If it’s your birthday, we might be twins

I’m twenty seven today. If you had asked me ten years ago what I thought I would be like at this age, I would’ve said that I probably would be married with kids and fully mature. Like a fine wine. Whatever the hell that is.

Instead, I’m not married, I don’t have kids and I’m still afraid of clowns. I also bought scented crayons today.

Okay, so I’m not the most mature twenty seven year old, but so what? Today, I am celebrating my inner child. Here are some of her favourite activities:

>Making beards out of bubble bath and pretending she’s an Ancient Greek philosopher.

>Prank phone calling Jack. Is your refrigerator running? *laughs at own genius*

>Making up songs about vegetables on her guitar that she can’t play. All together now “parsnips are just pale carrots, doo dah, doo dah…”

>Being terrified of clowns. I feel like one is behind me. Is there one behind me?

>Dressing her cat up as Sherlock Holmes.

>Buying scented crayons and not sharing them with her students because they’re all hers and nobody else’s.

>Crying inside (and let’s face it, outside) when someone yells at her.

>Choosing to watch Up with my geography class instead of An Inconvenient Truth. I’ll tell you what’s inconvenient Al Gore; your voice.

>Having lots of secret stuffed animals like The Notorious P.I.G., Hooty, Chairman Meow, Teddy Roosevelt, etc.

>Singing along to the Spice Girls in my car. “Yo, I’ll tell ya what I want, what I really really want…” Brilliant.

>Doing the grocery shopping and buying completely unnecessary items. Wait, is play dough unnecessary?

So here’s to being twenty seven and still having no idea what I’m doing. Huzzah.

And I still have these conversations with my mother:

20140514-212052.jpg
Source

35 thoughts on “If it’s your birthday, we might be twins

  1. deepbluesandseafoamgreens says:

    Happy Birthday!!! *big smile* you’re a May baby!🙂
    And we love your inner child! Hope all is well; remember, we love you Jane!🙂❤

  2. girlseule says:

    Happy birthday, I’m nearly 32 and my inner child is still pretty much running the show. Hope you have a wonderful birthday. PS I cry when people yell at me too!

  3. reocochran says:

    Happy Birthday to you and hope this year is exciting and a new adventure for you! My youngest daughter is 28 and a half years old, so I think of you as being just a sweet, young thing! Smiles, Robin (okay a little sassy, too!)

  4. insanitybytes22 says:

    Happy birthday to you!

    We are twins and I am 27, too!…..Wait, maybe not. Okay scratch that. In fact, it’s not even my birthday. I think I’ll continue to be 27 though, if you don’t mind.

    One of the lovely things about getting older, you discover you don’t have to grow up after all. I was quite surprised to learn this. Long story, but beware the 80 year olds. Some of them have gotten so clever at misbehaving, they put younger people to shame.

    • janeybgood says:

      I would like to stay 27 forever. Or eleven. Whichever haha.
      And you’re right, my grandmother was one of the funniest people I ever knew. She was one fun lady.

  5. Trent Lewin says:

    Gravity sucks, dude. And I love the Up over Al Gore piece; I wonder if Al has ever seen that movie? Anyway, wanted to ask: are you sure you’re not actually an ancient Greek philosopher?

  6. Running Betty says:

    Happy birthday! I hope you enjoy expressing your inner child with bubble beards and your scented crayons (those sound like so much fun by the way)! I am still a big kid and happy with the idea that I may never grow up! Haha

  7. Lisa Macy Coaching says:

    Happy 27th Janey! Sorry I’m a day late! I hope that it was the best birthday yet! I love that you express your inner child and have fun! I too would love to see your cat dressed up like Sherlock! haha And I am not a clown fan either. They’re just creepy…..🙂 I hope that all your birthday wishes and dreams come true! XOXO

  8. anupturnedsoul says:

    I’m late, I’m late, for a very important date….

    Lá breithe shona duit! (hope that says what I think it says, can’t always trust the internet :O)

    Happy Birthday! Best wishes and many blessings for your personal New Year!

    *Thinking to myself – Ah, 27… I can just about vaguely sort of not really remember what it felt like… so glad I’m in my utterly irresponsible 4T’s and I’m over the serious hill where you think you have to be ‘grown up’ and that such a thing is possible for a human being… nose-snort laugh emitting confetti through the nostrils on the out-breath!

    Have a weird and wonderful birthday year!

    • janeybgood says:

      Thank you! And that Irish is perfect🙂
      I used to be in a rush to grow up and now I wish it would kind of stop. I would like to think that by my forties I will be completely mature but who am I kidding?! Haha! Thank you for a lovely birthday message😀

  9. Wordifull Melanie says:

    Happy belated birthday🙂

    Some things that must be said
    1- I’m… eleven years older than you and would still keep the crayons.
    2- I’m also afraid of clowns…I mean come on!! Clowns are creepy x10.
    3- I have ( a few) stuffed animals…including a stuffed fish named P.A.L. (Peter Alexander Longfish)
    4- Playdough is never unnecessary… and if you have a need for a bunch it is easy to make at home🙂

      • Wordifull Melanie says:

        Ok you asked for it…I’m giving you options.

        Best recipe I’ve tried for really smooth playdough (little more work…cause there is cooking involved…but not hard)

        The first two you can seperate into little batches and make different colors🙂

        Ingredients:

        1 cup flour
        1/2 cup salt
        1 cup water
        1 Tablespoon oil
        2 teaspoons cream of tartar
        Food coloring by drops

        Directions:

        1. Combine all ingredients in a pan and stir. Cook over low heat, stirring until a ball forms.

        2. Add food coloring and mix thoroughly until desired color.

        3. Cool on foil. Store in covered container.

        ***Quick/No Cook Playdough
        Ingredients:

        1 cup salt
        1 1/2 cup flour
        1/2 cup water
        2 Tablespoons oil
        A few drops of food coloring

        Directions:

        1. Mix all ingredients very well and store in plastic bag or covered jar.

        3rd option
        ***Edible Playdough…really fun with little kids they can play then eat a snack …decorate with raisens, m and m’s, cheerios…whatever

        Ingredients:

        18 oz. peanut butter
        6 Tablespoons honey
        Nonfat dry milk

        Directions:

        1. Mix all ingredients with enough nonfat dry milk to form into a workable dough.

      • janeybgood says:

        This is the best birthday present ever! EVER. Haha, next week I’m on holidays and I know what I’ll be doing. And edible play dough? You should be winning Nobel prizes for that! Haha, thank you Melanie!

Leave a Reply

