Teenagers say the darndest things

The funniest thing happened a few years back with a student that I felt I had to share. Here is pretty much the conversation:

Me: So, Sarah*, I need to talk to you about your story.

Sarah: Am I in trouble miss?

Me: Well, it’s just that… your central character…

Sarah: Oh miss, I worked so hard on him. I wanted to create a complex hero; a kind of a Mr. Darcy, but kinder. It’s so cheesy miss, but I created what I feel would be the perfect boyfriend.

Me: But his name…

Sarah: Well, I chose ‘Ted’ because I thought it was kind of a cute name. He’s an everyday guy.

Me: So you’re telling me this was an accident?

Sarah: What? The name? Like I said, I chose ‘Ted’ because it’s a cute name and then I was looking around my kitchen and I saw a packet of hotdog buns called ‘Bundy’s’ and I thought ‘Ted Bundy’ has a certain charm.

Me: Erm, not quite Sarah. Ted Bundy was one of the most famous serial killers of the twentieth century.

Sarah: WHAT?! I thought it sounded familiar alright. Oh my god, sorry miss.

Me: No, no. I mean, your Ted is lovely. It was just hard to take the bit where he takes his mother out for dinner seriously when all I could picture was the cold hard stare of a prolific serial killer…and then there was the part where he saved that puppy from the pound and I actually wanted to dive into the story and save the puppy.

Sarah: Can I have the story back so I can change his name?

Me: Yes, just stay away from ‘Adolf Hitler’ ok?

I just love my students.
*Name changed

16 thoughts on “Teenagers say the darndest things

  1. just4why says:

    Reminds me of when our son was printing all these pages. He spend hours printing them. It was a group project. Constitution. I started reading a little when he was putting his shoes on. It was the Constitution of the Michigan Militia. Glad I caught that one. He was so mad when I told him he could not bring this to school. He wanted the Constitution of the United States. ha

Leave a Reply

