Beware: Major Love Buzz Post

Gah, this is going to sound really insincere (and did I just begin a post with the word “gah”?)…

20140428-214512.jpg
source
…but I am being very sincere here. I have on my Abe Lincoln face right now. Actually, completely scratch that image from your mind, it’s a little disturbing.

I want to tell you guys a little tale. I did not have a good day today. I’m not going to expand on that, just take my word for it. I decided to do my previous post because I thought it would cheer me up a little. Before I began writing that post, I actually had drafted a pretty depressing post about how crap my day was. Then I realised that I was just complaining and that it wasn’t going to really contribute anything to anyone’s day, including mine. I let it in my drafts and thought about publishing it.

Just before I published my award post, Jack called me. He’s away on very important PhD business. As he was talking to me, I realised I was on the verge of tears; inexplicable but very real tears.

So when I came off the phone I had a little “get your shit together, Jane” pep-talk with myself and did up the last post. It did cheer me up.

But you know what really cheered me up? You guys. You guys had no idea how I was feeling and yet you managed to be the most positive influence on my day. You might think that your kind comments don’t mean that much to me, but the truth is, you have no idea how happy they make me. This is not me looking for kind comments, but rather thanking you. Thank you friends; for your encouragement, your faithfulness, your good humour, your intellect, your experiences…everything! Thank you for taking the time to read my posts and for leaving comments. Thank you for being kind to me. I really wish I could do more to repay you guys but you’ll just have to accept some invisible internet chocolate (and even though you’ve never met me, it’s totally legit. Promise.) I don’t think I have ever felt part of a nicer online community and it feels great. You guys are nicer than my Facebook friends. Just don’t tell them that. .

I know this all sounds so soppy, but you guys just make my day! Now let’s all get into a circle and sing Kumbaya.

34 thoughts on “Beware: Major Love Buzz Post

  1. Cheryl says:

    Its ok Janey. I SO get it. I am sorry for your crap day. We all have them and they don’t just disappear if you ignore them. In fact, sometimes they’re like that little dragon in the story that gets ignored so much it has to grow huge before the boy’s parents believe him. Then, once it was acknowledged, it shrunk down to a friendly, manageable size once more. I think that is how negative emotions are. They need to be acknowledged before you can begin to clear them out. I agree about the friendship here. My hubby sometimes rolls his eyes when he thinks I should be doing “more productive” things, but I often view this place as a lifeline. I get more support and compassion through my online friendships than I do in many in my face encounters. And we thank you too.Your posts come through and I always know it will make me laugh and I go right to them to read. Hang in there. The other side of the hill is a slide and you can go, “wheeeeeee…….” all the way down. Hugs.

    • janeybgood says:

      See, this is exactly what I’m talking about. You’ve just given up some of your time to make me feel better and that’s really really lovely.
      You are absolutely right in what you say. I had a good sit down and a good think and I feel much better.
      I really can’t explain how much better I have felt since I’ve started blogging. I love coming on here and reading posts as well as interacting with everyone.
      You are a wonderful person Cheryl. Thank you for your kindness🙂

  2. Wordifull Melanie says:

    Aww, major sugar shock going on but I agree. My WP friends have become invaluable and I seem to have more meanigful communications with people here than in “real” life on a day to day basis. Yesterday I was in a foul mood myself then logged in and surrounded myself with other’s words and comments and left feeling much better. It really can turn it all around. I guess it is validating to know someone no only read but lso understood and appreciated something you had to say.

    Hugs to you🙂

    • janeybgood says:

      Exactly. I can just feel awful and wordpress is really the first thing I turn to (they’re not paying me, I swear haha).
      You have a fantastic blog, where your poetry is your way of expressing yourself and I want to say thank you for sharing it with us.

