What you’ve been DYING to know

I fear it might be slightly vainglorious to write an ‘about me’ entry but I’ve garnered a few new followers and lets face it, my ‘about me’ section is fairly lacking in information because I substituted an attempt at humour for actual relevancy so…

~Well firstly, I’m a girl. Or more accurately, a woman. But I don’t like calling myself a woman because it suggests that I have to be all mature, sexy and grown up. At the moment, I’m on a recliner, wearing my boyfriend’s jumper and I just giggled at the word ‘horn’ on television, so I’m not sure I can call myself a woman. Maybe ‘old girl’… Nope, that makes me sound like a beat up ’54 Chevvy.

~I live in Ireland. I lived way down south but I moved a long way from home with my boyfriend because I got a job in a school up here. We do love it here, but we don’t know anyone so we are slightly lonely. I may have resorted to doing this last week:

20131230-183914.jpg
from timberwolfhq.com

~I’m a teacher. I teach English and history to secondary school students. I love my job but I’m not going to lie, my voice is already hoarse. And yes, it is kinda like ‘Dangerous Minds’.

20131230-184237.jpg

~I live with a wonderful guy called Jack who is doing a PhD and is so much more clever than me. No, he didn’t pay me to say that. He’s also handsome and kind (he did pay me for that). We’ve been together for nearly eleven years. Our relationship mostly revolves around us watching tv and making fun of each other.

~We have two dogs: Molly (a Border Collie) and Oscar (a Westie). We also have a cat, Billie, and four guinea pigs: Dolly, Emmy-Lou, Coco and Stevie. I love them all like they’re my kids. Who am I kidding? They are my kids. Get away from me with that giant net.

~I went to college for five years. I have a BA in English and history. I have an MA in International Relations and I have a Postgraduate Diploma in Education. You would think my blog would be slightly more intellectual but nope, I prefer to write about farting.

~No one, except Jack, knows that I have this blog which is why you won’t see any pictures of me, at least for a while. Just picture Cindy Crawford. Yeah, I look nothing like that.

20131230-185014.jpg
from Wikipedia

~My real name is not Jane. Sorry. But you can imagine it to be something much more interesting: like Champagne or Chaniqua.

~I used to suffer from Temporal Lobe Epilepsy which I have to admit, was pretty craptacular.
I experienced terrible bouts of depression, dΓ©jΓ  vu and I had a terrible seizure in 2009 that resulted in a prolonged hospital stay.
I’ve been off my meds for over a year and I’ve been seizure free for four. It has affected my memory though, which is why my friends sometimes call me ‘Dory’ (the little fish from ‘Finding Nemo’).

20131230-185139.jpg

~I like film, poetry, reading, music, writing down all the weird thoughts my brain sends me and rolling around the floor with my pets being normal.

So now that we’re friends, why don’t you tell me something about yourself?

Sidenote: I know I’ve been producing blog entries at an insane rate (picture me looking like Howard Hughes and laughing manically) but it’s because I’m on holidays from school. Anyone thinking ‘calm down there, lil lady’ don’t fret, I’ll be back to school soon and my posts will be less frequent(ly annoying).

40 thoughts on “What you’ve been DYING to know

  1. reocochran says:

    I think that you have a great sense of humor and am glad that you are doing fairly well. Four months is not too long, hope it will continue even longer without seizures…. I do like thinking of you as Janey, sorry! It makes me happy, it is a ‘cute’ name! I also think your friends calling you Dory is sweet! Smiles, Robin

    • janeybgood says:

      Thanks for the lovely comment Robin. I always enjoy your blog.
      I think that’s why I picked Jane, it’s nice and safe and you can trust a Jane haha.
      My friends and I tried to find some humor in the situation so Dory seemed appropriate πŸ™‚

  2. V says:

    Another vote for the “girl” preference, though I do refer to myself as a womanchild in my own About section. The more I think about it the more creepy that sounds.

    I love Westies! And I loved this post. Hope you had a decent night last night with himself and all of the “kids”. πŸ˜€

    PS My OH was in the loo when the gong hit too, we were in a pub up in Donegal and it was packed with crazy country dancers so he couldn’t get back to me in time. Tis okay though, I kissed my pint glass of vodka and red bull that I smuggled in in my handbag instead.

    • janeybgood says:

      I like ‘womanchild’ although it does sound like the kind of song Lenny Kravitz would write for an aspiring supermodel who looks 12 but is actually 18…Sorry, these are the sorts of thoughts I have in my head.

      My Westie is adorable, but the amount of baths I have to give him is insane. He really enjoys them, he’s quite camp.

