Being a Teacher

20140308-000644.jpg

Source
Teachers in Ireland (and indeed in many countries) get a really hard time. In terms of public perception, we rank somewhere between politicians and circus clowns. Many people assume we are greedy, lazy and that the interests of the students are the furthest things from our self centred minds.

I’m not writing this piece to defend the teaching profession, per se. I’m writing this to frankly and honestly discuss my personal experience with teaching and what being a teacher means to me. It is an incredibly difficult and challenging job in itself, and the constant public derision certainly does nothing to help. I would love to say that it doesn’t bother me; that the most important thing is my own dedication to the profession and that baseless criticisms from people ignorant of the career shouldn’t matter but…well, after a while, you start to have doubts. When people say teachers are lazy, you start to question your own work ethic. When people say teachers are only interested in their pay packet, you start to wonder if maybe there is some truth in that.

I have been guilty of previously making these assumptions myself. When I was in the early years of secondary school, I had little respect for the profession. Like many students, I had good teachers and bad teachers. Unfortunately, it is the “bad” teachers that stand out. When I say bad teacher, I’m referring to those who act unprofessionally and who have little or no passion left for their job. I’ve heard of teachers who didn’t know their students names after two years, who smelled of alcohol in class, who had little knowledge of their respective subjects or who flew into unprovoked and scathing attacks on particular students in my class. I’ve spoken to many people who were only too happy to regale me with tales of incompetent teachers. I’m sure you too, dear reader, have experienced teachers whose methods left a lot to be desired. But we can also agree that we have all had motivational, inspiring and capable teachers who have invested their best efforts and time into helping us to realise our full potential. I also think it’s fair to say that every school I have been in, either as a student or as a teacher, has had a large majority of brilliant and dynamic teachers. There is a rising standard of professionalism that ensures the very best teachers are emerging from training courses. The problem is, we tend to focus on the minority that bring the profession into disrepute.

It wasn’t until I was nearing the end of my time at school that I began to really appreciate my teachers. My worst subject, without a doubt, was maths. I lacked motivation and I didn’t really care if I did poorly in my final maths exam, as the outcome of that particular exam wouldn’t have affected my chances of getting into university. My teacher had other ideas. She didn’t care that I wasn’t aiming high. She refused to let me fall behind or slink to the back of the class and secretly read Jane Eyre. She was on my case day in, day out. If I didn’t understand something, I couldn’t pretend that I did. She knew I was lying. She would keep repeating the methodology of a sum until it clicked with us. She would give up her breaks and her free time to offer us free tuition. And in the final exam, I got an A. An A in a subject I had previously despised and feared. That grade made me realise that hard work and effort does pay off and it gave me a confidence in my own abilities that I have never forgotten. I also haven’t forgotten that teacher; a woman so dedicated to her profession I’m sure she must suffer from a permanent exhaustion that is only challenged by her unwearied assiduity to her students.

There were other good teachers too. There were those who made me laugh and who sparked interests in me that I don’t think any book or film could have. I started to realise that my teachers were having a massive (and very positive) impact on my life and were helping to shape my future in a way that I could never have imagined. That’s when I decided that if I could have such a positive impact on someone’s life, I would have found my dream career. I knew teaching would be a challenging career, but I also knew that it would make me happy, and that I could help students to learn new things every day, not only about the world around them, but also about themselves. This may sound cheesy, disingenuous even, but it’s the truth.

I studied hard to become a teacher. I did a three year degree course in my subjects. I then studied for a Master’s Degree. After that, I studied for my teaching diploma. During this time, I was supervised in my teaching by a former school principal who critiqued my methods with honesty. It was a very intense year, and I can safely say that it was the most challenging experience of my life (I also had to contend with a lot of personal and medical issues).

At the moment, I have been qualified for three years. I’m working in a sometimes difficult environment, where many of the students are unmotivated and ill-disciplined. I like the school I am in (the management and staff are superb) but I have shed tears, I have been ill from stress and I have had many sleepless nights. I have mounds of paper work to contend with, difficult classes and demanding parents. I’m not just speaking for myself here, I’m speaking for all teachers. Yes, classroom engagement time (contracted hours) might be minimal when compared to other jobs, but there is more to teaching than that.

The preparation that goes into a week of classes is immense. There’s also the assessment of our students’ work which takes up much of our evenings and weekends. All of this I can handle, as it’s part of the job and we must accept that. In Ireland, we are also expected to do unpaid overtime, thirty three hours a year to be exact (depending on your timetable), which had led to feelings of resentment surfacing in many teachers. We are also routinely inspected, which is fair and of course standard practice in many jobs, but it just adds to the pressure that is already placed on teachers by society at large.