  3. deepbluesandseafoamgreens says:

    It makes me so happy to hear how you love us in the blogging world, because honestly, we love you so much too!!! You’re so genuinely lovely it’s amazing! *a million hugs*
    LOVE YOU SO MUCH!🙂

    • janeybgood says:

      Oh my, you’re going to make me cry! My cat is looking at me as if to say “just because Jack isn’t here doesn’t mean I’m dealing with all the emotions!” Hahaha!
      Love you too🙂

  4. motherhendiaries says:

    Aww sweet!! So sorry you had such a horrid day! People like you should never have horrid “anything”… We out here in WP cyberspace love you to bits!! I’m simply amazed that you managed 2 posts on one day…not only is she a fab comedienne, but she’s like amazo techie chic as well! (Go you!!) To quote Scarlett, “tomorrow is another day..” windswept skirts, Rhett disappears into the fog…really, it’s probably just as well…Clark Gable was plagued with halitosis….(*mwahhhhh* <—–sisterly smooches) (halitosis-free!)

    • janeybgood says:

      Haha, oh MH, please don’t ever stop being you! You ALWAYS make me laugh. Out loud. And I’m just chillin with my cat who looks really uncomfortable right now. “Is mom having a nervous breakdown?” Hahaha.
      I’m so glad we found each other here, we are just so similar (and weird, but mainly similar…and that just autocorrected to “Somalia”…my phone is so weird ha).

      • motherhendiaries says:

        Cats always look uncomfortable, Janey…nervous breakdown or not (but let’s go with NOT,, shall we?) It’s all part of their feline mind control. “I am not entirely pleased with…anything…MUST HAVE KITTY TREATS…that will make it all better. For 5 minutes or so.” But thank you, my weird sista from anotha mista… no chance of me having a weirdotomy at this late stage. Your stuck with me… (LUCKY YOU!!!)

  5. girlseule says:

    The WordPress community is awesome isn’t it. How wonderful you can be cheered up by random people around the world when you are just having one of those days!

  6. Lisa Macy Coaching says:

    Soooo sorry to hear about your bad day and tears. Sometimes you just need a good cry to get it all out and then it’ll all be better. 🙂 I have only been in the blogging world a short time and have made so many new and wonderful friends here, I don’t know what I’d do without y’all! I can tell I’m not the only one that loves you to pieces here! {{{hugs}}}

  7. naptimethoughts says:

    when I started blogging, I never thought that I would find friends. all over the world, far flung, and some of them I don’t even know their first names, but friends all the same. I’m sending you a cyber-hug. Sorry about your crap day.

  8. anupturnedsoul says:

    I hope you know that you’re loved just as much when you express all of you. All of you is welcome and loved here.

    There’s a trap (not sure if that’s the right word) in blogging similar to the one in real life. We get to know those who read us and then we kind of feel responsible about what we write and how it affects those who read it. Whereas maybe when we first started blogging, when we knew no one was reading us because they didn’t know we were here, we let it all out, expressed all the things we keep hidden, and it feels good, a wonderful release… but then we become aware that people are listening, liking us, getting to know us and we get to know them, and we start to hide things, smile when we are sad, say we’re fine when we are not, make light of the serious… and a blog which was once a refuge becomes a place where we do what we do offline.

    I hope that makes sense. I may just be… well, I’ve deleted blogs before because I got lost in trying to be happy when I was not and kind of feeling that I couldn’t express the bits which were grumpy or depressed or… you know.

    You inspire us by being yourself, only you can be you… all of you (including the one who is depressed).

    Take care, beautiful!

    • janeybgood says:

      This is an amazing comment because you have just EXACTLY verbalised what my worry in posting this was. I suppose I see mine as a comedy blog (or at least an attempt at one) and I felt that if I posted the blog, then people would be disappointed in me.
      I suppose I just wanted to say thanks to everyone because all of you may not realise how much you help me.
      Thank you for such a considerate comment🙂

  9. Chatter Master says:

    Sorry it was a crap day. And thank you for chocolate. And okay….you asked for it…..pardon the off key….

    KUMBAYA MY LORD!!!!!!!!!!! KUMBAYA!!!!!!!!!!!

    Here’s to feeling better and the goodness of people who wanted you to. 🙂

Leave a Reply

