My Jams

Julie over at Musings of a Workaholic wrote a great post about the music she likes, so I thought I would do the same because I’m unoriginal like that. I think someone’s taste in music reveals a lot about them so hopefully this will reveal a little more about the type of person I am. And then we can be friends and do each other’s hair. Yay.

Here is a list of my favourite songs/musicians.

Jeff Buckley

20140329-160331.jpg
Source

When my boyfriend and I first fell in love, we lived far apart and saw each other infrequently. It was a difficult time for us, where our main method of communication was furtive love letters to each other. On one occasion, Jack left behind his copy of Jeff Buckley’s 1994 album Grace.
Missing him desperately, I listened to the CD repeatedly. It has long been one of my favourite albums.
Buckley is perhaps best recognised for his beautiful cover of Leonard Cohen’s Halleluljah.

His voice is so hauntingly beautiful that it touches me every time I hear him sing. Sadly, Buckley drowned in 1997 in Memphis, Tennessee.

Eva Cassidy

20140329-162734.jpg
Source

I wouldn’t consider myself an overly emotional person, but I have yet to listen to an entire Eva Cassidy song without shedding a tear. Her voice is so gut-wrenchingly and achingly beautiful that I could listen to listen to it for eternity. She is known for her fantastic covers of other artists’ songs, and she often manages to improve on the original. Her covers of Sting’s Fields of Gold and Judy Garland’s Somewhere Over the Rainbow are sublime, and are guaranteed to stir even the hardest of hearts. It is her rendition of Fleetwood Mac’s Songbird that is my personal favourite, however. Excuse me a minute…*wails*
Tragically, Eva died of Melanoma in 1996.

Jack White
>

20140329-164039.jpg
Source
What can I say? The man is a musical genius. I particularly love his work as part of The White Stripes. For anyone who doesn’t appreciate his talent, listen to this song:

Sheer brilliance.

The Smiths

20140329-164608.jpg
Source

Yes yes. I know. The Smiths are to hipsters what Rebel Without a Cause is to angsty teenagers. But that doesn’t mean that they’re as vacuous or as vapid as hipsters (I really don’t like hipsters), on the contrary; their songs are timeless and full of substance. Although their are dozens of songs that I could choose, a particular favourite of mine has always been one of their best known:

Creedence Clearwater Revival
ccr

I adore CCR. My favourite song of theirs is Down on the Corner and I like it so much, it is my alarm to get me up for work πŸ™‚

Pearl Jam
pearl-jam

I could listen to this song forever:

So there you have it, some of my favourite songs. Who is your favourite singer or band and what is your favourite song?

16 thoughts on “My Jams

  1. weight2lose2013 says:

    Love your choices, although after covering Girlfriend in a coma with my band, I’m a little Morrissey’d out. Love Eva Cassidy as well. Her version of Somewhere over the Rainbow is heart breaking.

  2. drowninmelancholy says:

    oooh, I LOVE Jack White! And about one year ago, I have just bought a best-of album of the Smiths and fell in love with them ❀
    I will soon participate in an A-Z Challenge and I will post about my favorites in music πŸ™‚ If you want, you can check out my blog during the challenge, and you can join yourself as well πŸ™‚
    http://drowninmelancholy.wordpress.com/

    • janeybgood says:

      He is amazing!
      The Smiths are probably my favourite band at the moment.
      I saw that challenge, it looks like a great idea, something for me to consider doing next weekend πŸ™‚ I will definitely look it up, thanks

  3. Wordifull Melanie says:

    Oh I am surprised we have so many likes in common. I wasn’t familiar with Eva Cassidy…but like the rest of your list. I like a lot of oldies…and have to have a little metal in the mix.

    Must add

    Simon and Garfunkel (all time favorite)…their songs are Poetry πŸ™‚

    Tori Amos

    (old) Metallica

    Anthrax

    Danzig

    Juda Priest

    Dio

    so many more…I could go on forever. Music is life.

  4. reocochran says:

    Very unique list and I know all of them, like most of them! I am a CCR and Pearl Jam person, although I sometimes like a much longer list of music! I write all the time about music, it pulls on my heart strings! Great post, Jane!

    • janeybgood says:

      I love music and I don’t know how I would live without it. I could have written a much longer list but these are my favourites. Thanks for reading and I’m glad you share similar tastes!

Leave a Reply

