Spread the Love

I did this exercise with my class today and I was thinking that it would be nice to try it on here.

Basically, there had been a lot of negativity floating around my classroom (snide comments, sneering and giggling) so I decided to take time out of our subject today and focus on spreading some positivity around the room. Because I’m nice like that.

It might sound really cheesy, but I feel like it worked really well. They had to say something positive about the person next to them. That way, everyone in the class received a compliment and I could tell it meant a lot to them. Comments ranged from “Sarah is excellent at art” to “Tom is a great listener and always makes me smile.” At the end of the class, there was a lovely atmosphere in the room and while it may not be the end of some of the consternation in the classroom, it certainly made us all feel better.

It got me thinking of the warm feeling we get when we receive compliments (or have food poisoning, but whatever). And then I thought of WordPress awards and how good they make us all feel. But instead of giving an award (which are WONDERFUL, but they are time consuming), I thought that it would be a good idea to do the following:

Mention two bloggers whose blogs you love to read and say something positive about each. This way, you are hopefully bringing a smile to someone’s face.

I’m going to mention two bloggers whose blogs I enjoy (please be advised, I could list HUNDREDS but I want to keep this short and sweet) and I will say something positive about each not because I have to but because I want to.

The first is a blog that manages to be insightful, articulate, intelligent and witty while retaining all the charm and excitement of someone who genuinely seems to love writing. If all teenagers were this mature, I think my job would be redundant.

I Prefer Deep Blues and Sea Foam Greens

The second is a lady I have just connected with recently, but her blog is witty, honest and Julie herself is great fun to talk to (look out for our St. Patrick Day plans πŸ˜‰ )

Musings From a Workaholic

In the comments section below, I would be DELIGHTED if you could mention two bloggers you just adore and say something positive about them. Not only will it cheer them up, it will also hopefully introduce us all to new bloggers. What is there to lose?

20140305-193343.jpg

24 thoughts on “Spread the Love

  1. travelinthecountrysidebeinkind says:

    I love this! From a fellow teacher, I admire your using of this exercise to set a positive atmosphere in your classroom, and am pleased to hear it worked out so well! What a wonderful way to spread kindness around your classroom and perhaps even promote it in the school.

    • janeybgood says:

      Thanks! It is a nice idea and something that definitely worked with my younger students. There are times where I feel only slight negativity between two students breeds more negativity and then there’s this horrible atmosphere in the room, so I try to alleviate it as much as possible.

  2. Julie the Workaholic says:

    Whooh-hoo, Janey! Thank you! You have me doing a little happy dance behind my desk at the day job. AND made me smile.

    Ok, here are my two and why:

    First, you and yours πŸ™‚ …And I promise it’s not that I’m sucking up in gratitude for the terrific nod in “Musing’s” direction. Every now and again you stumble upon a blog that is fun to read, and then you start to get to know the author beyond just the “nice post/thank you” exchanges. Apparently, you and I have quite a lot in common (including our curiosity about the drinking habits of others, ha ha ha), a very similar sense of humor, and the ability to try to make the best out of what would take other people out at the knees. πŸ˜‰ It is rare that I find a blog and start ALLLLL the way from the beginning and read and read until I am caught up. Janey’s blog is THAT blog, people!

    The second one is also a new blog find. I stumbled upon him after he liked one of my posts and I ended up reading much of his blog, as well. We both have weight loss/fitness and healthy eating on both our blogs, but he has a killer recipe section, and gardening tips. He is one easy-to-read/easy-to-talk-to dude…so without further ado, I give you Rob, from Weight2Lose2013: http://weight2lose2013.wordpress.com/

    Janey, because I am not, apparently, capable of original thought this wee, I am going to borrow this concept and put it out there on my own blog and maybe we can get some good blog-lovin’ going out there!

    • janeybgood says:

      Thanks Julie, what lovely and kind words πŸ™‚
      I do love that moment where you meet a like minded individual and just click.
      You’re right, Rob’s blog is great. Ah we’re all feeling the love, it’s great.
      And feel free to spread this around (Wow, sounds like I’m taking about something infected ha!) I hope it will brighten someone else’s day.

  3. Sean Smithson says:

    Obviously I’m not going to say you as that’s just lazy and the kind of thing Trent Lewin or The Hook would do. Who also happen to be the two bloggers I’d like to mention.

    I decided not to use the word adore as you know, that kind of implies that I really, really like them. When in fact I only really like them. Chaps, if you read this, keep up the good work. And Janey, not only a nice idea but a damn site easier than doing awards.

