Eleven years with my boyfriend

On Sunday, Jack and I will be together eleven years. ELEVEN YEARS. That’s a whole Justin Bieber.

People often ask me “how do you do it?” and I say “well, it’s simple really. He just puts his thingy in my-” Oh, you mean how has our relationship lasted so long and neither of us has been murdered yet? Well, I guess there’s a number of reasons for that.

We get each other

Jack knows me like no one else. He knows that there’s no point talking to me in the morning because I can’t process anything beyond monosyllables. He knows that if an animal in a film dies I will mourn for it like I would a member of my family. He knows that I like plenty of milk in my tea and that I think octopuses are cool.

20140516-170140.jpg
Source

We compromise

20140516-163610.jpg
Source

We make fun of each other

If I fell over, I’m pretty sure Jack would point and laugh at me before he’d help me to get up. Nice.

20140516-170537.jpg
Source
Aside: Look at the widdle fwuzzy kitty!

We have a lot in common

We both totally think that Steven Seagal would probably defeat Superman in a fight because Steven Seagal.

20140516-164042.jpg
Source

We have fun

Sometimes we have dance offs to decide who makes the dinner.

20140516-165822.jpg
Source

We take out our frustrations with each other on GTA V characters

20140516-170734.jpg
Source

We have romantic nights in

Watching Cops and eating Doritos is romantic, right?

20140516-171037.jpg
Source

So thank you Jack. Thank you for putting up with my ridiculous and zany ways. And for getting the cat.

18 thoughts on “Eleven years with my boyfriend

  1. weight2lose2013 says:

    Happy Anniversary, Janey! Sounds like you and Jack are two peas in a pod! I was in a greek restaurant when I read the caption on the coat hook and almost lost it. I love it! 🙂 I’ll have to see if my coat hooks are as intoxicated as that one.

  2. truckerturningwrite says:

    Well done on eleven yrs Janey. I just had to comment when I saw the photo of Ricky Gervais (spelled correct?)
    His office dance, in fact his whole character was brill. Great comedy. Cheers for memory.

    • janeybgood says:

      Thanks! I loved the Office. I have a very tenuous link to it. My second cousin was in an episode. I remember her telling me about it before it had ever aired. The premise of the show sounded so strange to me at the time haha!

      • truckerturningwrite says:

        wow! It was my brother (an accountant back then) who told about this great show. He was used to working in an office environment. He said that it was so real the way some characters made a big deal if you used their rubber (eraser) etc.
        I was a motor mechanic back then and it took me an episode or two before i got it. But once i did…boy o boy…it was funny. Sorry for clogging the comment box. Great stuff.

      • janeybgood says:

        I was the same. I watched the episode with my cousin in it (the secretary who David hits with a football) and while I thought it was funny, I just didn’t get it initially. It’s now one of my favourite shows ever.

  3. reocochran says:

    These are all great ideas for making relationships last! I love the #11 anniversary, seems like you are over the top of the hill, looking down at those first ten in smiles and laughter. My favorite Ricky Gervaise movie is with Jennifer Garner in “The Invention of Lying.” It was so fine and also, like this post, lessons on how to make couples work out! (Tell a few fibs, along the way, and laugh a lot!) Congrats!

  4. deepbluesandseafoamgreens says:

    AWWW I love you guys so much!❤
    PLEASE. RULE. THE. WORLD. *let the online shopping for crowns begin*
    *cough cough NOT EBAY..errrrr maybe there's some in Debenhams?*

  5. The Shapeless Truth says:

    Congrats on the huge 11! I’m literally like, in awe. I wanna be you! No but seriously: I love the memes and 11 years.. Dude, you two outlived the wine my Gramps couldn’t keep locked up.

Leave a Reply

