker and dead rabbit from all the bunnies she has boiled is off-putting.

20140614-230423-83063795.jpg
Babe, I just saw a girl’s name in your phone. Tell me this, who’s “Mom”?

I’m sure this character is supposed to be likeable but her constant cluelessness and delusional behaviour is just plain irritating. I don’t mean to cause offence to anyone here (because, let’s face it, we’ve all been the more heavily invested one in a relationship/fling) but it’s very hard to have sympathy for someone who just keeps making the same mistake. I know that the filmmakers were attempting to convey a “relatable” problem here. But instead, they have thrown together a lazy and stereotypical representation of women that is offensive and inaccurate. Of course, there are women like this but by making this character the primary focus of the film, you are suggesting that this is advice that most single women need or at least, can relate to. Why, oh why, do these ridiculous “chick flicks” always feature these needy and emotionally fragile women? Women, whose sole focus in life is to find a man and pin him down or use trickery to trap him into marriage.

There are numerous other characters in this ensemble cast led piece of crap. There’s Jennifer Anniston’s character who is pressuring her long-term partner to marry her. There’s Scarlett Johannson, who is having an affair with a married man. There’s Jennifer Connolly (wife of said married man), who, get this, blames herself for her husband’s affair and even though I’m pretty sure we’re also meant to like her, she comes across as very highly strung and intense, because we all know that women just can’t be cool.

Of course, men don’t come across as wholly angelic in this film either but at least they are portrayed as having a semblance of rationality. I’m also aware that this film is not exactly going to be studied in any university sociology courses any time soon. Perhaps I’m getting a little bit uptight (hey, maybe they could give me a part in a sequel) about what’s basically the film equivalent of candy floss. I just take issue with these stereotypes being promulgated, especially since this was also a book. A BOOK.

I would by no means refer to myself as a feminist, but this film just got my back up from start to finish. And yes, I watched it the whole way through because I was silently wishing Danny Trejo would burst in, wielding his machete and taking names in some sort of bizarre yet hilarious Hollywood crossover. It didn’t happen.

20140614-233401-84841905.jpg

I’m sure there are plenty of women out there who loved this film. And I’m not suggesting these women are crazy, but these women are crazy.

I’ve just realised that I have ranted about women in film before, but am I alone in thinking that women are horrendously misrepresented in mainstream media? Our fictional counterparts have so much more to give than being relegated to portraying simpering and insecure damsels in distress.

It’s okay to have man problems, it’s not okay to being solely defined by these problems.

Picture credits:
1,2

38 thoughts on “I’m Just Not That Into This Film

  1. motherhendiaries says:

    First of, I must admit to not having seen this particular chick flick – Jennifer Aniston on the big screen telegraphs’LAME’ on my over imaginative psyche, but I digress… So it’s a comedy and hyperbole is always fun. But I get you, Janey. I appreciate how grating this stereotyping is (I did say J.A. films were lame, right??). My guess is that it was written by a man.
    *consulting the Google sphynx*
    Oh, guess what? It was – with some contribution from another Sex and the City writer (a “woman”). SATC and J.A. should have warned you to steer clear. Anybody up for some Big Bang Theory?

  2. anupturnedsoul says:

    Excellent rant! Hilarious and awe-inspiring! And extra bravo points for weaving Danny Trejo into it πŸ˜€

    I saw this film ages ago, can’t remember a thing about it. It’s the sort of film I watch when I decide to try one of the ones I usually ignore on Netflix and Lovefilm because I’m feeling a bit brain-dead.

    There are some quirky (sort of) chick flicks out there. It’s best to go Indie (mumblecore always gives intriguing takes on relationships) rather than mainstream to avoid a parade of cliches and the same recycled plot. You might enjoy – The Pill (2011) – which was funny. Frances Ha (2012) or Damsels in Distress (2011) with the lovely Greta Gerwig being charmingly awkward. Committed (2000) this one surprised me because I expected it to be awful, instead it was offbeat and fun.

    What about Kill Bill, that’s a chick flick, right? πŸ˜‰

    • janeybgood says:

      Ooh, thanks for the suggestions! I’m always stuck for good indie films πŸ˜€ I just love when you see and a film that you can relate to on a personal level. Most of the time, I end up angry, just like tonight haha.

      I actually love Kill Bill. It’s up there as one of my favourites and Uma Thurman is fantastic. I’m in the mood for bloody vengeance now πŸ™‚ And I love the soundtrack.

  3. insanitybytes22 says:

    “And I’m not suggesting these women are crazy, but these women are crazy.”

    Hey, I resemble that remark πŸ™‚

    I hear you, nothing drives me crazier then insipid-pathetic-angst-ridden-women in film. I mean come on, girls are crazy enough, there’s no reason to completely exaggerate.

    • janeybgood says:

      Ha, exactly. I do acknowledge that women can be…quirky, but this film was just unflattering and offensive in every sense of the word.

      And crazy isn’t a bad thing, right? πŸ™‚

  4. reocochran says:

    My youngest daughter and I loved “The Other Woman!!” The best female comedy in a long time, the whole audience was laughing! Cameron Diaz and Leslie Mann were great and a part where Leslie’s ranting would be right up your alley! Smiles and fun wishes sent your way!

