20140507-222821.jpg

May Challenge and other stuff

Wow. Frankly I’m just going to have an awed silence for a moment at how creative that title is.

Moving on. The awesomely awesome (I’m just on a roll) Lisa Macy came up with a great idea. Basically, she posted a blog where she asked other bloggers to join her in a May challenge where you could choose to pursue a goal for the month of May, preferably health-oriented. The original post is here.

There are a number of bloggers taking up some great challenges. I decided that I was going to give up caffeine. Because I am generally a pretty strong willed person (except when it come to chocolate, I would love some chocolate, HAVE YOU GOT CHOCOLATE?!) I thought that this would be a breeze.

Man. Was I wrong. It’s only been a few days and well, this happened:

20140507-221151.jpg
Source

On the first day, I didn’t really feel anything (possibly because my body was all like “haha, good one Jane. Look, I’m not going to unleash any withdrawal symptoms because we both know you’re going to be flooding me in sweet sweet caffeine any minute”). By the second day, I started to get headaches. My concentration was terrible (I actually gave a student eleven out of ten in an exam. I’m no Pythagoras but I’m sure that’s impossible). By then, my body was saying “listen here lady, you’ve basically been running on caffeine for ten years now. You gotta give me the goods. JUST HOOK IT TO ME VEINS!”

But I haven’t given in. I will not give in. As much as I would adore a redbullamericanoespressocola right now, I’m doing this. I am doing this.
I’ve been drinking cranberry tea at work. My colleagues basically hear me whisper to my cup everyday: “you’re not worthy. You’re not real tea. You’re an IMPOSTER!”

Maybe I’ll take up smoking.

I’M KIDDING!

P.S. As I knew I would because I have a bad brain, I forgot to mention some people in my super-cool rap. I’m actually so nervous that someday I will win an Oscar and totally forget to thank Meryl Streep and she won’t invite me to her after party. Ugh.
But really, I’m sorry to the people I didn’t mention (there’s a few of you). Look at it this way, at least you didn’t once try to grill an egg. Because neither did I. Ever. In a George Foreman. Shut up Jane.

27 thoughts on “May Challenge and other stuff

  1. minniex says:

    That’s cool, the other day I decided to challenge myself in May too. And I know exactly what you are going through with leaving caffeine. More than a year ago, I decided to stop drinking coffee because if I skipped a day, I would have very strong headaches and feel weak all day long. But it was normal because I had been drinking coffee every single day since I have memory, so when I stopped drinking it it was HORRIBLE. But it goes away after a few weeks, and then you are FREE. Good luck.

    • janeybgood says:

      You’re right. I know I just have to power through but it’s been so difficult. I’m so tired all the time, and grouchy. It just shows how addicted to it I am. I am actually totally dependent on it! I did give it up years ago but it’s worse now. You did really well, congrats!

  2. weight2lose2013 says:

    I can’t quit coffee. Even for a month. Even with that cat threatening me at the top of this page. Then again, that cat looks really pissed off. I take everything back.

  3. Julie the Workaholic says:

    There shall be no removal of coffee or alcohol for me. Ever. I am, however, supposed to be lifting 3x weekly, but that isn’t panning out, given the re-emergence or yard work needing to be done… I saw something the other day: There is a time and a place for Decaff: Never, and in the trash.😉

  4. Sarah Kirkland says:

    Good luck to you! You’re doing great so far, I had to give up cola and green tea recently and know it’s really hard, especially trying to figure out what to drink instead, since water only goes so far. I found drinking something fizzy at lunch really helped.

    • janeybgood says:

      Thanks for the advice🙂 Cola was a huge weakness for me. I love it. I’ve had 7 up instead today, which still isn’t great but I’m sure it’s better for me.

  5. Wordifull Melanie says:

    Hi hun…first of all you are insane, Drink the coffee. Really noone wants to be around you with no caffiene, THINK OF THE CHILDREN FOR GOSH SAKE! 😀

    Second of all…reread the above.

Leave a Reply

