If you met me in person…

Do you ever wonder what it would be like to meet another blogger in “real” life?

I know I give off quite the weird vibe on here, but if you were to meet me in real life….actually, I’d give off a weird vibe there too.

Here’s what you would probably think about me:

1. Her accent is funny
My accent ranges from a mild Irish lilt to a full on crazy incomprehensible Cork accent when I’m angry. Think Tom Cruise in Far and Away. Yeah, it’s nothing like that.

20140505-160545.jpg
Source
2. She’s actually kinda shy at first
Don’t worry, I wouldn’t just run into the room yelling

20140505-151856.jpg
Source
because that would be creepy. I’m more of a “release the creepy slowly” kinda gal.

3. But wait, she is hugging me. And asking me to do karaoke and dance fight with her.
Don’t worry, that just means I’m highly intoxicated. In which case, WATCH OUT.

4. She plays with her hair a lot
This is my worst habit. I just can’t stop. It really takes away the poignancy of “Dulce et Decorum Est” when I’m reading it and twirling my hair.

5. For an English teacher, she uses a lot of incorrect grammar in conversation

What I would write:
I met Mary at the weekend. She asked my how my mother is so I responded that my mother is doing well. In fact, I told her, she’s great.

What I would say:
I ran into Mary at the weekend. She says “how’s yer mudder?” so I goes “she’s grand like. She’s feckin’ great even.”

Don’t hate me.

6. She laughs at her own jokes

I can’t help it if I’m hilarious.

7. Why is she wearing owl jewellery?

Because owls are f**king amazing. Duh.

8. We were talking about the Ukrainian Crisis and she just blurted out that her cat can do handstands

Er, sometimes my mind…goes other places. Weird places.

20140505-154219.jpg
Source

9. Her Al Pacino impression is off the hook, yo!

20140505-154630.jpg
Source

I don’t know how I figured out I can do this but the important thing is, I can.

10. She says “aaam” constantly. STOP SAYING AM!

I guess this is the Irish various of “um”, but because of my accent, I drag it out and it sounds awful. I say it in every sentence.
When I was training to be a teacher I had to video record one of my classes and show it to my class in college. Hearing myself say “am” 995 times* in a thirty minute period was excruciating. As was tripping over a student’s bag and trying to pretend it didn’t happen.

*sometimes I like to put random asterisks in my posts for no reason. I’m totally joking, I put it there because 995 times is a slight exaggeration. It was more like 980, tops.

Now that you have practically met me, tell me what I would notice about you?

P.S. I also have an annoying slight lisp and a tattoo but no one cares about that.

49 thoughts on “If you met me in person…

  1. weight2lose2013 says:

    IF? Julie was talking about a big party at your local pub that we were going to crash. BTW, you really need to work on your Pacino look. It doesn’t even resemble him. 😉

  2. insanitybytes22 says:

    Too cute! If I met you in person, I probably would not be able to understand a word you said. We talk funny here, too. I have a son who’s 23 now. I haven’t understood a word he’s said in 12 years. We are the masters of the run on sentence, except we take it step farther and transform it all into one word. I speak the darn language, but my husband still has to hand signals and grunts to make himself understood.

    • janeybgood says:

      I can just imagine us signing like crazy to each other haha. Accents are a funny thing. I read everything you guys write in my thick Irish accent, but of course it would be very different if we were conversing!

  3. anupturnedsoul says:

    No. That’s the answer to the first question. Because I like the mystery of knowing bloggers without knowing them. Of glimpsing an inner world which probably stays hidden inside when you meet them in person. Although I do sometimes wonder if the people I see in the street are someone I follow on social media. It’s an amusing thought. Each person we see has a whole unknown world going on inside and outside of them.

    I hadn’t noticed the ‘weird vibe’ you give off on here. That’s rather telling. Hmmm. I say Hmmm a lot and not just in my posts.

    My guess is that if we met in person I’d win the weird competition (not that it’s a competition, but if it is I’d win).

    I’d think you are lovely, which I already do and meeting you would confirm it. You, on the other hand, would probably think I’m thinking something else about you and it would make you nervous. I invariably make people nervous with my physical presence. I tend to stare without blinking often enough, and I have rather intense eyes. I’ve tried mitigating the effect, which usually makes people even more nervous. It does depend on how long you’re exposed to me though 😉

    And my accent will have you guessing where I’m from. Some people think I’m Scandinavian, others think I’m Antipodean, some think I’m American, and others know I’m from another planet.

    What about you, what would happen if you met the blogger version of you?

    • janeybgood says:

      Maybe I’m just weird in my own head haha.

      I have met people from multiple backgrounds, with multiple personalities, disabilities, attitudes, cultures and opinions and I have to say, I never judge too harshly. I try to be as kind as possible, while also being genuine. If someone is rude I will have an issue, but we’ll say you do have “intense” eyes, it really wouldn’t bother me 🙂 I realise everyone takes some time to get to know so I never judge on first impressions anyway.

      My blogger self is more open and honest than my real self in some ways, but that’s probably true for everyone. And you’re right, it is true that we are more honest on here and reveal more than we would in the real world.

  4. Julie the Workaholic says:

    What would you notice about me? Probably that I am a lot funnier in my own head (which is what you see in my blog) than I am in the real world, because, while I am an animal once I get to know you, I’m a little bit reserved at first, LOL…So y’all would probably think, “OMG, the bitch sent an imposter…this mousy thing can’t possibly be her!” 😉

  5. tvkapherr (Cats at the Bar) says:

    TATTOO!!! What is it? I’m Canadian * so replace the AM with EHH. Debate the effects of Maple Syrup on the world economy while burning the bacon * on the stove and my Karaoke is in E flat. I can never say Owl without laughing, (from a Futurama line. If you’ve seen it, * you know)
    I think meeting * another blogger would be fun, except for the non-bloggers around us, who would think we are mad*** 😉

  6. girlseule says:

    I can totally relate to number 5. I topped English in school and my mother is forever correcting me when I speak and saying, “I’ll never understand how you came first in English at school!”

  7. Chatter Master says:

    I can see why you laugh at yourself. You are hilarious. There is nothing here that would make me NOT want to meet you. I hope that doesn’t mean I’m easy. And by the way, I have 2 tattoos and had a lisp that flares up on occasion though the speech therapist I had as a child did a pretty good job. And I WISH I sounded ANYTHING like Irish. Anything Irish is my weakness.

  8. Anna says:

    I love this post! I have a Southern accent and non-southerners think it’s wonderful. I don’t hear it. I sound like me! 😉

    I just love being on the phone with someone from the Northeast and they ask where I’m from. When I tell them, they say I knew it was the South. I like my voice, thank you very much. lol

    • janeybgood says:

      Oh I love southern accents! They are just so charming and adorable. They just sound so friendly. I often thing an Irish accent sounds like we don’t take anything seriously haha.

Leave a Reply