      Haha I had this weird image of your OH (I have no idea what he looks like, so my mind had to substitute someone. Since Aaron Paul is on telly, congrats, he’s your OH!) trying desperately to reach you through a bar and a crowd of dancers keep doing “1,2,3s” around him in a circle. And I also sneak drink into a bar, because who can afford actual pub alcohol. Who are we, OPRAH?!

      Happy new year!!

      • V says:

        “Since Aaron Paul is on telly, congrats, he’s your OH!”
        …I’ll take it! HAHA! Aaron Paul is my bf, yo. \o/

        Womanchild does indeed sound a little Lenny Kravitz-esque. I never thought of it that way, now it sounds positively Lolita-rific.

        We had Westies when I was a kid (two from the same litter) and they were the funniest little dogs I’ve ever had. They both had their own “chairs”, they’d insist on having an entire cushion on the sofa to themselves. As small dogs, they looked totally ridiculous but there was no arguing with them. I’d love a camp one. I miss them!

        Your image of the bar is basically spot on. It’s serious business up there with the sets and the 1, 2, 3s. I gave it a whirl myself but I only lasted about two minutes because I felt like I was stuck in some time warp, or vortex of 50s country life with the boys on one side of the room and the girls on the other, so I thought no thanks and went and got myself another drink.

        And even though pub alcohol is cheaper in the vortex I still insisted on smuggling. Alcohol thriftiness for the win, but with the smuggled vodka comes the potential to lose your dignity. Ah well! πŸ˜€

      • janeybgood says:

        ‘Lolita-rific’- there’s a word I’m stealing!

        My Westie is also very possessive. Because he’s so tiny, it’s kinda hilarious and we’re so condescending to him when he growls like “of course you own the sofa, ohyouresocute!” He doesn’t like it.

        Where I come from (tiny village), there’s a pub that probably hasn’t seen a woman since the 60s. My friends and I decided to have our Christmas reunion there. When we went in we were told that there was no lights in the girls bathroom and that the men were all watching a match so to stay quiet. I was assuming I also had travelled into some 1950s time warp.

        I smuggled in vodka into a pub over Xmas and the doorman was about to search my bag when the other one (who vaguely knows me) said ‘she’s a teacher, I doubt she’d be smuggling in booze’ and winked at me. I felt kinda guilty but the contraband hooch soon made up for it. I always mumble ‘it’s a recession’… totally makes it ok! πŸ™‚

      • V says:

        Have to say that pub sounds absolutely awful. Also though, kind of hilarious. πŸ˜€ I remember being in another pub years ago somewhere near Gweedore (Donegal again) and they didn’t even have a ladies loo. I’ve never seen so many cross-eyed men in one place before in my life, I was terrified to speak to them in case they opened their mouths to reveal forked tongues or something. I’m sure they felt the exact same way about me.

        LOL. “She’s a teacher”. πŸ˜€ Hey, teachers are broke too, in fact, all of the teachers I know are divils for the smuggling. Can’t blame anyone, but glad your guilt was washed away with the help of that vodka. ;D

      • janeybgood says:

        Myself and my boyfriend were also in Donegal on New Year’s Eve and I do remember us both humming the ‘Deliverance’ music as we drive through the countryside alright. It is a lovely county though. Those cross-eyed men probably hasn’t seen an actual woman in a pub since Italia ’90.

        Haha, yeah, I wanted to allude to the fact that the stress of the job coupled with the poor wages would actually place teachers at the top of the ‘most likely to smuggle alcohol into pub’ list but I decided it would be more fun to just get drunk. How very mature and enlightened of me πŸ™‚

  3. Wordifull Melanie says:

    Well thank you for the proper introduction πŸ™‚ I’m a bit jealous…I have always wanted to visit Ireland but the money just never seems available for travel. I’m sure it is glorious even with all that rain. But then again, I’ve been known to take walks in the rain…so maybe I’m biased.

    I’m in St Petersburg, FL which for a lot of people would be dreamy yet I’m as white as they come and the sun is not my friend… I burn, peel and stay white and have suffered from sun poisening as well with only brief exposure so I only go to take walks on the beach at night.

    • janeybgood says:

      Thanks for your comment!

      I do love living here and it is beautiful but it just rains all the time. Like, probably 330 days a year. That’s an estimate and probably not a good one.

      I don’t mind so much because like you, I can’t take the heat or sun exposure at all. I burn terribly and I complain constantly. I’m really not fun to be around.

      I would love to go to Florida though (I’m just such a contradiction) haha. I haven’t even been to the US at all. It looks amazing though, it’s definitely on the to do list. And walking on the beach at night sounds amazing.

Leave a Reply

