Dear Future Me

Dear future me,

Have you seen the movie Tractor? No, me neither, I’ve only seen the trailer. Har har, get it? You always say open with a joke sooo…

Moving swiftly on. I decided to write this because I wrote a letter to fifteen year old me who obviously can’t read what I wrote because she’s in some 2002 time warp wearing combat pants and drinking vanilla Coke, but you can. You, future Jane, or present Jane by the time you read this (my braaaaain), you can read exactly what I wrote to you and heed my advice. Just because I’m younger than you doesn’t mean it’s going to be bad advice. I just want you to still have fun, even if you probably can’t drink tequila and put your foot behind your head anymore.
I reeeally hope you’re thinking:

20140412-152355.jpg
Source

I hope that everything is going well for you. If you are healthy, have a home, still have Jack, have a son or daughter and a steady job then I want you to know that you are very very lucky. Because you’re me, you probably complain, even when things are going well. But listen- you need to quit it and appreciate what you have. Don’t make me jump into my flux capacitor and come get you.

Right now, I’m happy…but there is so much more that I want. And I am hoping that you have some of those things. Of course, you’re not going to have them all. I doubt you’re best friends with Jennifer Lawrence, living in Aruba and hosting Letterman. But if you are happy, healthy and secure… Well, that’s all we’ve ever hoped for, right?

I want you to know that this Jane loves to laugh. She loves Jack very much. She loves the countryside and the sound of laughter. Her family are everything to her. She helps young minds open up to the world around them. If, for any reason, something has made you forget all of this, then I want to remind you: your life has meaning. You were happy. You can be happy again.

If your life is going dandy and you know it, then swell. It would be really great if you could master time-travel and come back to give me some dough. Come on Jane, I’m waiting. No? fine, I’m so putting you in a home.

Let me just end by reminding you that you once touched Nick Carter as he was thrusting in leather and covered in sweat, just incase you forgot. Who am I kidding, of course you didn’t forget. I just wanted to revisit that memory. *goes to dark part of mind*

Also, I’m dying my hair already because I’ve spotted a grey hair or two. If you could keep that up so I don’t resemble a Shakespearean hag, that’d be great.

I’m going to go do handstands while I still can, don’t be too jealous. You’re still a total catch.

Yours (literally),

Past Jane (creepy smile) x

43 thoughts on “Dear Future Me

  1. reocochran says:

    I thought this was unusual that you were so ahead of your time, to have written to your future You! I wish I had done so, but you don’t seem to have given too many pieces of advice, just keep your hair color and your memories alive… Vanilla Coke was so delicious! I like that you can still go places that have the choice of it, like those multiple flavorings you can add to Sprite and Crush, too. I like Strawberry syrup Crush and Vanilla flavored Coke. My grands like to mix it up and call it, “suicide” like their parents, my kids’ used to! Combat pants, huh? Funny but poignant letter! If we only knew then, what we know now…

    • janeybgood says:

      I loved vanilla Coke but it’s very hard to find her. I find it *kind of* tasted like Dr. Pepper so I make do with that.
      I thought if I was giving too much advice to older Jane, she’d just be shaking her head and laughing at my naivety so I kept it simple.

      • reocochran says:

        Oh, I was not complaining nor do I think that we, as younger people, think about advice giving! I am sure that we would laugh at ourselves and not take ourselves so seriously (or our little teenaged problems so seriously either) if we could re-do our lives. This was a very sincere letter and I liked the way you kept it simple, too!

      • janeybgood says:

        Thanks! I do think I’m at a good place in my life where older me would appreciate advice from present me🙂 you’re right about problems, the further you step away from them, the more insignificant they become.

    • janeybgood says:

      I wish it was but no. Actually, I had a student on detention last week. I was really mad at him and he wanted to leave five minutes early so we made a deal: if I even smiled at his joke, he was free to go. I should have remembered I love bad jokes…

  2. stillunwinding says:

    Loved this! I also read the letter to your 15-year old self – and it just happens that all this weekend I’ve been writing such a letter in my own mind – so reading yours was happy timing:)

  3. motherhendiaries says:

    Ok… you are so getting reblogged. I’m pretty sure future you will look back on this moment as pivotal in her history. Tell her she is welcome. This is way better than anything I was going to come up with this morning, having just crawled out of the worst separation anxiety nightmare in about a decade… trust me, Janey – my followers will so rather here your cheerful voice than mine today. Plus, I have NEVER been able to put my foot behind my head.

    • janeybgood says:

      Aw, thank you😀

      I hope you’re okay! I’m not so sure about the foot thing anymore, and I’m not gonna try because there is a very real possibility that I’ll get stuck.

      But really, thanks for the reblog🙂

      • motherhendiaries says:

        Thanks Jane – I’m fine really. I am not a nightmare kind of girl – ok, well unless that comes to what I’m like to LIVE with -but I don’t actually have them. Just feeling off kilter – but I read you first thing today and you made me really, properly laugh… A reblog was the least I could do to repay! 🙂 have a good ‘un…

  4. motherhendiaries says:

    Reblogged this on mother hen diaries and commented:
    If you have not yet discovered Jane, I want to know why the heck not! Enjoy her whacky, gorgeous humour in a letter to her future self. Love it! Mother Hen

      • motherhendiaries says:

        Maybe I would feel better if I had Mexican last night… alas, snacked on olives, apples and cheese instead of a proper meal. Oh, and wine. Plenty of that. Hmmmm… perhaps there is a connection here somewhere… *thinking…… still thinking….*

        You’re welcome, Jane. Love your work!

      • janeybgood says:

        The morning after wine, I get all the regret. I’m the worst after spirits, I question every decision I’ve ever made and curl into a ball of paranoia. Why do we do it to ourselves? But wine is yummy.

      • motherhendiaries says:

        Oh that’s just the personality hangover talking…I even get that with caffeine!🙂 but wine+ no dinner= bad idea in any case. I’m such a plonker.

Leave a Reply