  5. tvkapherr (Cats at the Bar) says:

    Ok, firstly you need a sensor. I don’t mean your blog, I mean someone to say. DON’T LOOK AT DREK FILMS. Why would an intelligent woman like yourself, (giving you the benefit of the doubt) waste your time on a film that was just plain bad? From the script, to the direction, to the acting, to the second Grip’s assistant it reeked of paralyzing stupidity. (Now that’s a rant.)
    All you can do now is take 2 Alpacas and go to bed.
    So next time your tempted to watch a schlock film, call me and I’ll take you down. πŸ˜‰
    P.S. Your rant was beautiful!

    • janeybgood says:

      Haha, I suppose deep down I watch these movies so that I can indulge myself with these mega rants. I’m a glutton for punishment.

      Now that I think of it (and on a completely different topic) what’s the difference between a llama and an alpaca? I’m going to have to consult google.

      Your description of the movie made me laugh. Your rants are not so bad either πŸ˜€

  6. lovefromtara says:

    I totally agree! Although, the book isn’t a book per say – there is no storyline etc., it’s basically a bunch of scenarios/letters and the author’s explaining what to do/why he’s just not that into you i.e. the married guy, the guy who’s cheating, the girl who calls after a first date etc. I think the movie is supposed to be the scenario’s from the book, except it’s totally awful.

    • janeybgood says:

      I remember the book came free with a newspaper I bought and all I could think was “well this isn’t a good sign.” I suppose the book was aiming to “tell it like it is”, much like the film “The Ugly Truth” but it’s the underlying premise of these texts that I find offensive; the suggestion that tricking guys into relationships is our main priority. My main priority right now is whether to drink a glass of red or white wine and whether it’s acceptable to wear a onesie past midday.

      And yes, I totally agree, the book was awful! πŸ™‚

  7. designandrea says:

    Gosh that movie was a pain to go through. Seriously, I thought her character wasn’t relatable at all! I do think Jennifer Connely portrays women’s guilt beautifully though, if not a tad exaggerated with the contractor ( forgot his name), but don’t we ( and yes, generalizing) usually try to find something wrong we did when your partner cheats, flirts, etc? now Ginnifer was just forceful and extremely insulting (though I must say I’ve met people like her before).

    • janeybgood says:

      You’re right about Jennifer Connolly, although I did think there was an underlying suggestion that he cheated because she was cold and quite controlling (the smoking) and a stereotypical “nagging wife”. I do think she acted very well, to be fair to her.

      And yes, Ginnifer Goodwin’s character was certainly the most irritating. These women do certainly exist, but whoever decided to place her as the main focus of the film needs to be kicked in the shin. Thanks for commenting πŸ™‚

    • janeybgood says:

      Rantingly- I love it πŸ˜€

      I do like her also. I thought she was great in Walk the Line, even if it was a small part. And she’s very pretty. This was just not a good role.

  8. girlseule says:

    I haven’t seen it and by the sounds of it I’m not missing much. They couldn’t have even found room for one strong female character? They had to make them all desperate and neurotic?

    • janeybgood says:

      I was trying to think of one female character that isn’t even mildly offensive and it would be really tough to pick one.
      Jennifer Aniston’s character isn’t so bad, but her boyfriend is portrayed as being the calm, caring measured one so she kind of comes off looking bad (and Ben Affleck looks HOT).

      But yeah, don’t waste your time seeing this. You’d be better off having kids throw tennis balls at you for two hours….I don’t know either.

  9. Lisa Macy Coaching says:

    I knew there was a reason I hadn’t ever wanted to see this movie, thanks for sealing that decision! A llama and an alpaca are kin, but an alpaca is much smaller……like a mini me. hahaha

  10. TheShitShowThatIsMyLife says:

    Alright, so perhaps you won’t be too surprised, but I actually do think most women are pathetic, insane, emotional cray crays. I really think lots of them are desperate for marriage (like all these characters) and are trying to get a man there. I hate the wife the most: she’s so desperate to “be married” that she doesn’t even really care that he’s cheating. Not enough to ruin her status symbol. So here’s the thing:

    It’s not that this movie is a bad representation of women, because women are really like this (not all). But why? Because the world of media and otherwise still tells women they NEED a man or their lives will fail. I believe this movie portrays a problem of the world, not so much that it’s a problem in itself.

    In fairness the idea of feminism has for so long been connected to the idea of whiny women who don’t actually want equality. Another giant problem, also caused by society. Movies won’t stop showcasing these women until they stop acting like it, and I don’t know if society will ever let that happen, at least not for a long time.

    • janeybgood says:

      I don’t disagree with you at all. I just felt that the stereotypes were exaggerated. I don’t know any individual woman as bad as these characters. You are right though, it does go back to the media and to societal expectations. And chick flicks, man I hate chick flicks. And don’t get me started on chick lit.

      I guess the demand for this shit is still there. And yeah, while women continue to buy into all of these, it will continue. You know what? I blame Disney. They portrayed these completely unrealistic relationships and women just obsessed over them. Not every man is Prince Charming. In fact, no man is…because who even is he? We are constantly searching for the ideal man without actually knowing what the ideal man is. We are full of contradictions.

Leave a Reply