This week alone, I’ve had a student run out of my class sobbing (a close friend of hers died and she’s finding it difficult to cope), a student get injured in the hallway, given detention three times, met a concerned parent, have a difference of opinion with a colleague about a particular student, refer another student for counselling…I could go on. What am I saying all this for? What am I hoping to achieve? I understand that there are many jobs where employees experience far more stress than I do. There are amazing doctors, policemen and women, firemen and women and nurses that provide such important and potentially life-saving services everyday. The thing is, I would never think of denigrating any of these careers. I know that teachers don’t save lives (usually), but I would like to think that we influence the outcome of some lives in a positive manner.

Despite all the disparaging comments that I hear (by the media, but also by people I know quite well), I wouldn’t change anything about my career. The other day, a student I have was struggling to understand what the different poetic terms were (alliteration, onomatopoeia, simile, etc). I spent two classes explaining until finally he excitedly exclaimed “I get them, I get them ALL!” Seeing that “eureka” moment in a student is truly rewarding and it makes everything worthwhile. It makes me realise that the profession is bigger than my insecurities. It’s about the students. It’s about their potential. It’s about guiding and helping and being a positive influence. I’m learning to deflect the negativity and to remember why I decided to peruse this career: I wanted to make a difference to someone’s life. Even if it’s just a handful of people over my entire careers, I’ll still be proud.

16 thoughts on “Being a Teacher

  1. MĂ©lanie says:

    Wonderful post and welcome to the club!🙂 I used to be a good teacher – in France and in the US…(said my ex-students and their parents who still miss me…)

    • janeybgood says:

      Thank you. Oh wonderful, it’s lovely to connect with fellow teachers! And congratulations, it’s lovely to know you’ve left an impact on someone’s life🙂

  2. weight2lose2013 says:

    I had a wonderful teacher when I was 14. She was supportive and opened my eyes to a world of poetry and literature. I’ll never forget her, and I consider myself a better person because of her.

  3. Julie the Workaholic says:

    I so wanted to comment on this when I saw it this weekend, but my tablet was suffering from…well….I don’t KNOW what, but wouldn’t follow links here or one other site I frequent.

    At ANY rate, I have friends that are teachers, and while I sure couldn’t do it, I admire those of you who can. I simply don’t have the patience to deal with kids…ESPECIALLY those belonging to someone else. I did well not to string up my own offspring while they were growing up and I HAD beating rights to them, LOL…

    With mad respect I lift my glass to you…and while I would like to say it’s wine, that would get me fired, given they still have this stupid “no drinking on the job” rule, so Diet Dr. Pepper it is!🙂 Cheers!

    • janeybgood says:

      Haha, thanks for an, as usual, uplifting and generally happy comment!

      It sure is a tough job, like so many others. I’m having a particularly difficult week of it so there is going to a A LOT of wine at the weekend🙂

      And this “no drinking in the job rule” I mean come on, what is that?! Haha, if only!

  4. Wordifull Melanie says:

    It really makes no sense that the people who educate and mold future generations often get paid less than garbage collectors. I commend you for trying to make a difference. You are better than me…I was going to teach, went to college for it…then did my student teaching and decided the school system, politics, hoops to jump through, etc. were not for me.

    As for good and bad teachers yes I have had both more bad thn good unfortunately BUT it is the good ones that have stayed with me:)

    • janeybgood says:

      Thank you. What a lovely comment. It has been a very tough week and I question my decision every day. I’m just hoping that soon, the good days will outweigh the bad.

  5. reocochran says:

    So, so glad that you were able to get the concepts to that young man, helping him to understand! Those “Eureka!” moments make all the bad days go away. (Most of the time!) Your story made ME happy, too. I think it is always true, it takes maturity, in high school or even college, when you finally appreciate the work it entails for good teachers to make a difference. Great post and this got me smiling. Teachers ‘run’ in my family, my Mom, Aunt, Uncle, brother and I have all taught school. I resent when people think it is easy and hate the dumb phrase, “Those who can, do. Those who can’t, teach.” Didn’t the writer of that phrase have any good teachers? Smiles, Robin

    • janeybgood says:

      Thanks Robin, as always your comment has been uplifting and positive🙂
      I had a very good day at school and tomorrow I’m going for up skill training so it’s been a good few days and I’m feeling much more positive🙂 Your words are so kind. I’m glad to hear that teaching runs in your family (like mine) and that you have taught. I can imagine that you would have a positive effect on someone’s life.
      You’re right; that phrase is ignorant. Thanks for your comment!

  6. missb88 says:

    It’s definitely a tough time to be a teacher in Ireland – I’m in the same boat! Hope you keep your passion for making a difference, because that little spark alone is what will make the difference. Enjoy your weekend and reboot the batteries!
    Miss Bx

    • janeybgood says:

      Thank you! I’m actually out of work now because my contract was up. I’m providing home tuition at the moment, which is nice but I miss the classroom.
      You’re right; passion for the job is the most important thing we have, without it we become apathetic and indifferent.
      Thanks for your comment Miss B! X

Leave a Reply

