Wanna have a weird-off?

I think the time has come to share something with you all: *deep breath*
I’m a little weird. And I don’t mean ‘has to sleep on the right side of the bed’ kinda weird (that is true, FYI), I mean ‘bought a swing for my guinea pig’ kind of weird. Yeah. I did that.
It’s not like I’m currently throwing feral cats at children or anything but…well, I can’t think of a way to finish that sentence.

20140123-211916.jpg
Source
This brings me to the idea of a weird-off. I’m going to tell you all the weird things about me and you’re going to compare them with your weird things. And if you’re not weird, well I’m sorry, there’s nowhere for us to go from here. And get away from me with that dart and giant net.

1. I have seven pets. Not only that, but my niece downloaded a virtual pet on my phone and I couldn’t neglect it because I felt guilty. IT’S RUINING MY LIFE.

2. I get a little crazy when I’m driving. I’m usually the definition of calm, but I go all Danny Bonaduce on everyone that’s not me
bad drivers.

“You know who drives better than you? F**ING EVERYONE!”

“What? You wanna see my skeleton, is that it? DIM YOUR F**KING LIGHTS!”

3. I talk to myself.
“Whoa Jane, stop blowdrying your hair upside down. You look like Donna Summer. And you’re talking to yourself. Which is kinda crazy. Yet you’re still doing it. Does this mean I’m crazy? I don’t know. What are you asking me for? Okay, we’re both crazy.”

4. I talk to my cat. And my neighbour knows.
“Come on Billie (my cat). Come inside. Come on, it’s freezing. Oh don’t give me that, I’ll let you wear your jumper. Stop staring at me and get inside. You’re being manipulative. Oh hey, Mrs. O’ Brien. Aren’t cats a$$holes? Haha.”
*Awkward silence*

5. Ronald McDonald terrifies me.

20140123-212335.jpg
Source
Just look at him there with the big murdery head on him.

6. I don’t trust men with big beards.
Just what are they hiding, hmm?
Hey, Santa, I’M ON TO YOU!

So come on, out-weird me brah.
What makes you weird erm, quirky?

48 thoughts on “Wanna have a weird-off?

  1. PurplesShade says:

    LOL!

    Well If your guinne pig has fun, good.

    There is nothing wrong with talking to ones-self, almost everyone has an inner monologue (the people who don’t aren’t examining the world enough — You can’t examine concepts if you never think about them, and if you think about them you are effectively talking to yourself about them. So in other words, all the smart people do it. ;P )

    Likewise, there’s nothing wrong with talking to cats. People wouldn’t think it was as odd if you were talking to a dog, because they know for sure that dogs can learn commands. There’s this misconception about cats that they can’t be trained, and this isn’t true.
    Cats can (and do) learn, if they don’t follow comands it’s mostly because we don’t even attempt to structure learning for them. (oh, and like humans, you can’t punish them without them resenting it. Training has to be all positive reinforcement with cats, or they might hate you.)
    There has been a lot of research on cats learning words and even if they aren’t trained they do.
    So keep talking to your cat, he’s learning from you, like a fuzzy toddler… whose language centers aren’t well developed so it’s harder for him… Still.

    What’s weird about me? I feel compelled to learn stuff all the time, and share it with people, see above. I have lots of weird things, so maybe I should do a weird-off post back at you.😄
    Would that be okay? Good idea, bad idea?

    • janeybgood says:

      Haha, well it’s good to hear that all my weird stuff is not actually that weird. My neighbours think I’m crazy though.
      My boyfriend gets very weirded out by my talking to myself but I’m just going to tell him that according to very intelligent internet person (you), it actually makes me clever ha!
      And the cat thing is fascinating. I just thought she was staring at me and thinking ‘why does crazy lady make feeble attempts to communicate with me?’
      You should definitely do a weird-off post! I need to know that it isn’t just me haha! Go for it! And thanks for your great comment🙂

      • PurplesShade says:

        Haha, well nothing wrong with being weird anyways. Be proud of your weirdness if you wanna.😉

        Okay, I’m on it! (It might take me a little bit, because I gotta ruminate on my weirdness – But I’ll have it up by later today😉 )

        Also I totally spelled Guinea pig wrong. Doh! XP

      • janeybgood says:

        It’ll be fun, and weirdly therapeutic! Looking forward to it!
        I spelt the word ‘innocence’ wrong in my English class today, so you’re okay haha!

      • janeybgood says:

        It’ll be fun, and weirdly therapeutic! Looking forward to it!
        I spelt the word ‘innocence’ wrong in my English class today, so you’re okay haha!

  2. pouringmyartout says:

    Umm… my entire blog is nothing but one long way of pointing out how weird I am… and I mean this in the nicest way possible, but you don’t even come in a close second. Then again, I might have been doing it a lot longer than you…

    • janeybgood says:

      I know. It’s this f**king needy cat that is driving my insane but my niece will probably never speak to me again if I kill it. Maybe there’s some virtual farm I can send it to.

  3. tvkapherr says:

    A kindred spirit! Though your a rookie in the pet department. I have 18 cats and 1 dog, well a “cat-dog”. (She was raised by the cats) I speak to all of them. They co-author my blog and we have team meetings concerning content and direction. I can tell you what kind of mood each one is in, what each one likes or dislikes and their hangouts throughout the house, day and night. When I get a take out BBQ chicken, I buy 4 extras and we have a picnic on the kitchen floor. OK, so that will be my only submission to the “Weird-Off”. I could go on but then you’d start charging me for therapy sessions.

    • janeybgood says:

      Wow, eighteen cats! That’s amazing.
      At the team meetings, are there snacks?
      My cat loves chicken, if we ever get KFC, she has to have her own portion or she hounds us.
      Yes, I will accept that you are also weird and that, of course, is a compliment of the highest order!

      • tvkapherr says:

        There are always snacks! KFC is now banned from the house. The last time I got it, I lost 1 pair of Converse sneakers, I pair of jeans from the knees down and about a pint of blood! The sneakers & jeans I didn’t mind so much as I have about 30 pairs of each, but the blood was a bit much. Thanks for weird approval! I DO take it as a compliment.

      • janeybgood says:

        Yeah, I can’t imagine what it would be like with 18 cats because my cat goes crazy. She’s currently asleep on my lap.

        Glad we’re all weird together!

  4. authormbeyer says:

    Okay! Weird off!
    1. my dog was a stray who chose me out of all the people who were on the street that winter night. She was just a puppy, so she imprinted on me and now thinks I’m her mother.
    2. I’m a school teacher who likes to teach kids other teachers think are bad and truly hate.
    3. I draw cartoons and collect comic books.
    4. I’m 557 years old and started teaching before Shakespeare was born. I had William in an English class. He was a bad kid. He couldn’t write and couldn’t even spell his own name. I liked him, but somebody named Edward DeVere did all his homework for him.

    • janeybgood says:

      1- I have a similar situation with a cat!
      2- I’m a teacher too🙂
      3- That is really cool and your work is amazing
      4- I always suspected as much

      Thanks for the comment fellow weirdo!

  5. Wordifull Melanie says:

    Normal is over rated… I’m right there with you on 3, 4 and 5.

    And some of my own weirdness…

    1- My favorite color is brown.
    2- I read everything…shampoo bottles, cereal boxes, etc. If it is in front of me I’m reading it.
    3- I’m insanely afraid of clowns (not just Ronald McDonald)
    4- Ditto on mimes
    5- People of extremely small stature (you know what i mean) freak me out.

    I could go on…but want you to still visit🙂

Leave a Reply

