What are you doing today?

20140201-123016.jpg

Source
In the words of a wise old sage otherwise known as ‘R. Kelly’ it’s “the freakin’ weekend”. Usually, I’m working my way through a mound of paper work and student essays, but today, I’m relaxing. Mostly because if I read another short story where one of my teenage students happens across a member of One Direction and somehow ends up simultaneously marrying them all, I will go (more) insane.

As I write this, my West Highland Terrier is curled up beside me in bed, (he’s not usually allowed, but it’s stormy) and my cat is staring enviously at him, possibly plotting his death or something equally insidious.

Today marks the first day of the Six Nations rugby tournament, which is basically a competition between Ireland, England, Scotland, Wales, France and Italy. As some of you may know, rugby is another one of my passions (along with history, literature, animals and general weirdness). Today, there are two matches to keep me busy shouting obscenities at the television.

I plan on vegging out on the couch (there will be no actual vegetables involved, wait…is wine a vegetable?) and just taking it easy. My cat may or may not attempt to cause me grievous bodily harm, Jack will more than likely be working on his thesis and I will probably end up making another shepherd’s pie (we are addicted). All in all, a pretty mundane day lies ahead of me but the rest of my life is so incredibly exciting that I need a day off every now and again.*

What are your plans for today?

*Definitely not a lie

10 thoughts on “What are you doing today?

  1. deepbluesandseafoamgreens says:

    My brother’ nagging us all to watch the Six Nations…:)
    But other than that (and the usual procrastination/homework) I’m building myself back into blogging….;)
    ZB

      • deepbluesandseafoamgreens says:

        I couldn’t take all the obsessive crying anymore.
        I had to take action.

        I’m BACK.

      • janeybgood says:

        Haha I felt like I was on an island shouting out to sea, hoping you’d just float by! I can’t remember now, but it was this week sometime anyway.

      • deepbluesandseafoamgreens says:

        I found it….WOW!
        Gosh, Janey you remind me so much of a friend of mine, at school. You both specifically like English and history (I gather?) and above all; unbelievably nice.
        Count me as your biggest blog fan! Not meant to sound weird, but like I said before, you and Jack should TOTES, like DEFFO RULE THE WORLD!
        πŸ™‚

      • janeybgood says:

        Aww πŸ™‚
        Yep English and history are my passions, and writing weird crap.
        But seriously, your blogging is way too good to abandon, you have great things to say and a great style so I hope you keep it up!

Leave a Reply

