Do you talk to yourself?

I talk to myself on an almost daily basis. I would really like to think that I’m not crazy but, well, there’s only so many conversations I can have with myself before I start questioning my own sanity.

20140408-204204.jpg
Source

This morning, Jack went to work before me. When my alarm went off, this is how my monologue went:

“Suppose I’d better get up. Man, I’m so warm and snuggly. Is snuggly even a word? Snuggly. Snugg-ly. Hmm. Jane, you’re talking to yourself. I think you need a holiday.”

20140408-205050.jpg
Source
Really Joker? REALLY?

Then of course, there was my fight with the toaster. The toaster burned my toast cause the toaster is a d**k.

“Ugh, why can’t you be a regular toaster? Why do you have to be all ‘ooh, I’m a hot toaster’ and incinerate everything?!”

I realised my cat was looking at me, possibly thinking Um, human, there doesn’t seem to be another human around sooo…. who the hell are you talking to?

20140408-205555.jpg
Source

Of course, I don’t talk to myself all the time. I’m not a total weirdo. Right? RIGHT?

I just find myself thinking aloud, I suppose. I also have arguments with household appliances, which I almost always win.

The way I look at it, if Hamlet could talk to himself, then so can I. I mean, he turned out fine. Ahem.

20140408-210958.jpg
Source

So I’m going to put it to you, lovely readers. Do you talk to yourself? Or am I even more insane than I thought? Am I going to wake up to my cat saying this in the morning?

20140408-211304.jpg
Source

42 thoughts on “Do you talk to yourself?

  1. weight2lose2013 says:

    This is the funniest post I’ve read today. πŸ™‚ I not above talking to myself. I’ve been in arguments with myself, and have gone as far as to not talk to myself for months at a time, which came as some relief to those in close quarters with me.

  2. Lydia Devadason says:

    I’ve always talked to myself – though it has got a bit difficult to explain now, when my three-year-old overhears and asks what I’m saying and who I’m talking to, lol πŸ˜‰

      • Lydia Devadason says:

        I just say, ‘oh nothing, mummy was just being silly and talking to herself, silly mummy’ and then we both laugh at how crazy I am – happy days! I’m sure that’s healthy for all concerned, lol!

  3. BrantleyNewton says:

    Worse than talking to herself, my mom will carry on conversations silently in her own mind while nodding along and gesturing accordingly. It’s simultaneously intriguing and disturbing.

    I used to have a problem where I would start a hypothetical conversation in my mind and then jump into it aloud right in the middle to the confusion of whoever I was taking to. I remember when I was a kid, I told my mom, “I scored two points today!” I had been reminiscing to myself about PE that day but there’s no way she could have known that!

    • janeybgood says:

      I definitely replied to this comment but it’s gone so I’ll try again πŸ™‚

      Your mom sounds like my kinda person!

      That is absolutely my worst habit. I do it all the time. I’m always thinking random thoughts and then halfway through, I’m speaking them aloud. Like “that’s what I’ll do” and then I’ll just leave the room. It must be terribly confusing for other people πŸ™‚

  4. reocochran says:

    So funny and true! Lots of little pains happen, and we have to just say the words, out loud! I yell at my television or if watching a movie that I am upset with the way things are going. I especially yell at idiot female roles who are not careful, since the rapist or murderer is right behind them! Yikes! I am terrible with talking to myself, I realize! Smiles, Robin

    • janeybgood says:

      I yell at the tv all the time, especially when I see something as implausible or unrealistic. I just can’t keep my opinions in my head. These women need our help, I’m sure they can hear us πŸ™‚

  5. coldhandboyack says:

    But when you talk to the toaster, or yell at the TV, you’re not talking to yourself. It doesn’t get really fun until they start talking back. Right? Oh yeah, I agree with you. Me too. Us too……

  6. girlseule says:

    Hahaha I love the toaster conversation.

    Oh god I talk to myself constantly it is a bad habit. You know we all have that inner monologue, when I am alone I just think it out loud. Sometimes my friends say, “Evie I hear you muttering to yourself in your room all the time!” It get embarrassing because sometimes I mumble my thoughts as I am walking along in public without realising and then realise people around me must think I am a crazy lady.

    • janeybgood says:

      I do this too, haha! Or I talk back to the radio in the car so it looks like I’m chatting away to myself in the car. Which I kinda am. But I’m good company dammit. Glad to know I’m not alone here!

  7. minniex says:

    Omg you are not crazy at all. We all do it at some point. But I’m actually proud to say that I do it ALL the time. When I was little people at my school knew I talked to myself because I did it all the time, well, I think I was obsessed or something. But now, I just do it normally, I think. I even interview myself in front of the mirror, and I also find myself acting and reciting lines through out the day. Let’s just say I like too much the relationship I have with myself.

    • janeybgood says:

      Sorry Minnie, I thought I wrote back to this but my comment didn’t appear! I love this comment πŸ™‚ I do the exact same; even when doing my makeup or in the shower. I used to feel insane but since you do it too πŸ™‚ lol!

  8. Delisa says:

    I talk to myself, to appliances, to my cat; the cat just looks at me like i’m missing a few marbles or judging me in her corner she always sits in. Usually when I am mad I talk to myself, it makes me feel better.

    • janeybgood says:

      Oh yes, I talk to the cat all the time. Like, actual full blown conversations πŸ™‚ I think she likes it though. At least, I hope so.
      And yeah, I talk away to myself when I’m mad too. It’s always helps! Thanks for your comment πŸ™‚

  9. Trent Lewin says:

    In fairness to yourself, for the toaster bit, you weren’t talking to yourself, you were talking to the toaster. Did the toaster offer up any kind of reply? I’m curious. And slightly scared of the answer.

  10. Aussa Lorens says:

    Yep, I definitely talk to myself. Only on a semi-regular basis but it can escalate to the point of making a joke and then making fun of myself for making the joke. Full blown back and forth.

  11. Wordifull Melanie says:

    πŸ™‚ Alll the blasted time. To myself, to the cats, to inanimate objects, the tv, radio…whatever.
    I had a heated “conversation” myself this morning with the coffee pot…. Damn thing has an attitude problem! LOL

    You are ok.

Leave a Reply

