How do you combat stress?

20140126-172352.jpg

Source
A while back, I asked you What do you do when you feel like crap? and I had some great responses. So now, I would like you guys to answer: what do you do when you feel stressed?
The same thing, you might point out. Well, today I have a head cold and I don’t feel too peachy, but I don’t feel stressed. Stress is a whole other kind of problem. Here are the ways I deal with it:

-I have a cup of tea/coffee. It’s simple but effective.

-I try to laugh it out. Anyone who knows me knows that I try to see the funny side of most things, even the time I broke my ankle on a mountain (you had to be there).

-I talk to someone about the reasons for my stress. Usually, the reasons are trivial and the other person can help me to realise this.

-I pet my animals. My dogs and my cat are great outlets for me; I just sit in silence with them and stroke their fur (which is not as creepy as it sounds).

-I cry. There is no greater stress release.

-I write. It sometimes never sees the light of day but the relief afterwards is indescribable.

-I listen to music: something peaceful and relaxing. Although I hear heavy metal works too.

-I go for a walk or I wail on my punching bag (I mean that literally, I am not referring to Jack).

-I go for a drive alone. I drive slowly down a country road and just have a good think. Sometimes I pull the car in.

-I listen to myself. There’s two Janes: the Jane who gets stressed and panics about the little things and the rational, calm Jane. When stressed Jane tries to take over, calm Jane will always point out “this feeling will pass. The situation isn’t as bad as you think it is right now. There’s always a solution and you’ve got plenty of people to help you find it.”

-I do some paperwork. I know this sounds crazy, but the root of my stress is often my belief that I don’t work hard enough. So I take out some school-related work and I spend a few hours getting myself better organised. Afterwards, I can relax in the knowledge that I’ve done something productive.

How do you combat stress?

31 thoughts on “How do you combat stress?

  1. digitalgranny says:

    I walk up the road to the pond, sit on a log, and watch the ripples from life in the pond.
    I go for a slow walk breathing in deeply and out slowly as I walk.
    I say the serenity prayer.
    When I am out and about, like waiting in a drs office, I have meditation apps on my phone and stress reduction apps.

    • janeybgood says:

      That sounds lovely. I also visit a nearby lake and listen to the birds. There’s nothing to calm stress like the beauty of the natural world.
      Thank you for your comment!

  2. princessfairyzooboo says:

    I pace up and down the carpet; step by step analysing the problem.
    (I’m a logical person – I NEED strategy.)
    πŸ™‚

    • janeybgood says:

      I cry a lot, even if I don’t like it, I’m just sensitive. It is often very reliving though.
      Tell me more about this stress reducing kit? Mine is a bottle of wine πŸ™‚

    • janeybgood says:

      I clean also, even though my boyfriend thinks it’s crazy.

      A workout is always a good idea too!
      I would love to bake but with me, there’s always the possibility of fire.

  3. ElenaW says:

    Set an alarm on my phone then put it on silence then breathe very deeply for the whole 5 min. And if that’s not an option and it so happens that I’m literally facing smth or someone that causes me all the distress I imagine in my mind how I break them apart till total distraction is achieved. Normally that works like a charm. ;0) x x x

  4. V says:

    Sometimes I go for a walk if I need to clear my head, and because it’s such a simple task I slip into auto-pilot and by the time I’m finished my mind is almost blank. Sometimes, if I’m angry as well as stressed, I’ll write a letter. I address it to the person or thing (this can be work-related) that has me browned off and I’ll type out everything that’s getting under my skin. It can run into a word count of thousands, but by the end I always notice I’ve worked through it, worked it out, logic has kicked in and in my own mind I’ve come to some sort of reasonable compromise.

    If all else fails though, sometimes you just can’t beat the release of a good cry.

    • janeybgood says:

      The letter thing is a really good idea. I’ve done it once or twice and it really does help. Like you said, by the time you have the letter written, you have rationalised the situation and calmed down. That’s usually what stress is for me: a very intense but very short period of time.

      • V says:

        Same with myself! Like a flash-flood, and if I’m not careful I’ll spill (and spew) over whoever is in front of me. I had to learn pretty early on that I’m better off removing myself and thinking it out before I say or do anything I might regret a mere half an hour later.

      • janeybgood says:

        Yep, that’s exactly me. I have said things I’ve regretted in the past and I always used to end up thinking “why didn’t I just leave the room?” Or even count to ten!

  5. reocochran says:

    I usually vent on my blog! I never thought I would be doing this! It just is a good place where no one seems to get tired of me, whereas my kids and friends sometimes get sick of my ‘blue moods’ (yes, I do get them occasionally!) Anyway, mostly it is good to be out in nature when you can, get a little walk in, sometimes briskly to get those darn endorphins in. Lastly, I ‘reward’ myself with a fancy coffee, with whipped cream or if it is summer, Ice Cream!

    • janeybgood says:

      There’s nothing like a good blog vent! It’s a great place to share what’s on one’s mind.
      I also love a brisk walk, it feels so great when it’s done. It’s very invigorating.
      Oh I love fancy coffee! Caramel mocha latte or macchiato, yum!

  6. Julie the Workaholic says:

    It all depends on the level of stress.

    Like, if it’s long term stress? I will take a day and drive to the beach and walk the shore and just enjoy the surroundings. After looking at the ocean, whatever stressed me isn’t as big and bad as it had been. The ocean dwarfs everything.

    Short term stress? I will take it out on the weights, go for a run, or blog. Puppy therapy is pretty effective, too, as is a good stiff drink.

    Then there are days like today where I simply have no energy, so I spend hours reading newly discovered blogs, and escape that way. πŸ˜‰

    • janeybgood says:

      Ah yes, the ocean. I’m the same, I just love going to the beach and I love what you said: “the ocean dwarfs everything.” Lovely πŸ™‚
      Blogging is definitely a massive stress release, as is exercise. I feel like a run now πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