    • janeybgood says:

      Ha! Sean you do make me laugh πŸ™‚ And I think it’s safe to say I love your blog, it’s where I go when I’m feeling particularly naughty and embrace my inner stripper (who loves when I feed her vodka).

      Those guys are great. And I was thinking “adore” might be the kind of thing Anne Hathaway would say in an acceptance speech, but hey.

  4. deepbluesandseafoamgreens says:

    Jane, I’ve said it once (or actually twice, but I’ll use once because it sounds better) but heck, I’ll say it again, PLEASE TAKE OVER THE WORLD. I would reserve the deed for myself (I’d introduce the wonders of fluffy cushions in Physics class..heheh) but no, I am not worthy. Please, please, YOU ARE JUST TOO AH-MAY-ZINGER BURGER – yes I managed to incorporate some burger into this, but hey, remember, you are burger-flipping fantastic too – AND YOU DON’T KNOW IT!
    I feel so….hehehe *giggle giggle clap hands together* happy; thank you of making that happen!
    Great idea; I’ve got two fellow teen bloggers I’d like to mention, and once I’ve gone and found links, I’ll post them in another comment, later on. (Just got a few more Greek words to learn…A FEW I PROMISE!)
    Regards as ever,
    Z

    • janeybgood says:

      Aw you’re just a big giant bundle of happy and I love it! I want more people to read your blog, it’s just great.

      You go learn your Greek and we’ll be waiting for your mentions right here. Or else I’ll have fallen asleep with my phone in my hand (it’s happened before) but I’ll have something fun to wake up to! High fives all round! πŸ˜€

  5. eileen049 says:

    Well you know I always enjoy what you write. But here are my other two:

    Source of Inspiration – she always manages to find the most beautiful pictures to post with her poetry that always touches my heart.

    Don Charisma – he has great pictures and great insight in his writing. He posted something today that I thought was very powerful. Don’t believe anything that makes you weak. He didn’t come up with the saying. But, I appreciate him sharing it.

  6. weight2lose2013 says:

    Thank you for your comment on my blog! I have two for you that I think everyone should visit ( I would’ve included Julie’s blog, but you’ve already mentioned it so….):

    First up is http://crazyonthesideplease.wordpress.com/ This blog covers weightloss to online dating and everything in between. I’ve recently started to follow this blog and its a fun read! Up next is my friend from Iceland. Her blog is http://sugarfreesweety.com/ Her blog is upbeat and she has an extraordinary sense of humor.

  7. Valerie says:

    Uzoma – 85 Degrees. He’s very insightful, articulate and original. He has an incredible way with words. I enjoy his articles, short stories and weekly proverbs. Plus he is a great person. http://85degrees.wordpress.com/

    and

    I am almost sure you’ve heard or possibly read this one. Neil Pasricha- 1000 Awesome Things. He has published, I believe, two books. His blog is about small joys like getting the green light through traffic all the way to work e.t.c. I find his blog & the books, very relate-able. http://1000awesomethings.com/about/

  8. paulfg says:

    Janey – what a gorgeous idea. Compliemnts without being asked. This could catch on! This shoulkd catch on! Thank you so much!!

    And as this is me …

    Katie Bortell – a mum who just oozes so much life, fun and sanity! Day after day she adds words that make me smile, chuckle and laugh – and the think. Some time a little, sometimes a lot. If you like your God Light (but not Lite) she has the switch! http://katebortell.wordpress.com/

    Heather – who makes my brain explode with her take on life. A lady who has brain cells doing the quantam mechanics of living – and makes me feel bigger because of it. Amazing! She can talk of her God in ways that astound and enthrall me! http://insideheathershead.com/

    • janeybgood says:

      Thank you for this and for partaking. I think it’s a nice way to make people feel good πŸ™‚ And for us to meet new bloggers. Lovely comments from you too πŸ™‚

  9. Wordifull Melanie says:

    Lovely exercise! Like your idea as well awards are a bit much to follow through on I agree…appreciated but time consuming. Which is why i created a separate page on my blog to highlight a few special friends.
    http://wordifull.com/fabulous-featured-friends/
    And as far as just mentioning 2 here…

    GiGi at Rethinking Life http://gigisrantsandraves.wordpress.com/
    She is an amazing, inspiring wonderful human πŸ™‚ You have to check out her watercolor faces, her poetry, her rants, stamp art and the chicklets. You must see the chicklets!

    My other recommendation is http://whocouldknowthen.wordpress.com/ who write poetry that stirs my soul. He has recently started featuring some of his artwork along with his poetry.. Something special for sure.

Leave a Reply

